We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely host”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #6 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We passed this little beautifull town on our way to Franschhoek, as we booked a room in Cypress Cottages. Our host was the daughter of the couple who were on holiday, she was very friendly and helpfull, as she even made reservations for dinner in a local restaurant for us.
The gardens are full of flowers, and the room gave me a real Afrika feeling.
Breakfast was amazing, just surfing outside on the veranda, no rush.
We strongly recommend this cottage, value for money is good, as we think IT was not expensive at all.

And I loved the little knakworstdog!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rvanenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

wonderful home host etienne shares shares with his guest. spcious rooms, quiet garden to relax, wonderful hospitality and a breakfast to remember! discover the charming old part of the city just minutes away on foot.

Room Tip: we liked the upper room best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urs e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In a quiet location, but still right in the centre of Swellendam, withing walking distance of the Drostdy Museum and some excellent restaurants, Etienne - a charming and very helpful host, receives his guests in this historic house, oozing character and charm. Rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated in good taste and with attention to detail. Bathroom was small, but had all it needed. Beds are fantastic. There is a secluded parking. Breakfeasts, on the porch or inside, are a real treat, both for the eyes and for the tastebuds. We fell in love with this place : highly recommended !

Room Tip: We got the "family-room" (capacity 4) for for just the two of us, and felt like royalty !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay here was wonderful from the moment we checked in. Friendly host, clean comfortable room with great bed linen and comfy pillows. Love the way the owners have put this place together - it's all so interesting with it being an old building. A quiet nights sleep too followed by a breakfast made to order - the best fruit salad ever to start with. Positively 5* quality! We will definitely stay here again if passing through the Garden Route.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Etienne was a very friendly and helpful host. Great recommendation for dinner (Droysty), and great tips for our drive to Hermanus. Rooms were big, bathroom good for a midget (not a complaint, just a fact), and generally very clean. Breakfast was very good. Located rIght on the main drag, but VERY quiet due to deep set back from road and little traffic.
This is a keeper.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place was a highlight in our trip. We had not booked in advance, and thought that this house would be over our budget, but it wasn't (perhaps due to low-season, I'm not sure). The rooms are spectacular and spacy and the garden is lovely. The owner is very friendly, we had long chats with him, and he was eager to advise us through the next week or so.

Breakfast... deffinitely the best we have had!!! Wow, the attention to detail is superb, and the breakfast itself better than what you would expect from a 5-star hotel.

I recommend this place to anyone!!! I am certain that this is the best place in town by far!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Rooms very tastefully and comfortably done, lovely house but the best part was breakfast. We stayed in many places in the Western Cape and at every stop we had a great breakfast but this was the best. Etienne, the proprietor, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in planning our onward trip and had great ideas and advice - he seemed to enjoy planning our journey for us. Vera also very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this place to anyone. We also had a lovely meal in town. Liked Swellendam very much.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 40 in Swellendam
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Address: 3 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: £58 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing