We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the family cottage with our 12 year old daughter for two nights. Our expectations were well exceeded in all areas - the house is beautiful, the service was great and the food was really delicious. My husband claimed the eggs benedict, which he had for breakfast, were the best he had ever had! We thought it was excellent value and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Swellendam is a strange village - there is very little to do there, but is the perfect stop off between wine route and garden route. Try to arrive (we didn't) during the week, as maybe then something is open! Schoone Oordt is a fantastic place - Fideney is the heart and soul! (he seems to be everywhere!). Room was very comfortable and extremely clean, Bathroom - very clean and I loved the "victoriana" touches! We had dinner there (although the staff are very happy to give you a map and reserve in other restaurants) and it was very good indeed...only lacking atmosphere, as was served in the large conservatory and with few guests...but food was very good and wine even better.

Little touches like your car being cleaned every morning, Fideney (and the other staff) helping with ideas for your stay... perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The setting is superb, in a nicely restored (oh, the loads of work ...) colonial home, just at the fringe of the village centre. A very warm welcome, with tea and biscuits offered. Very nice room (we had booked a 'luxury' room, near the back of the garden) and a bathroom that totally reflects the passion for detail when restoring the mansion grandeur of the past century.
Not wanting to go out for dinner, we had reserved a table in situ. No regrets, the food was wonderful, with an accompanying outstanding service. And breakfast was equally spectacular
The whole management and staff team are exceptionally friendly and accommodating .... a true 'guesthouse'.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house, location, rooms and fantastic staff!
The welcome was great and our group had 3 rooms off the same courtyard. Big beds, large bathrooms and well stocked minibar/coffee area. My husband was so excited to have fresh coffee in the morning whilst waiting for me.
The only thing I'd say that needs looking at in the room is there was no where to sit and dry my hair with a mirror.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and while the menu is small, it was cooked to perfection.
I would definitely recommend a stay here and wish we could have been the longer than 1 night.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank H_crawf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Apart from painting the walls and cutting the grass this man does everything. I really liked this hotel and the staff. Its very quirky. Visualise a polite Basil Fawlty. The buidings are old and the decor in need of freshening up but I do urge you to try this hotel. Food great and location perfect to break your journey along the Garden Route. It's a shame but someone will turn this into a soulless standard hotel and it should be preserved as it is. This hotel has something others don't, bucket loads of character. Fidiney keep going mate, South Africa'a first Astronaut in the making.

Room Tip: Think they are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Only regret is that we only had one night to spend in this beautiful setting! We were heartily welcomed by the owner , Alison Walker, who went out of her way to ensure we had welcoming cooldrinks and snacks. She truly is a lovely , warm person and made all of us feel at home right from the start. Schoone Oordt Country House exceded our expectations by far. We stayed in the family cottage - the entire place is spotless , 10/10 for cleanliness , the grounds are very well cared for and well-maintained. All the staffmembers are friendly and always ready to assist. The food was really exceptional . We met Sonette as we checked out and she is such a warm person too. The owners should be proud of themselves because this is an establishment that really deserves a rating higher than 5 STARS!!!!!!! We loved Shadow!!!!

Room Tip: The Family cottage has lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persiantravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are so fortunate to have such wonderful guests to stay. Thank you so much for this review, we LOVED visiting with you.

Also,a huge thank you to the rest of the lovely people for this latest 'run' of excellent reviews.
There is such a passionate, warm, committed team at Schoone Oordt that we could not offer the service we do without them and it encourages us all to hear such fantastic feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write such spectacularly kind words!

With love from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

For a while I thought that Fidiney, who welcomed us, was the only person working there. He brought us tea then showed us to our room. His manner was friendly and relaxed and always professional. He was even there to serve breakfast the next day.
If you like antiques and colonial homes then you will love this B&B.The house is beautifully restored and I would have loved to have stayed there but only on arrival realised that it was the family home(shame.)
As has been already identified here the dinners and breakfasts are lovely and the setting for these meals is beautiful.
Our bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and well appointed. Thank you for reminding me of a toilet chain on the loo. Very appropriate for the period the house was built.
When I think of Swellendam I shall always think of Fidiney . Happy memories

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#14 of 39 in Swellendam
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: £146 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing