We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thatch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Thatch Lodge
Ranked #19 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rondebosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cramped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

First of all let me start off by saying that the service was outstanding, Karin is a fantastic host...unfortunately that's not what you're paying for.
The honeymoon suite is tiny! there is no private pool as described on booking.com
The pool in the pictures is JUST big enough for 4 people to SIT in.
If you are thinking of going in the summer, take your own fan with! My poor wife is pregnant and I spent most of the evening holding up the excuse of a fan (looks more like an old hair drier) trying to cool her down.
The TV screen (for late night viewing) is as small as a 7 inch table, but without the mobility thereof...i's from the 1900's...and most channels don't work.
The shower is small and uncomfortable to wash in.
In case you forget, thatch houses DO have spiders and it was evident that the ceiling was seldom, if ever cleaned.
The breakfast was fantastic,but due to the nights 4 hour short rest, I was too tired to enjoy everything.

Room Tip: Don't choose the honeymoon suite, it's nothing like what you may be thinking! Take a fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
münchen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

A wonderfull old house with a lovely garden and rooms furnished with great care and taste.
We could only stay one night and regret it: it is worth staying longer to be able to enjoy the place.
We had the best breakfast ever on our trip in South Africa

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_nM_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

When I came to Swellendam it was raining, which limited the possibilities of excursions. Luckily I chose the right guesthouse, which made my stay worthwhile. Perfect breakfast, very nice hostess, and cosy fireplace in the common room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loonis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Staying at the Old Thatch Lodge is in experience in itself. I do not think I've ever been that pampered in my life. A stay at this B&B would cost hundreds of dollars in the U.S. The rooms are beautiful, with African masks and every detail thought through and created with a lot of taste and care. A porcupine-needle bed lamp. A wooden carving of giraffe taller than our 6'4" son. Wooden window shutters. Body lotion in the bathroom for the dry African winter. Fantastic beds and blankets. Full use of a beautiful kitchen and a common lounge, which is more like a living room with a fireplace. Staying there felt like being a houseguest at a friend's house. In the morning, when I opened the room door, I saw a fully set table in front of me in the living room, with jams, fruits, and breads. The owner, Karin, convinced me to try her eggs, which she prepared herself, and they were superb. Our kid enjoyed playing with the dogs (who are not allowed into the house). It rained, and we hung our on the covered terrace for a while, talking to Karin. The garden is beautiful, and we regret we did not have the time to try the sauna. The photos on the lodging websites, in my opinion. do not do justice to the Old Thatch Lodge. Extraordinarily pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovebeachandlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zevenhoven
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our (3 couples and a single) stay at The Old Thatch was, although only one night, absolutely fantastic. After being welcomed by the owner and her very friendly dogs we were shown to our excellent rooms.
Breakfast the next morning was an absolute high during our stay in SA.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OldWollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Another recent review found the same things we did but maybe we look differently at the same circumstance and well it was not raining hard. Oh the thatch roof still leaks apparently but not inconvenience. We had to start our own fire but it was pre made and only took two matches to start. This is a different kind of place but Karin the hostess, made us and another last minute couple very welcome. OK there was no hot water, the plumber who showed up next morning was upbraided. This is an historic property and Karin said that here in very low season, and they were doing some heavy maintenance. It is a great stay and I am sure the hot water will be working next time. Karin is a German and has decorated all the rooms with her own style. Many art works and local artifacts show in every corner.

Breakfast was sumptuous, considering that there were only 4 guests. We had loads of fresh fruit, cooked breakfast and good coffee.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank handyman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GORDONS BAY, CAPE TOWN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spent one night at this establshment and must confess were rather disapointed, especially after having booked there in advance based on some previous reviews! It had been raining quite heavily resulting in rain leaking into the kitchen and towels having to be covered over the stove and other areas of the kitchen. The gate was a rather rickety wooden one held together with wire and I had to get out car to open and close gate in the rain. No tea or coffee facilities in bedroom. No toilet soap in bathroom. We were told to make our own fire in the lounge if we wanted to. Because of rain, mediocre breakfast was cramped in lounge in the morning. I do not know if we were at same place as other reviewers but we cannot agree with some previous ratings???

Room Tip: We had the smallest room situated in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 278bruceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.3 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#12 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thatch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thatch Lodge

Property: Old Thatch Lodge
Address: 9 Moolman Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thatch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Thatch Lodge Guest House Swellendam invites you to a National Monument and guest house and welcomes you to stay in our comfortable accommodation in Swellendam. Have a rest in our wonderful guest house garden, and visit the surrounding nature reserves and the historic city of Swellendam - the third oldest town in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Thatch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing