We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #31 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went, our intrepid group of 4, to South Africa not expecting more than what you can read in a guide book. And our Frommers Guide to South Africa had an understated description of this voyage into Looking Glass. Not only did we spend one night here, but on our return from the Garden Route we booked two additional nights to make sure that we would get to dine here on two occasions. And yes, Henk did create something so special not even once, but twice, completely different. It’s indescribable. Multilingual Michel made us feel completely welcome. If you HAD to choose one place in all of South Africa not to miss, this would be it. Thanks guys, very special.

Room Tip: Because the four of us were there twice, we stayed in all the rooms not in the main house. Biggest w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Augusta de Mist Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Ended our holiday in the Western Cape with a 2 night stay at Augusta de Mist and it was simply superb. Accommodation is delightful and the friendliness of Michel and Henk and all the staff is unrivalled. Would loved to have spent more time here. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What more can we say that already hasn't been said! This place is an absolute must! The accomodation, the gardens, the 5 course meal... the hospitality given by Michel & Hank who are so passionate about the food they serve and the amazing b&b, and why shouldn't they be - this is one of the best, if not THE best place we have stayed in, an altogether awesome package! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelturkey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently spent two nights on a DBB basis at Augusta de Mist in Swellendam and loved everything about the place! The house is a historical monument, tastefully restored to its former glory.

The interior, the gardens, the food, small touches and amazing hospitality of Henk and Michel were all amazing!. We had some of the best dishes that we have ever tasted - adventurous cooking symbolizing the rich flavours of the African continent. Our room was comfortable, lovely bedding and little details that left us feeling spoilt and special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZahnHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This B&B, and restaurant, is just fabulous. We only stayed one night but will stay longer next time. If you can have dinner here, do! Incredible food, wine, decor and hosts. The room and grounds are lovely and very well thought out, and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at Augusta immensely. So much so that I am writing a review. My first and probably last. We were completely unprepared for the level of excellence achieved here with such ease and love. EVERYTHING from breakfast (a la carte) to dinner, to cake for tea, to decor, to the wine...just everything is done with thoughfullness and a sense of style. The dinner was the best of our trip (in fact, when shopping around the town, everyone we met commented on the fact that Augusta de Mist is so loved and the dinners, so highly regarded) Indeed, it goes beyond that - most places are 'lovingly renovated' and 'tranquil' and 'luxurious', but NONE have that elusive X-factor. Except Augusta de Mist. It is all X-factor. And that, dear TA trawler, is why you should book here. And book dinner. But you probably won't get in. With only 5 suites and the kind of marketing these guys do, including the kind of loyalty they are getting from agents everywhere, you may have to be very flexible with your dates or do what most visitors to Swellendam have to do. Settle for somewhere else, and wish you were here instead.

Room Tip: We stayed in Stelitzia. Gorgeous. BUT all the rooms are great. We checked them all out.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It can't be better.
The wonderful hosts Michel and Hank has really created a place full of love and surprises. You can probobly stroll around the wild garden and find new things day from day, or all these things, furniture, small magazines, books, art - it takes time to explore it all!
We were suppose to stay one night but decided quickly soon that this isn't a place you juste can leave like that. You want to stay here long. Especially if you try Hank´s 6 course menu that they serve every second day.
To use a classic theme - you come as a guest but leave as a friend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haakan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 38 in Swellendam
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing