We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, wonderful food....great owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augusta de Mist Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #2 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful food....great owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were lucky enough to spend 2 nights here at the end of June, the guest house is charming and we would love to return for a longer visit another time. The reception area and main part of the guest house is in a home that was built in 1802, it has been restored and transformed into a unigue and stylish boutique-like inn. The salon/living room is a decorator's delight with a mix of old and new, a timeless room that says "welcome" in a sophisticated and beautiful manner.

We stayed in one of the garden cottages, very tastefully furnished and decorated with our own wood burning fireplace and a VERY comfortable bed. So many personal touches in the room and a very spacious bathroom with a wonderful shower. The garden areas and paths that connect the cottages to the main area of the guest house are scenic and tranquil. The pool looks inviting and I'm sure those visiting during the summer months would enjoy relaxing on a lounge chair overlooking the city of Swellendam.

We had two excellent dinners that were by far the best meals we had in our entire trip trip to South Africa. The first night we had a Malay Butter Chicken which was perfectly spiced, this chicken was served with other courses which were all wonderful. The following night we had a savory Lamb in Almond Cream Sauce that was also scrumptious. The desserts were sublime both nights, featuring local fruits, honey, home made ice cream and perfectly spiced sauces. Along with the wonderful food we were served the Eau Sauvage wines that are featured at the guest house, delicious!

What makes the Augusta de Mist so special are the personable owners Michel and Henk. They went out of their way to be helpful in every way possible, drawing maps to wineries that we planned to visit, making recommendations for lunch restaurants and shopping in the area and as we were traveling to the Stellenbosch region. As Americans we were very interested to know about many political and historical perspectives in South Africa, we learned so much about how the country has evolved and changed in the past years. Our conversations were like sitting down with old friends, we talked late into the night both nights and felt as if we were visiting relatives.

The breakfasts were also delicious and we enjoyed them in front of the wood burning fireplace in the dining area. We hated to leave but had an absolutely wonderful time here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyjnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
329
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Fabulous place, with a superior service beautiful suites

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_Couvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Swellendam was simply a convenient place to stop on the way back to Cape Town - little did we know what comfort and hospitality awaited us. Augusta de Mist is a group of luxury cottages plus homestead nestling in a lush and cared-for garden (the pictures on their web site are no exaggeration). Our cottage struck exactly the right balance between being extremely well-appointed and feeling like home.
We were thoroughly mollycoddled by Henk and Michel; Henk cooked a delicious dinner for us which we ate out on the patio under a starlit sky, our conversation being interrupted only for Michel to dip back into the kitchen to fetch yet another delicacy. Dinner isn't served every single evening but you never miss out completely because breakfast is of the same high standard. Food, be it for breakfast or dinner, is sourced as locally as possible.
I cannot think of any negative aspect really except that you eventually have to leave. Comfort and homeliness backed by a quiet professionalism and very much worth making a detour for.

Room Tip: The standard is uniformly high but a cottage may give you more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is long overdue, but I hope that you get a chance to go during winter.
Only a few hours from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town. Sits a small farming town that was once its own state it is named Swellendam and hosts one the nicest boutique retreats in the Western Cape.
My partner and I found this little treasure in the British Airways in-flight magazine. We had been through this town on our way to various locations on the east coast of the Western Cape. I never thought of it as a holiday destination due to its inland spot, but I was very wrong.
We stayed in June for a weekend getaway and the price was very reasonable, R1000.00 for the first night and R500.00 for the second with the third night free of charge – we only stayed two nights unfortunately.
You enter the property through and into a lush almost tropical garden, a green fingers paradise. We were met by one of the owners who proceeded to show us around the homestead and the gardens. First stop was the breakfast villa, a single story building that has been renovated tastefully in a manner that does not take away the authenticity of the historical significance that is embodied in the old world charm of a aristocratic residence. It was on our final night at Augusta de Mist that we would experience the full extent of the owners hospitality and many wonderful stories would be told around the fire, while savouring the delights of an extensive menu complemented by the owners boutique personalised wine.
Once we were settled into our villa, I explored our little nest to find a bathroom that seriously challenges my own one back home; it was the master of all en-suites. The fridge was stocked with all the refreshments that you needed and there was a pleasant selection of dried snack food.
The bed was slumber paradise and I could see myself not wanting to get out of it but anxious to crawl straight into, that would have to wait until we got back from dinner at a local restaurant called the mill. This was pre-organised by the owners, they had thought of everything and we were only too happy to be directed.
We had a little time to kill before we were due to leave so I opened the bottle of red wine that was in the bar stock. At that moment the owners popped over to check that we had everything – how nice of them to be so helpful. We asked them to join us for a glass of wine and explain a little about it as this wine was tailor made and was created by the owners. I would go into that further but you have to go there to hear the story and taste the wine.
The Mill restaurant is located out of the main town about a 7 minute drive; it was once a working mill and is now a very well-known local eating spot. It has a very homely feeling about it and everyone seems to know the dinners at all the tables. I had the Steak and my partner had the Chicken I think. Everything was perfect!
Our final night at Augusta de Mist was a gastronomic feast, you have to indicate that you would like to eat in the in-house restaurant ’Augusta’s African Kitchen’ at least a day in advance as these are very intimate and customised events. We were joined by one of the owner’s mothers who had been visiting from Canada and her son, one of our hosts. While we wined and dined you could almost feel the drums beating to a production line in the kitchen, the aroma and orchestral symphony of pots steaming meant that you were never too far from the action.
Our finale for the evening was a very rich and decadent Malva pudding. Like many of the dishes served in the evening there was a strong emphasis on the African flavours, this was no different and a great way to end our evening and sadly our weekend.
Breakfast seemed to just go on forever, there was never s shortage of food and I ate every item that was presented to me – from the freshly baked pastries and breads to the cooked breakfast..
Our host Hank and Michel have everything under control and if you have not been to Swellendam than now is the time to go – what better place to be in winter next to a roaring fire with a good book, great wine and good company (take our own or make some new friends). We will BE BACK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltravel_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My Fiance and I spent the night at Augusta de Mist to celebrate getting engaged. We had the most fantastic time.

Michel and Henk were incredible. They made us feel completely at home and added amazing personal touches like having a cold bottle of sparkling wine and personalized music CD ready for us as we arrived.

The entire weekend was lovely but the best part was definitely the dinner which had that evening. Honestly some of the best food which i have ever eaten.

All together a perfect night away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melesomancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We went for one night and stayed for two. The owners are delightful. You will leave this place thinking you've got two new best friends. The cottages are wonderful. Each is set off on it's own on the forest covered lot. Breakfast is great and again the owners stick around to chat and make sure everything is perfect. The main house has plenty of history, and the owners are very willing to give you the tour. If you can talk them into seeing their living quarters you'll be treated with some shocking art work. You can't go wrong stopping here. Light up the fire drink, some nice wine and fall asleep in a beautiful and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

What an incredible find! Wonderful hosts and very personal service received. The dinner was the most amazing five course meal of locally grown produce each served with an interesting review of the products and accompanied by wonderful wines blended by the hosts. Breakfast was just as delicious and unusual as the dinner. The rooms were extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. It is definitely a place I would return to for a little relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ileneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Property: Augusta de Mist Country House
Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing