We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!!!”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This place is 5 star all the way! From the amazing comfortable beds to the breakfast made to order to the service and even the little stickers on the toilet paper! They have thought of and taken care of every detail! We only stayed 1 night but it was by far the BEST hotel/B&B we have ever stayed at across the world! Zebra and spring bok are on property and provide plenty of picture taking moments. Grounds are immaculately kept! They offer a pool and a hot tub! Service was 19 star with the owners offering to draw maps of local area, make dinner reservations and anything else you could ever need or want! Price was worth every penny and maybe even cheap as I would have paid 4 times over for the quality/ atmosphere and service we received. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! We will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brittwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
353
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

An interesting place, spacious bungalows either facing the pool or around courtyards, everything very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The décor was not to our taste but nether the less suited the rooms and indeed the hosts. Every need was thought of with well equipped bathrooms and indeed nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was extremely good, with sunbirds providing the entertainment when held on the terrace feeding from the nectar feeders.
Good positioning just of the N2 makes it the ideal spot to stay en route from cape Town to the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool, we didn't have one and therefore didn't use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only booked for one night as a stopover but really wish we had stayed longer. Had the penthouse suite which is made up of three separate rooms, all of which are enormous. Every small thing had been thought of and nothing was too much trouble for Andreas and his wife. The grounds are simply amazing - large and beautifully landscaped - and over the rear fence you are able to view wildlife including zebra and springbok. An excellent breakfast was served outside under the trees. We were just blown away with Rothman Manor and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Andreas and Francesca have done an outstanding in furnishing of this lovely manor house. Much of the beautiful and colorful artwork was done by Francesca. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The entire property was carefully tended and the breakfast was delicious. In short we would go out of our way to stay here agai

If you are planning to tour the Garden Route this should be on your itinerary as a must stop.

While in Swellendam, make sure you dine in Koorsland Restaurant it is fantastic and so was our waitress, Jackie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the third time at this lovely place since discovering it some six years ago.The high standards have been maintained by Andreas and his wife. It is an outstanding B&B in a lovely setting just off the N2. Unfortunately this year the adverse weather meant that we missed out on breakfast under the trees.
We strongly recommend this gem to anyone travelling the Garden Route. Whilst there is no restaurant there are a number in the town, which Andreas will happily book for you. One in particular - La Sosta (see separate review), serves wonderful food and this year even provided a courtesy car service to collect / deliver us to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here in January this year, it was superb I only wish that we could have stayed longer. We had a beautiful room with carefully chosen furnishings and accessories. The bedroom was spacious with a lounge area and a terrace overlooking the a huge pond full of waterlillies and birds - bishop and weaver birds. The bathroom was beatifully appointed with high quality toiletries (I wanted to buy the bath salts but they'd run out). Breakfast was served on a terrace the proprietor realised that I like weak coffee and unlike everywhere else, made it spoecially weak for me. Very nice hosts obviously proud of their establishment and justfiably so.

Room Tip: Actually there isn't a fitness centre but TA wouldn't allow me to leave it blank - only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a wonderful overnight stop at the Rothman Manor in Swellendam. Elegant African decor, peaceful setting, intriguing mix of nature and modern art works. Where else will you find a jacuzzi and love tent overlooking grazing springbok and zebra!

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool are excellent. Elegant design and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Property: Rothman Manor
Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing