We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I never dreamt we would find such luxury in a tiny place like Swellendam! We had a charming room with a view out over the lake and countryside. We only had one night there and Andreus booked a table at a local restaurant and offered to get us a taxi as I had recently broken my ankle so couldn't walk too far. The very good breakfast was served outside on a terrace. Can't fault it - stay there if you get a chance!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
354
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Enjoyable 2 night stay. Guest house situated on main street, and within walking distance to local restaurants. Very helpful owner-happy to do restaurant bookings and recommend activities. Breakfast taken on pretty garden patio. Nice room- well equipped. Complimentary bottle of wine. Views of springbok and zebra from garden.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of house have private seating areas overlooking pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We only stayed one night - January 1st - and when we arrived we found that Andreus had been thoughtful enough to book a table for us at a local restaurant - accurately assuming that we would want to go out for dinner. Apparently only 4 of the local restaurants were open and he didn't want to us to run the risk of not finding anywhere (not sure why they were all shut in such high season - but it's our first visit to South Africa - so maybe this is normal). His thoughtful actions really exceeded our expectations.

Our room was lovely and comfortable and the grounds offered plenty of opportunity to relax for a couple of hours. The only problem we had was that as my husband is well over 6ft tall, he cracked his head a couple of times on the door frame as he went in and out - the house was obviously build for shorter people.

Breakfast was lovely - we sat on the patio in the sunshine. The service was gracious, friendly and the cooked breakfast was delivered with a smile. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I do not really know where to start. This place is one of the most sophisticated, beautiful & impeccable places I have ever stayed in through out the world. It has everything. They cannot do enough for you. That's it *********

Room Tip: The Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPrince1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Rothman Manor recently. Everything about the place oozes quality - for example, check out the crockery, cutlery and napkins at breakfast. Hosts Franziska & Andreus are a charming couple, who strike just the right balance between attentiveness and giving one space. Their attention to detail is quite extraordinary. Again for example, noting my interest in bird photography, they raised the sunbird feeder in their private garden (without my asking) so that it showed better over the hedge whilst we had breakfast on the adjacent patio (my photos taken during breakfast attached). One of the best B&Bs I've encountered. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wow, no words can do justice to this amazing Guest House. Rothman Manor combines Dutch colonial elegance with modern comfort in a spectacular setting. They only have a small number of rooms ( I think 6 in all) which are clearly African in style.

If passing along to the Garden Route this is a must stop and stay.

We had 2 rooms opening on to a terrace and the verdant gardens which provide a tranquil setting for relaxing and you can even enjoy their hot tub. The hot tub overlooks their large paddock area where you will find a range of wild life including Zebra and Ostrich.

You can see mountains in the background and a wonder around the gardens is a treasure trove of interesting artifacts.

This is more than a 5 star establishment.

The attention to detail is evident everywhere.

Nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel most welcome and at home the moment we arrived. The service is both discrete with an intimate feel and had a genuine personal and friendly feel. Then the fabulous breakfast has to be experienced.

One really needs more than the one night stop over we had to fully appreciate Rothman Manor and the surrounding area.

Due to traveling for a long time this review is posted somewhat late and if we were ever in south Africa again we would make a point of making sure Rothman manor was on our itinerary.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms in the main manor house which open onto the terrace and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a true delight - felt the charm as the gates opened for our arrival into the property - beautiful grounds; great food and the best of all: owners Franziska & Andreus were two of the most delightful, attentive & helpful hosts we have ever stayted with - definitely a place to unwind along South Africa's breathtaking garden route!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandallT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Property: Rothman Manor
Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing