We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swellendam and Schoone Oordt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A few short years ago,Swellendam was primarily a "pit stop" on the N2 motorway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the famous Garden Route of South Africa.
Travellers would divert off the N2 and rest and refresh at the many coffee shops on the main street and quickly resume their journey.
What a change in Swellendam today!!
The town has now become a destination in its own right, and the range of top quality accommodation,fine restaurants,excellent cafes, coffee shops,and artisan outlets make a night stop,or longer,most inviting.
My wife and I decided on an overnight stay after reading the very high ratings which Trip Advisor reviewers gave to The Schoone Oordt Hotel.
We were not disappointed,and rather than repeat all of the plaudits which this charming Hotel has already received,I will sum it up by saying that it was beyond our expectations.
Alison and Richard Walker have lovingly restored the main house to a splendid reincarnation of it's glory days and the accommodation and cuisine are world class.
A special thank you to our Waiter, Sydney,who although nervous as he was just starting in his new job,was so efficient and friendly that he added greatly to the enjoyment of our dinner.
A truly special place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We arrived to this Guest House after a long daily trip and Allison was so kind at the reception making us absolutely comfortable. Room with all the comforts and a nice balcony, where I could quietly sit and easily connect my laptop to internet. Dinner was tasty and well served; the breakfast on the next morning was a three course. At the end we were sorry we had to depart, as we felt to be guests more than customers. We can highly recommend this Guest House as a base for a longer stay from which to visit the interesting surroundings of Swellendam and wish to have the opportunity to come back again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errepi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I needed to travel up the Garden Route and found this country hotel – what a gem, refined with an authentic period feel. Wander and Sonete was interested in the time I spent with them, my well-being and created personalization I have not come across before. Sonete even joined me for dinner something I hate doing by myself when away from home. This hotel represent Swellendam life in an original, one-of-a-kind. Deeply involved in the local scenes and serve as a focal point for this country town, it was not just a just a place to stay, but a gateway to the local community. Spending time with their new local waitresses Sesley-Ann Shanice sharing their journey and development from unemployed young woman to proud service staff over dinner. All I can say is that I am brining my family back to this incredible welcome, food, space, place and beautifully clean washed car as I checked out.

Room Tip: Try to book a meal with in their restaurant for dinner it is beyond wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownTravelafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

How wonderful! What a touching review. Thank you so much. We read this with a lump in our throat and such happiness in our heart. Thank you for making our week, never mind our day!

We so look forward to having you and your family visit beautiful Swellendam and our small country hotel in the very very near future.

With love
The Schoone Oordt Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We chose Schoone Oordt due to the good reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with lovely views across the gardens and the bathroom was huge with a great rain shower and lots of lovely toiletries. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent, with breakfast the next morning just as good. If you aren't planning on staying in Swellendam, maybe you should just so you can stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mookford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Schoone Oordt really is a top notch establishment. The grounds are large and lush, with a beautiful garden and pool area. The rooms were well sized and very well appointed, with wonderful modernised Victorian bathrooms. Alison, our host, was very friendly and accommodating. We had a cycle race and needed a 4am breakfast. This was laid out by the time we woke up! Scones and lemonade for high tea after the race made for a nice treat as well. It would be hard to find better appointed, more refined, relaxing accommodation in Swellendam (or any other South African town for that matter!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StenicCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very close attention to detail and to the requirements of the individual make this an extremely comfortable and pleasing experience from Check-in to Checkout. Very courteous and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast provides each new day with different cooked starter and main courses in addition to the fruit, cereals, cheeses and cold meat selections. Dined in twice - unusual for us to dine anywhere twice - but it was so good and reasonably-priced an experience that we didn't want to miss out on a second chance. Go for the luxury garden rooms - absolutely massive with huge beds, fireplaces, and beautiful antique furniture, and a bathroom featuring a massive cast-iron bath, a shower as big as some nightclub dance floors and a genuine Victorian loo cistern ! Don't hesitate - a wonderful experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really great accommodation and the hospitality is second to none. Food was of an extremely high standard.
There is a beautiful swimming pool too.
I would highly recommend staying here if visiting Swellendam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zootiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £128 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing