We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely wonderful - can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #31 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our one night stay at Augusta de Mist was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. It is beautiful. The attention to detail was something else - like nothing else I'd come across before. They had thought of everything and the little touches were brilliant - complimentary mini bar, swimming pool towels, comprehensive guide to surrounding area, possibility to order a picnic. They've also clearly thought about where they source staple things for the rooms such as shower gel and tea bags, as even those felt that little bit special. We were in Strelitzia. The double shower was a fantastic idea! And the decor was stunning. Loved all the furniture and wish that Michel and Henk could interior design my next house! Michel was a great host. We got mixed up and managed to leave our key behind in the room. We only realised when we got back from dinner and were locked out, but a quick call to Michel and he was there to let us in. Superb service. It felt as if they had all the time in the world to talk to you and to ensure you had a special stay. Breakfast was delicious and it was lovely to sit outside and take in the gardens. The warm muffins were to die for! As was the local cheese and the made-to-order hot breakfast. Definitely determined to get back there in the near future and this time stay for a couple of nights and try one of their dinners. I would say Swellendam itself has more to offer than we initially thought too. For those driving, if you have time, be sure to take the R62 which is very scenic and worth the extra time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We found Augusta de Mist a delightful stopover on our tour. Henk and Michel have created somewhere very special, and clearly go out of their way to make sure that their guests are looked after with attention and courtesy. The evening meal was superb, and great value for money (allowing for advantageous sterling rates!) and our room was comfortable and provided with the widest range of complimentary supplies - six variants of tea! - we have ever experienced. I only have one quibble - I don't like fancy washbasins without any shelf space - but that's a tiny issue trumped by the overall level of comfort and amenity. The breakfast - tiny homemade scones and delicious homemade preserves, I could go on - was also first class. Thanks guys!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jonchapman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We've been trying to get in here for a while now, so the post-Christmas lull sounded like the perfect opportunity. But of course they were booked anyway. Still we persevered and a good thing we did. It is like a little secret garden, with the perfect controlled mayhem you'd expect from gardens out in the country. And, yassus, the birds! What a delight to hear the call of the somber greenbull. But the real reason we came was for the food. No, you don't get a choice... why would you? And they guys are quite upfront that they can only guarantee dinner if you stay for two nights. It was a five course affair with flavours I've never even thought of. Our double shower was delightful. They apologized for no TV (but why in the world would you want it anyway!). Well done, guys. Well done.

Room Tip: We were in Strelitzia, which has the double shower. No TV, for which we were grateful. Free WiFi, eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second and again more than perfect stay at Augusta de Mist! Every single detail at the rooms, main house and gardens is decorated and designed with love and knowledge. In our rooms we've experienced all the comfort we could wish and more. The food was definitely the best we have had in South Africa. The breakfast, dinner, as well as the afternoon cake. But the most special is the hospitality of Henk and Michel. We are looking forward to staying at Augusta again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Swellendam is a cute town worth a trip, but even if it were not, this B&B would on its own make it worth while going there. The rooms at Augusta de Mist are amazingly cute and so is the building where the restaurant is located. Speaking of which - the food was amazing, probably some of the best we've had on our entire trip. The complimentary minibar made us feel even more welcome and the only disappointment was having to leave - I wish we'd stayed for a second night.

Consider buying some of the local berry products sold at August de Mist and making an appointment at Rain SPA in Swellendam.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TrevorTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you are looking for a special treat, and a place to spoil yourself: this is the place for you. The hosts, Michel and Hank, are exceptionally welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The garden is a little piece of tranquility and paradise. The dinner, prepared by Hank and his staff, was innovative and beyond delicious. The only regret of my partner, Adrian, and I was that we could only spend one night there. We will be back for a return visit, this time for a few days, as soon as possible!.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

During our honeymoon we have stayed in some of SA's "top rated" hotels. The attention to detail, impeccable standards and wonderful decor which give Augusta de Mist real personality far exceeded anything we have experienced in the fore mentioned places. The owners were incredibly friendly and ensured we were comfortable and well looked after. Michel welcomed us with a complimentary bottle of wine and wonderful carrot cake for afternoon tea. Augusta de Mist deserves a 5* rating and is certainly one of the true hidden small gems along the garden route and indeed in South Africa!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David and Natal... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 40 in Swellendam
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 40 in Swellendam
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Jan Harmsgat Country House
Jan Harmsgat Country House
#11 of 40 in Swellendam
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 40 in Swellendam
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roosje van de Kaap
Roosje van de Kaap
#16 of 40 in Swellendam
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £127 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing