We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #15 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Beautiful place, owner and personnel very kind, nice restaurant where to go for breakfast or dinner I recommend the honeymoon room, it is a very large and private terrace where stay and children can also play


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    97
    37
    6
    10
See reviews for
68
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

we only stayed here one night, but would happily have stayed longer. Great host and the room was clean and comfortable, within a lovely garden setting and mountain backdrop. There was food within safe walking distance. The location would be a good base to see both coastal and inland attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, so much so that on our return journey we stayed at Roosje van de Kaap again - something we rarely do!
We would highly recommend staying at this special venue in Swellendam.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were a group of 7 couples that stayed two nights for the long weekend in June 2013. When I phoned to make the booking, the booking was made professionally and prompt by Freerk the owner. When we arrived all the rooms were ready, supplied with a kettle, coffee, tea, milk and sugar. We had 4 garden suites, situated in the garden and 3 standard rooms next to the swimming pool. All decorated in the same style, except the garden suite were a bit bigger. The bathroom only has a shower. Very comfortable and each room had a heater mounted on the wall. No TV in the rooms, but a big lounge is available for the guests to watch TV. Breakfast was included and consist out of a selection of fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli, bacon and eggs, toast and several cheese’s and cold meat with preserves for the surrounding area. With coffee and tea to end your breakfast. The dining room had a fireplace and was nice and cosy. The group enjoyed their stay and we can recommend Roosje van die Kaap. We have stayed several times before and we will be back. Thanks to Freerk for making this weekend special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This small hotel is across from the Drostdy and was recommended by friends. We loved it; the rooms are in wings around a charming central court and garden. They have antique furniture and the authentic style of bamboo ceilings, and one of our rooms had view of the Langeberg. We didn't have dinner, but the breakfast was delicious. Kind hosts, too. Next time we will try for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Look at the web site - but they all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Loved the setting and the rooms are very nice. Would have liked a TV in the room, but then yet again, I would have not mixed with the other people staying there.
Will defnitely stay there again and would give their details to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ametje R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingelheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Specially the heartely welcome by Helpi made us immediately feeling like coming home. Both, Helpi and Freerk, are doing all their best to create a cosy and individual atmosphere in such a beautiful surrounding. Although the restaurant is normaly closed on Sundays, they opened it up for us (almost full booked). Lovely dinner as well as breakfast - nothing to complain. Very recommendable to have a break there and to stay not only for 1 day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing