We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house designed with great taste, all comfort and a caring hostess!”
Review of Old Thatch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Thatch Lodge
Ranked #20 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house designed with great taste, all comfort and a caring hostess!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Old Thatch is one of these places you would love to stay a bit longer, because of the wonderful garden and beautifully designed house and rooms. Karin serves a lovely breakfast too, and do let yourself be spoilt with bubbles! There is a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, making you want to just enjoy the lovely surroundings. I will definitely want to go back!

Room Tip: We went for the cheaper option, but there is a lovely apartment for only a bit more....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus Huisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    29
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
86
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Beautiful historical Old Dutch home with great facilities, very friendly owner and staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the outstanding breakfast. Will definately visit again - thank you Karen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent only one night at the Old Thatch Lodge but during our South Africa vacation, this was one of the most remarkable ones. We loved the styles of the rooms a lot, the garden was a great place to hang out... Pool was nice, garden sauna looked very promising! Breakfast was the best on our trip. The whole place is made with a lot of love and creativity - go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was really surprised how beautiful is this place. The owner really has a passion for design.
The room was big and very nicely decorated. The Thatch roof did gave it a special character. It has also a charming garden. I was planning onlyto stop her only as a stop in my long drive from the Garden Route to Capetown, but I could have easily stayed there another night just to have a rest.
The owner was very friendly and we had a very nice long chat at the morning (at one point her nice neighbor joined us for a coffee), and she took the time to give me lots of useful information.
If I would visit South Africa again I would definitely plan another stop here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Old Thatch and we were not disappointed.
The welcome is warm and friendly, the breakfast is superb. Very individual bedrooms.
Would stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very lovely place! A fantastic magic garden, a nice common kitchen, a comfortable and cozy living. Everything perfect! The owner is really kind and she will help you if you need every type of information. I recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a great host we had in Karen. She made the little extra in everything. A delicious breakfast including champagne and strawberries says it all. The house was like a gallery with a lot of small details that made it very "chic".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thatch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thatch Lodge

Property: Old Thatch Lodge
Address: 9 Moolman Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thatch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Thatch Lodge Guest House Swellendam invites you to a National Monument and guest house and welcomes you to stay in our comfortable accommodation in Swellendam. Have a rest in our wonderful guest house garden, and visit the surrounding nature reserves and the historic city of Swellendam - the third oldest town in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thatch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing