We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Beautiful house and rooms, very good breakfast. We stayed here for one night and would definitely stay here again. Very nice touch was that they even cleaned the cars during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

The amazing location, fabulous amenities, beautiful gardens, divine breakfasts, impeccable service and above all the warm hospitality made the wedding weekend we were part of in November a very, very special occasion. Thanks to Alison, Richard, Wander and Sonette for this amazing space and for making our comfort and welfare their priority.
C&M Devon

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8CandM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were extremely priveledged to have our wedding week end at Schoone Oordt in Novemeber 2011. Alison, Wander & Sonette organised a spectacular occassion and catered to every need & beyond all imagination. Our guests were spoilt from the moment they arrived and are still speaking of this week end as the highlight to their year. A truly world class venue with so much sophistication and style that comes with no effort from this 'hands-on team.' The quality, variety and menu planning that went into every meal was stupendously sublime - mouthwateringly delicious flavours, spectacular presentation. As South Africans we feel proud & honoured to boast a venue of this class and calabre which endeavours on retaining our heritage of which we are all so patriotic over still.True custodians of hospitality....

HIGHLY recommend Schoone Oordt as 'that' romantic, sophisticated yet under-stated getaway for any occassion - and if you have no occassion to celebrate, Schoone Oordt will become the occassion...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dearest Louis

Thank you for such a beautiful review. It was SUCH a special wedding and we were truly honoured to be able to share it with you, Nicholas and the rest of your wonderfully creative friends.

We look forward to seeing you for every anniversary hereafter.

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This review rather late – we stayed in November 2010. However, Schoone Oordt was truly fantastic. The house and rooms are really beautiful and the setting fantastic but the best thing about the place is the people. When we arrived Alison welcomed us so warmly and had made reservations for us for dinner (but with no pressure to take them up if we didn’t want). Alison also made loads of really useful recommendations of things to do and Richard even mended our satnav for us.

The room was very comfortable (we were lucky enough to stay in the honeymoon suite) and the bathroom was huge and beautiful. It was also tucked away and very private. That said, we also looked at some of the other rooms and they all looked great – we’d be happy to stay in any of them.

We were very sad to leave and would not hesitate to stay again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aylesburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hello dear Aylesbury Travellers

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review, even after a year! It means a lot that you can still remember your visit with us so clearly and we are truly grateful for the kind words.

We look forwrd to seeing you soon.

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a wonderful time and were spoiled during our stay at Schoone Oordt in Swellendam. Wonderful meals and spacious well appointed rooms added to the experience. Our guests, Wander and Sonette made our visit a memorable experience. Swellendam is the third oldest town in South Africa and is a wonderful location from which to visit the surrounding wine estates and coastal areas. Highly recommended experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Picturesque property, set in stunning surroundings.
hosts were extremely welcoming and couldnt do enough for us, the room was very nicely appointed with everything you need plus home made biscuits that were devine !
the beautifully kept gardens aree a delight
the main house felt like a real family home with guests encouraged to use it as such
the breakfast was top class and memorable
we will definately be returning in the future and can highly recommend that you stay here

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

For my husband's birthday, I planned a holiday in and around Cape Town. We spent three wonderful days based out of the Schoone Ordt Country House where we were pampered and treated as royalty. The hospitality comes on with drinks and a snack the minute you arrive. The Honeymoon Suite was peaceful and pleasantly appealing in every way. Very upscale with much attention to details. The breakfasts and snacks are prepared by a true Chef. And for an especially kind gesture, they washed our dusty car each morning. We truly found a treasure in the Schoone Ordt and plan to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
81 reviews
24.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
276 reviews
2 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £138 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing