We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull guest house and restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #16 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull guest house and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We had been warmly welcomed and liked our little beautiful cottage very much. The atmosphere was perfectly relaxing and the food which we got at night in the enclosed restaurant was delicious including a great team! A pity that we only had one night there...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank da_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    96
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
64
162
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice setting, old dutch style cottages, friendly staff, very quiet (as we were the only one staying!), walking distance from the main street and nice restaurants as the kitchen was exceptionnaly close when we were there.

The breakfast was nice (good selection and a cooked breakfast).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thierry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Beautiful house and outside areas, bright, airy and stylish room, breathing relaxation and harmony, hosts and staff very friendly.Complimentary Sherry very nice!
Maybe bathroom could do with a painting too, and the coach shouldn't park in front of the hotel, but a bit up the street.
Breakfast at Burgundy's is excellent with terrific view to the ocean.must be super in the whaling season!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

A great bed and breakfast in the historic town of Swellendam. We started off the evening with a complementary drink next to the pool, overlooking the mountains. A beautiful English breakfast was served under huge Oke trees in the morning. Freerk (the owner) gave us a great recommendation on dinner. A very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which has stunning views, even if the accommodation itself is a little faded. The B&B is a pleasant walk to the main street, hosts are friendly and the Cape Malay food in the restaurant was fantastic.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RKT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Lovely in every way - peaceful, particularly gracious staff, beautifully prepared and presented dinner and breakfast - perfect location to just park the car and explore Swellendam on foot - South Africa has the best B&Bs - this is one of them

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I cannot wait to return to Roosje van de Kaap. The hosts make us feel welcome and the rooms are exquisite. The food in their restaurant is excellent too. There is lots to do within walking distance (Drostdy Museum, restaurants, etc.) but it is also a great place to just unwind and relax!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing