We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house full of character and surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #31 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Swellendam
1 review
“A guest house full of character and surprises”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The accomodation was full of character, the service was thoughtful and attentive, the gardens a delight. The choice of indoor and outdoor shower with the Aloe suite was a pleasant surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the seemingly endless breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pickwick8Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
325
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

In the old days we used to travel from Cape Town to home in a one day. We take it easier now (and the roads are more full up anyhow). So what a perfect place to stop. It's the second time we've stayed with the guys, and we made sure we planned our trip around dinner. It was 5 courses and not to be missed. If you have ONE thing to do along the Garden Route this should be it. We love the food here. Full Stop

Room Tip: Arum Lily has the best views. We've also stayed in the family suite. Both prefect and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulP1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at Augusta de Mist as a stopover on the N2 between Cape Town and Plettenberg Bay, and I wish I could have lingered longer. Augusta de Mist is a boutique hotel in a beautiful historical building, which owners Henk and Michel have given a wonderful style makeover, adding ecclectic and contemporary touches to traditional spaces.
I was welcomed with delicious homemade carrot cake and coffee and from then on my hosts didn't miss a beat in looking after everything. The suites are luxurious - quality linen, arty touches, airconditioning, heated blankets, filter coffee, fireplaces stacked and ready, homemade biscuits, great books and magazines and best of all a lovely selection of mood music and arthouse DVDs in each room.
I loved the gardens and birds - indigenous, rambling and full of suprises.
Henk is a very good chef but doesn't cook every night so ask beforehand. I went a few metres down the road to a lovely local restaurant called De Companjie, which serves excellent meat dishes and decadent desserts.
The breakfasts at Augusta de Mist are delicious - local cheeses and yoghurt, homemade breads,scones and preserves and whichever hot breakfast you prefer. Augusta is fun, intimate and luxurious - Don't miss it and stay more than one night!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - Talk to the owners and explain your preferences as each room has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was a real surprise and we really liked the atmosphere that Henk and Michel have created there. The garden design and the accommodation were excellent - and this included a very nice young man washing our car daily! Breakfasts, as with everything to do with Augusta de Mist, were innovative and a delight.

The only criticism would be that, as the weather was cold, the room heating wasn't quite up to the task and we had to retreat to our enormous bed earlier than planned!

These two deserve all the success they get. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our family really enjoyed our trip to Augusta de Mist. One of the owners is from the US and made us feel very welcome in his new country. We would highly recommend staying in this quaint and friendly place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked our own accommodation for our honeymoon and often used word of mouth as reference, and Augusta de Mist was recommended by a number of guesthouses where we stayed. The gardens are truly amazing and the decor is extremely well put together with a sense of adventure and effortless style which you don't see every day. In fact, this place really is a celebration of all things African (the dinner was excellent as well) and we will remember our stay here forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've seen the guys steadily but completely redo this best kept secret, and why they think they are only 4-star I don't know! Definitely better than that. We make sure each time we book in for dinner (it's our 4th times) and the menu is completely changed. I don't know how they do it! It is sometimes hard to get in because they do fill up even in Winter, so book ahead (and if you have to cancel, cry yourself to sleep wherever else you ended up that evening). See you soon (special mention to Henk -- this place is all about the food).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPeterVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Property: Augusta de Mist Country House
Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing