We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #15 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stay their only for one night.
It is a very friendly place an we enjoy it very much.
If we one time visit again Swellendam then we will stay their again.
The breakfest was very good and fine. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    101
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
75
164
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Charming hosts and friendly staff. They speak several European languages and communication is not a problem. We had a lovely, fully equipped cottage in the garden overlooking the picturesque Swellendam mountains. Despite the restaurant being closed the day of our stay,the hostess kindly prepared a most delicious dinner specially for us with a lovely wine. Breakfast was sumptuous and equally delicious. The location, being in the museum area of the town, is ideal for visiting the tourist attractions on foot. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Conrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent one night at Roosje Van De Kaap Guest House. The staff made us with a cup of tea upon arrival which was welcome. However we found the room very dark with not too many creature comforts. The food in the restaurant was good but service in the evening very slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinRowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very nice cottage; nice owners who was available any time; embellishes a small but clean and treasured furnished room with a good shower and separate toilet; good price effort relation; pleasurable dinner ; ....
Thank you very much. Dankie.
Silke and Dietmar from Germany

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfenbuettel / Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As German business traller I have have been second time in Roosje van de Koop.
I enjoyed the stay , the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff.
Their dinner and wine is also recommendable.

I will visit them again in May next year.




  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hartmut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had only a quick sleepover on my way to Durban, so a short but fascinating stay and worth coming back for a longer period.

The view on the mountains is very impressive and the room was very good.

So was the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oppiejunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford England
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our room at Roosje van de Kaap was very quiet with great views of Langeberg.
Our hosts and staff were so welcoming and friendly - nothing too much trouble.
We are sorry it is likely to be our only visit to that part of the world!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeside Guest House
Braeside Guest House
#17 of 38 in Swellendam
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing