We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely guest house, very friendly staff great welcome at reception and very nice comfortable room. Breakfast great and plenty of it. Car cleaned overnight and a bag of muffins to set us off on our journey. The Guest House is in a lovely area with great views and a wonderful garden. Just one small problem was the lighting in the room - I appreciate it being eco friendly but found even when lights were on difficult to use make up mirrors etc. Still had a great stay.

Room Tip: Although we did not see the rooms I believe the rooms on the higher floors are better for views spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi,
Thank you very much for your review. It means a lot to us.
Thank you for telling about the lights in the room, we appreciate all comments and advise.
Hope that we can welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Aan de Oever Greetings
Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stopped at Swellendam for 2nights. Very quiet place, had some good restaurants. The guest house was very nice. Staff very friendly and run very well. Breakfast was good. When we left we were given a muffin for our journey, nice touch

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Murry

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate it.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope that we can welcome you back in the near future! :)

Warm Regards
Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The guesthouse is set in a most idyllic spot next to the river, so peaceful and relaxing. The staff were most friendly and helpful, would have been good to have them on-site all the time. The bathroom missed an excellent rating.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dadwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it means a lot to us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards
Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our stay at the lovely guesthouse Aan de Oever was great from the first till the last minute. A very warm welcom, thoughtfull in every detail and a marvellous room with a view on the garden and the mountains. Nicely decorated as well.
We will certainly come back. And very much appreciated, the delicious muffins as a gift on departure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Mr David

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about Aan de Oever Guesthouse.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that we can welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards
Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Absolutely lovely room and service. Great! But you should not call your pool a swimming pool. This is not a swimming pool at all. It is a bath to wash your feet. This is however the only possible complaint because the rest is excellent!



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wimluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The car wash is a good idea! Excellent breakfast. Recommend Field & Fork for dinner - 5 minutes walk only. Well worth a stroll into town (10 mins) and a visit to the church. The guide provided by reception was useful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Simon

Thank you for the very nice review about Aan de Oever Guesthouse. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and beautiful Swellendam. Hope that we can welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards
Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Unfortunately, we had booked only one night in this miraculous inn. The staff was so friendly, the room was furnished largely and nicely. The next morning even our car was washed. What service. Any time with pleasure again!

Room Tip: All Rooms a very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Nancy
Thank you for the nice comment. It is wonderful when guest are satisfied. Hope to welcome you at Aan de Oever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
464 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing