We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #18 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Hampshire England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Fiona is a lovely hostess. Always pleased to answer any questions. Fiona was also very helpful in booking dinner for us at a local restaurant. The guest house is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is beautifully presented and delicious. Wi-fi is available in the lounge and also the African Room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigellatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    53
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
175
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-carlo, Monaco
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Swellendam is a lovely place on the Garden Route and a perfect stop between Cape Town and our destination of Plettenberg Bay. The Braeside was a good B&B, with excellent breakfast and friendly staff..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Floris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Fiona is the best host you can wish... She makes you feel at home as soon as you meet her. Stop looking further in Swellendam... Braeside Guest House is the place to be.
Great breakfast... nice room... big garden... free drinks...
Wifi in the own room would be nice. Now it can be used in the central areas.
Baie dankie Fiona! ;o)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agnethus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Once more we had a wonderful visit at beautiful Breaside and with Fiona the lovliest and most caring host who took perfect care of us!Thank you so much for the precious time we had again.We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moni72Mainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Well managed. Friendly hosts - guests are even invited to help themselves to wine in the kitchen fridge free of charge. Homely atmosphere - out of this world breakfast. Loved the cat Tara - nearly took her home with us!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Imutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au I.d.hallertau
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Verly lovely and friendly welcome by Fiona. She's just a role model of how to host guests. The house and garden are great. Room was very nice and large. Breakfast was a sensation. Anytime again. Would not look anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirchhatten, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful victorian house for antique lovers! Romantic rooms, very warm reception - Fiona is a great hostess and serves the best breakfast in SA. One night is too short for this great accommodation and for Swellendam and vicinity. The location between mountains, wine country and the ocean is pefect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 38 in Swellendam
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Property: Braeside Guest House
Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing