We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights, the second of which was my partners birthday and we could not have asked for a better stay. Huge attention to detail, my partner loved her card and present from the hotel, food was very very enjoyable and all capped off with the honeymoon suite for 2 nights...great stay.

Room Tip: see if you can get the honeymoon suite..beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mansehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Mansehra

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Schoone Oordt, our little Swellendam country hotel, and for taking the time to write such an excellent review! We loved having you to visit and look forward to seeing you again (we hope!)

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

this is a lovely hotel - amazing rooms and very nice staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AdamCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We really loved our stay at the Schoone Oordt Country House in April 2011. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They made us feel at home immediately and went out of their way to help us in any way possible. They even provided us with an umbrella at the door for the morning breakfast.
The food and the room were both excellent.
We highly recommend this B&B. It is definitley a 5 star B&B.

Brian Jackson
Canada

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were welcomed by the hosts as if we were very close friends or family all staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are very neat upmarket and beaut decorated. The best guest house we have ever stayed at and will def visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mwghiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This guesthouse gets always top-ratings and from our point of view it is deserved. The place has a very personal touch, e.g. with well-come snacks and wine. And you get plenty of firewood to create a cosy atmosphere in your well-appointed room. Food is also delicious. What else can you ask for? In overall, your holiday money is well-spent!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had such a beautiful time at Schoone Oordt and enjoyed every minute. The attention to detail which the owners paid to the rooms was clearly evident in the fact that every function that a room could provide was done perfectly and with a touch of luxury. The combination of the beautiful antique furniture, the warming fireplace and the heated waterbottle which awaited us after dinner added a sense of pampering. We loved it and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrin Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our second trip to the beautiful Schoone Oordt property in the farming town of Swellendam and our first in Winter. Our visit coincided with the Canola oil festival and the town was prepared to perfection and the festival was great fun. It is always difficult to recreate an excellent experience and my expectation was that we would enjoy staying here again but not that we would be wowed again. I was wrong. Richard and Alison, the owners, have recently hired a wonderful couple to manage the guest house in collaboration with themselves and this added dimension was fantastic for several reasons. One is that Wander is a future master chef in the making as well as the nicest possible guy and the other is his wife Sonette who is the perfect balance of understated charm and attentive service. Nothing was too much trouble from taking care of all our laundry to accommodating special breakfast requests. We were treated to a spectacular tasting dinner one evening and the best gift of all was a dinner with the proprietors and Wander and Sonette on our final night. Such warm and generous hospitality is a testament to what has been created at this establishment. I can wax lyrically about the beautiful linens, the finely appointed rooms, the insanely large and luxurious bathrooms, the morning complimentary car wash, the best breakfast in the country and the impeccable cleanliness of the place but that would miss the essence of what has been created here. This is a living, breathing, labor of love and I cannot wait to see Richards next updates and improvements, some of which he gave me advance insight into on a quick tour, nor can I wait to see Wander flourish in his new kitchen! Thank you so much to the whole team at Schoone Oordt from myself, my wife and our daughter. Bravo

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Wow, what a beautiful review!

Thank you so much to you, Sean, and your gorgeous family for choosing to stay in our little Swellendam hotel again. We loved spending time with you and we so look forward to seeing you again. Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to write such a splendid review.

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £127 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing