We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Old Thatch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Thatch Lodge
Ranked #20 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely spacious room and the best b&b breakfast I have ever had. The lady running this place is very nice and is very welcoming. This B&B is near La Sosta, so a great place to stay if you have a dinner booking there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    29
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
86
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brierley Hill
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a room in the house and our stay was spoiled by the other guests who were very noisy. You have use of a lounge and a kitchen (not for cooking) which is good.
Our room was very small with no air con and we couldn't have the window open due to the plague of cicadas, so we had an uncomfortable night.
However, Karin the host is very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast.
As a tip, don't visit Swellendam on a Sunday as most places are shut.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. Don't stay here if you don't like dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a whole house for ourselves and it was really a pleasure to stay there and to be entertained by our host who was very enthusiastic as to make our stay a memorable one.The rooms, lounge, kitchen and verandah have all the comfort we were expecting.We spent a fabulous night a the Vagabond restaurant where a famous singer was performing.It is really the stop over from Capetown to Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A little bit to late but we don't forgett!
Thanks for hosting us at this very unike, friendly and nice place! We enjoyed your stay!
Will allways remember the very warm welcome, the nice place, the good breakfast. Staying at this place is a must!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Old Thatch is one of these places you would love to stay a bit longer, because of the wonderful garden and beautifully designed house and rooms. Karin serves a lovely breakfast too, and do let yourself be spoilt with bubbles! There is a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, making you want to just enjoy the lovely surroundings. I will definitely want to go back!

Room Tip: We went for the cheaper option, but there is a lovely apartment for only a bit more....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus Huisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Beautiful historical Old Dutch home with great facilities, very friendly owner and staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the outstanding breakfast. Will definately visit again - thank you Karen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent only one night at the Old Thatch Lodge but during our South Africa vacation, this was one of the most remarkable ones. We loved the styles of the rooms a lot, the garden was a great place to hang out... Pool was nice, garden sauna looked very promising! Breakfast was the best on our trip. The whole place is made with a lot of love and creativity - go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#13 of 38 in Swellendam
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thatch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thatch Lodge

Property: Old Thatch Lodge
Address: 9 Moolman Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thatch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Thatch Lodge Guest House Swellendam invites you to a National Monument and guest house and welcomes you to stay in our comfortable accommodation in Swellendam. Have a rest in our wonderful guest house garden, and visit the surrounding nature reserves and the historic city of Swellendam - the third oldest town in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thatch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing