We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guest house in a pleasant area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aanhuizen Guest House
Ranked #25 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very nice guest house in a pleasant area”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

The guest house is situated within a pleasant area and the rooms are located around a nice pool. The room was a little basic but clean and comfortable as was the en-suite. The food was excellent as was the service and the hosts were welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay there again especially for Toms steaks.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olwyn H, Owner at Aanhuizen Guest House, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thanks Martin for your feedback on your stay with us.

We are glad that we could make your stay in SA (and Swellendam) memorable.

Looking forward to meet you again in the future.

Regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having visited South Africa on a regular basis for over 25 years this is by far the worst place I have stayed, room was very basic and bathroom was in need of an update, the wardrobe had a faulty lock which the owner fixed.
The swimming pool had 2 empty cans floating in it not very inviting, bikes were being stored in the bar area.
In South Africa I have always had a good breakfast wherever I have stayed, the juice had been watered down or it was cordial,the breakfast was sparse to say the least everything seemed to be done on lowest cost basis.
Swellendam itself is a nice town but avoid this place

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolves05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olwyn H, Owner at Aanhuizen Guest House, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear wolves5. An unknown writer once said that someone that always criticize is" When we judge or criticize another person, business, it says nothing about that person; it merely says something about our own needs to be critical.

Looking back at my booking system for December 2011 no person from UK Storebridge stayed with us, only one UK citizen from Cambridge or did you give up the wrong address?
Cans in the pool, possible as children are on the premises and most probably playing in the pool, a broken lock, can be as lock do break, a standard room (room = 25 sqm, bathrooms with shower and bath = 12 sqm plus 1 sqm were a table and chair is provided and clean - I belief big enough( the room that the citizen of Cambridge stayed in)- some rooms are bigger, but what tells me that you have forgotten were you stayed in the 11 month it took until this report, is criticizing the breakfast ( 3 x cereals, fresh cut fruit, 2 x yoghurts, toast, 2 x fresh juice (orange and mango) from Era Juices (not watered down), scones or fresh bread and jams, and when you seated yourself, you would have been asked if you would like a freshly prepared English breakfast of eggs ( to your liking), bacon, mushrooms and tomato, coffee and tea, and when your plate was taken away from you, you would have been asked "Sir have you had enough or would you like anything else".
Next time give your grievances to the establishment, inform them of your intentions of doing a Trip Advisor rating, but do not just go away without commenting directly to management. Seasoned travelers build up, first time travelers break down?

Tom Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

It just has what it needs. Rooms are big and clean. Nice swimming pool and a perfect place to stay for three nights or so to explore Swellendam. Good breakfast.
It is a nice guest house to bring your family as well

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the street (almost no traffic) to avoid swimming pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob72CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olwyn H, Owner at Aanhuizen Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Rob72Cape Town

thank you for the positive respond. It is heartwarming to see that our you enjoyed your time with us.

Olwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed for one night on our way back to Cape Town. Nicely furnished with the some nice ltouches. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Excellent value for money, clean and beautiful rooms, accomadating owners(special dietry requirement), friendly staff, will be back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I highly recommend it. In addtion to the rooms being very neat and clean, the hospitality was unbelievable! Our stay couldn't have been any better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We spent just one night here en route along N2 from Cape Town. Swellendam is an ideal distance from Cape Town for half a day's drive and the guest house is situated in a residential area , in walking distance to the Church, Museum and the excellent Dutch restaurant. The swimming pool is a bonus and there are great views from the grassed area outside the bedrooms, towards the mountains. We think another night would have allowed us to see more of Swellendam and its interesting buildings but we couldnt fit it in to our schedule

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 38 in Swellendam
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
1.1 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#12 of 38 in Swellendam
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#6 of 38 in Swellendam
361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanhuizen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanhuizen Guest House

Property: Aanhuizen Guest House
Address: 6 Van Blommenstein Street | PO Box 522, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aanhuizen Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanhuizen offers you elegance and tranquility in Swellendam. Our tastefully decorated rooms all have TV, tea/coffee and rusks, own entrances and en-suite bathrooms. We are away from the main road yet within walking distance of the tourist centre and excellent restaurants. Let us give you a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aanhuizen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing