We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #3 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We love this place... especially the garden: there's a nice lake with red fish, swimming pool and a terrace from where you can see the mountain zebra and antelopes! The african suite is very big and comfortable as the bathroom. The breakfast is served in a cottage near the rooms by Andreas and his wife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Rothman Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at about 8 guest houses during my 3 weeks trip to South Africa; the Rothman Manor was the most beautiful of them all. Andre and his wife (the owners) are perfectionists so the place is extremely well maintained and the focus on evvery detail is immediately noticeable. It even has its own game park. The breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JossefP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Un ottimo posto dove stare davvero bene. Un must per quella zona. Diane, la manager è stata semplicemente fantastica e ci ha fatto tsentire a casa.
Simply a must. Don't miss it. You experience in South Africa would not be the same without it. Diane, the manager, is absolutly fantastic. Make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macrob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Rothman manor is one of the most perfect places we've stayed anywhere around the world. The guest rooms are designed to include every comfort and amenity you might want while retaining a sense of playfulness and local African culture. The property is gorgeous with a wonderful swimming pool and loungers - aaah! There are beautiful gardens and birdfeeders and ponds everywhere you look. The whole property is designed to calm and sooth travel weary bodies and mind. But it's the owners Andreas and Franziska who really make this guest house special. They are naturally so warm and gracious - you feel like very special guests in their company. Our only regret was we only booked one night at this very special place. I would have loved to see more of Swellendam and have the chance to spend a second full day at the Rothman Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMLBARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A beautiful place with a very high taste for the decoration. Franziska is also a very good painter and you will appreciate the different painting across Rothman's. Andreas is running this luxury B&B with efficience in a very peaceful atmosphere. You will love the delicious breakfast in a nice breakfast room where you will meet the other guests.
At night, enjoy a glass of champain in the jaccuzi with a view on the garden. Your children can refresh in the pool and can take pictures of the Zebras and Antilopes in the park. Thank you.
Thierry and Family Zurich

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Thierry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

WOW!!!! Who would have thought a rustic country town can provide such a GEM as Rothman Manor!!!
This is one of the all time best bed and breakfast's I have ever stayed at.
The young couple owning this stunning place, is friendly, accommodating, artistic and just brilliant.
This is not a 5 star establishment - No, it should be a 8-star!!!!
The rooms are exquisite; the decor wonderful and the grounds to die for.
I will return to Swellendam just to be able to stay at Rothman Manor again.
The best of all, the price is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Why didn't we book in here for 2 nights?? I was kicking myself that we didn't. Rothman Manor is the perfect place to unwind and relax from the driving to/from Cape Town along the N2. The weather was perfect which made for a wonderful stay using all the facilities it had to offer. The owners have thought of everything here and there are just those extra little touches that make it the 5 stars it should have. Our son loved the animal figures in the garden and the wigwam for playing Indians as he thought. Thank you for looking after us so well. The restaurants in swellendam are very good too and just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynbin1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £83 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing