We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real luxury in a small town.”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real luxury in a small town.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A beautiful setting. Fantastic rooms, large and very comfortable. Pretty gardens with a lovely swimming pool, and a hot-tub deck with views over to zebra grazing in the next field. Breakfasts to die for.
Ask about the local Italian La Sosta.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
353
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

General:

A wow around every corner in this luxury boutique hotel. From the moment you drive in through the gates you realise that this is somewhere special. On arrival (slightly ahead of the 1400 hrs check in time) I was warmly welcomed by the owner Andreas and given an orientation of the property and the room; if I am honest I just couldn’t stop smiling, it was stunning.

I stayed at the Rothman Manor for one night 11/12 Apr 14 booked via hotel.com, on route to a private game reserve. I really wish I had the opportunity to stay for more than one night.

Room

I was in the Morning Sky Suite. The room was fabulous, spacious (approx 50 sqm) had a king size four poster bed with canopy, separate sitting area with sofa, LCD TV and reasonably priced mini bar. The room had two separate outdoor patio sitting areas each with their own entrance, one with two sun loungers and a private entrance to the pool, the second with two chairs and a table over looking the pond. The bathroom was immaculate and well equipped; spa bath, separate rain fall shower and twin sinks. The shower gels/soaps/bath salts were all high quality Rothman Manor own brand.

Location

The location of Swellendam is perfect for a stop on the garden route and town/village its self is charming. The Rothman Manor is within walking distance of many restaurants and a short 5 min drive to the centre of the town.

Service

A smiley welcome by the owner Andreas who was keen to help and recommended a restaurant for lunch and when leaving suggested a scenic route for the next stage of the journey and even gave me a map. The route turned out to be stunning. Definitely 10/10 for service.

Facilities

The grounds are where the Rothman Manor really comes in to its own; they are fabulous. A swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers and loads of pool side fluffy towels. The grounds are dotted with lots of private areas with a pairs of loungers or chairs in which to relax. The gardens are absolutely immaculate with two ponds and great views. There is a jacuzzi, with a chill out Tepee next to it, on raised decking overlooking the small eco reserve below. I sat in the Jacuzzi watching zebras and springbok below.

There is guest lounge with news papers and coffee machine.

Parking

Parking was plentiful under a shaded area and guests receive a complimentary car wash overnight; a really nice touch.

Wifi

Free reliable wifi.

Food/Restaurant

Breakfast is served in warmer weather outside (see picture). A fabulous buffet range of meats/cheeses, yogurts, juices, fruits, fresh coffee, bread etc etc with an option of a cooked breakfast. It was certainly a breakfast to look forward to.

The hotel does not serve dinner but there are loads of decent (and one not so) restaurants within walking distance; I ate at the following:

Pennant Wing, 5 Swellengrebel Street (http://pennant-wing.swellendam.tel/) a 5 min drive from Rothman Manor and recommended by Andreas the owner. This was a great find for a casual lunch. Great atmosphere, really good friendly service by the owners Geoff/Louie (who are genuinely interested in their customers), fabulous food, reasonably priced – a definite recommend. Shaded parking outside. This place is so good I went back for lunch three days later when driving back to Cape Town (it is only 2 mins off the N2) but unfortunately they were closed on a Monday.

Old Mill, 241 & 243 Voortrekstraat (http://www.oldmill.co.za/) opposite the Rothman Manor. I booked this restaurant myself as it is only a 90 second walk from the Rothman Manor. This was the biggest mistake of my South African holiday. The Old Mill looks pleasant on its web site (menu out of date) has seating for approx 100 covers inside and in the court yard. Yet on a busy Friday night in Swellendam there were only two tables occupied; atmosphere zero. The service was an utter joke, especially with only 6 people in the restaurant, no waiting staff interaction/recommendations and everything took an age to arrive. The food was on the wrong side of average. One word sums up the experience “dire”. Avoid at all costs. For dinner within walking distance of the Rothman Manor try the Woodpecker Pizza Deli which is next door. I walked past it on the way home from the Old Mill it was lively, packed and looked fun; everything that the Old Mill wasn’t. Equally there are lots of other restaurants in Swellendam. For lunch try the Pennant Wing (see separate review).

Room Tip: Book a suite - they are fablous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catttto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This place is 5 star all the way! From the amazing comfortable beds to the breakfast made to order to the service and even the little stickers on the toilet paper! They have thought of and taken care of every detail! We only stayed 1 night but it was by far the BEST hotel/B&B we have ever stayed at across the world! Zebra and spring bok are on property and provide plenty of picture taking moments. Grounds are immaculately kept! They offer a pool and a hot tub! Service was 19 star with the owners offering to draw maps of local area, make dinner reservations and anything else you could ever need or want! Price was worth every penny and maybe even cheap as I would have paid 4 times over for the quality/ atmosphere and service we received. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! We will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brittwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

An interesting place, spacious bungalows either facing the pool or around courtyards, everything very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The décor was not to our taste but nether the less suited the rooms and indeed the hosts. Every need was thought of with well equipped bathrooms and indeed nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was extremely good, with sunbirds providing the entertainment when held on the terrace feeding from the nectar feeders.
Good positioning just of the N2 makes it the ideal spot to stay en route from cape Town to the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool, we didn't have one and therefore didn't use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only booked for one night as a stopover but really wish we had stayed longer. Had the penthouse suite which is made up of three separate rooms, all of which are enormous. Every small thing had been thought of and nothing was too much trouble for Andreas and his wife. The grounds are simply amazing - large and beautifully landscaped - and over the rear fence you are able to view wildlife including zebra and springbok. An excellent breakfast was served outside under the trees. We were just blown away with Rothman Manor and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Ma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Andreas and Francesca have done an outstanding in furnishing of this lovely manor house. Much of the beautiful and colorful artwork was done by Francesca. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The entire property was carefully tended and the breakfast was delicious. In short we would go out of our way to stay here agai

If you are planning to tour the Garden Route this should be on your itinerary as a must stop.

While in Swellendam, make sure you dine in Koorsland Restaurant it is fantastic and so was our waitress, Jackie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the third time at this lovely place since discovering it some six years ago.The high standards have been maintained by Andreas and his wife. It is an outstanding B&B in a lovely setting just off the N2. Unfortunately this year the adverse weather meant that we missed out on breakfast under the trees.
We strongly recommend this gem to anyone travelling the Garden Route. Whilst there is no restaurant there are a number in the town, which Andreas will happily book for you. One in particular - La Sosta (see separate review), serves wonderful food and this year even provided a courtesy car service to collect / deliver us to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 38 in Swellendam
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Property: Rothman Manor
Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing