We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel for 3 nights. Our room was fabulous and the bathroom gorgeous. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, suggesting and booking restaurants, horse riding nearby and a great massage at Rain (highly recommended, plus a must is their shop which sells all the delicious soaps we had used at the hotel). The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon tea a lovely touch. I happily highly recommend this little oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our stay at Schoone Oordt was booked by our travel agent as a 'convenient stop' between the garden route and Cape Town for our last night before flying back to the UK. All I can say is how fortunate we were with the selection of this hotel. We stayed in some very good hotels / lodges / country houses during our vacation, but Schoone Oordt topped them all and really made a special end to our vacation in South Africa.

The lovingly restored house oozed charm and tranquillity in spacious grounds and is located in a quite side street on the edge of Swellendam. Our room was large and comfortable and, like the rest of the house the furnishings and fittings created a feeling of old world charm. Our room had an open fire and we were asked if we would like to have it lit - not really necessary during summer, but a nice touch for a winter's stay.

Swellendam played a very interesting role in the very early days of European settlement of the Cape area and there were various books around the hotel on the history, including two small pamphlets in our room that were well worth reading.

The price of our room included breakfast and afternoon tea, the latter helping evoke a feeling of a time bygone times. We had dinner at the hotel which was a three course menu with 2 or 3 choices for each course. The menu provided a recommended wine for each course and all of the wines were available by the glass.

The staff were genuinely warm and friendly and took time to chat to guests individually - several of the staff were students doing hospitality industry work experience and the hotel clearly prides itself in developing people as the students described enthusiastically their time at the hotel.

Our only regret - we could not stay longer in this lovely hotel with its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExSpextations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

What an incredible review! You have managed to capture EXACTLY the energy and passion that we try to convey. Thank you so so much. Your words have made us all very happy and we can't wait to visit with you again.

With so much love :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent one night at Schoone Oordt last winter after a really awful drive through pouring rain, hail and wind mostly in the dark from Capetown on our way to Plett. We arrived late, tired and cold but were revived by a simply wonderful meal from Wander and had a welcoming fire in our room where we slept like logs. Breakfast was again superb and we would highly recommend the place to everyone. It is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEMJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed just the one night, two adults and two grown-up children. We intend to return but for longer. Rarely have we seen such attention to detail combined with a genuine warmth from all the staff. My daughter fell in love with her room and simply did not want to leave for the coast. My son and I hiked up the towering mountains just out the back. My wife fell in love with the town and swimming pool in equal measure...Roll on January 2015...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelSHolywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were very impressed by this really lovely guest house. The rooms were very nice and decorated with so much love. Every detail was put with much thought together. The service was great. Everyone was very helpful and Alison a perfekt host. I can only recommend this wonderful place, it makes your vacation even more memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great location in town but is a quiet area. Our room was excellent, quite large and yet cosy. We liked the fireplace that added a special atmosphere, we used it every day. Huge bathroom with tub and enormous shower. Breakfast was fantastic and dinners also very good, though the menu does not change from one day to the next. But you have several options to choose from so it was fine for us for two days. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

We're feeling so fortunate for this last run of really beautiful reviews. Thank you to every guest that takes the time to write such kind, thoughtful and constructive words. Your reviews make us smile and encourage us to do better. We are very grateful. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This is a magnificent place to stay... It's just one of those top class, well looked after places that makes one feel totally care-free! And the food was great. Really really really lovely and accommodating of couples to businesses to families.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank L-So-Sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £127 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing