We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fidiney Multitasking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Apart from painting the walls and cutting the grass this man does everything. I really liked this hotel and the staff. Its very quirky. Visualise a polite Basil Fawlty. The buidings are old and the decor in need of freshening up but I do urge you to try this hotel. Food great and location perfect to break your journey along the Garden Route. It's a shame but someone will turn this into a soulless standard hotel and it should be preserved as it is. This hotel has something others don't, bucket loads of character. Fidiney keep going mate, South Africa'a first Astronaut in the making.

Room Tip: Think they are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Only regret is that we only had one night to spend in this beautiful setting! We were heartily welcomed by the owner , Alison Walker, who went out of her way to ensure we had welcoming cooldrinks and snacks. She truly is a lovely , warm person and made all of us feel at home right from the start. Schoone Oordt Country House exceded our expectations by far. We stayed in the family cottage - the entire place is spotless , 10/10 for cleanliness , the grounds are very well cared for and well-maintained. All the staffmembers are friendly and always ready to assist. The food was really exceptional . We met Sonette as we checked out and she is such a warm person too. The owners should be proud of themselves because this is an establishment that really deserves a rating higher than 5 STARS!!!!!!! We loved Shadow!!!!

Room Tip: The Family cottage has lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persiantravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are so fortunate to have such wonderful guests to stay. Thank you so much for this review, we LOVED visiting with you.

Also,a huge thank you to the rest of the lovely people for this latest 'run' of excellent reviews.
There is such a passionate, warm, committed team at Schoone Oordt that we could not offer the service we do without them and it encourages us all to hear such fantastic feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write such spectacularly kind words!

With love from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

For a while I thought that Fidiney, who welcomed us, was the only person working there. He brought us tea then showed us to our room. His manner was friendly and relaxed and always professional. He was even there to serve breakfast the next day.
If you like antiques and colonial homes then you will love this B&B.The house is beautifully restored and I would have loved to have stayed there but only on arrival realised that it was the family home(shame.)
As has been already identified here the dinners and breakfasts are lovely and the setting for these meals is beautiful.
Our bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and well appointed. Thank you for reminding me of a toilet chain on the loo. Very appropriate for the period the house was built.
When I think of Swellendam I shall always think of Fidiney . Happy memories

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We overnighted here as we travelled the Garden Route from Knysna to Cape Town. Ideal stopover. Everything about this Guesthouse was superb, the setting,the staff, the room, the food, the atmosphere and the value for money. Would love to go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely lodge, worth staying there if you stop in Swellendam.
Great service, great food, lovely rooms and attention to details.
Welcomed warmly by Sunette with a drink.
In the morning our car had been washed, no cost.
The dinner was excellent, lovely decor in the restaurant.
For elderly people, there are some stairs, but my 86 year old dad coped with them all.
Sue was our very gracious hostess.
I will definitely be back for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunSunshine_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Booked Schoone Oordt as a half way stop on a long drive. What we found was a great boutique hotel. Definitely stay more than one night. The decor, the feeling and the welcome you get in Schoone Oordt are one in a million. The open fires in the rooms are so romantic. Theire diners and breakies are delicious. A must stop and stay in lovely swellendam.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Aatraveller03102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

You couldn't help be impressed by the way this place has been so lovingly restored, somewhere else where we only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We received a very warm welcome and arrived just in time for afternoon tea and decided we would book for dinner which was an excellent meal served in a lovely setting. The bedroom accommodation is set apart from the main house and is nicely appointed, It had rained overnight and the porter was wiping down all the cars before we left. Breakfast was really special, with a buffet and two hot courses, the poached pear was out of this world and the croque madame a real change from the standard breakfast fayre. Another place we would stop again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £128 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing