We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stop over on the garden route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great stop over on the garden route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived at the impressive looking Schoone Oordt late afternoon and was met by the delightful Fideney who took us through the conservatory into a comfy sitting room and gave us complimentary afternoon tea with home made pastries and cakes. Elouise then came out to look after us and although we could have eaten there for dinner they brought us many local menus and booked a reservation for us. We have 2 boys aged 6 and 8 and we had a perfect room consisting of a bedroom with a loft above for the boys with 2 single beds upstairs. They thought this was great fun. The rooms are very tasteful and gorgeous bathroom with lovely toiletries and a big jar of bath salts. There was a small kitchen in the room too with a fridge. The bed linen was excellent and everywhere was spotless. We woke the nest morning to see our car had been cleaned!!! Never had that before! Breakfast was one of the best. Consisting of 3 courses of buffet fruit and cereals, cheeses etc then pancakes served with berries and followed by eggs on muffins with hollandaise and all sorts of lovely things!!! This is a perfect place to stay when travelling along the garden route. We visited the nature reserve the next morning and hiked up to see the waterfalls and if we had time there is a great dam nearby with zip wires and canoes for the kids. Fideney and Elouise looked after us so well and would highly recommend. Great with kids too. You can hire mountain bikes and there is a pool (not heated) so you need to be brave.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual little cottages and are all great from what we saw. All very stylish and ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
184
661
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the family cottage with our 12 year old daughter for two nights. Our expectations were well exceeded in all areas - the house is beautiful, the service was great and the food was really delicious. My husband claimed the eggs benedict, which he had for breakfast, were the best he had ever had! We thought it was excellent value and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Swellendam is a strange village - there is very little to do there, but is the perfect stop off between wine route and garden route. Try to arrive (we didn't) during the week, as maybe then something is open! Schoone Oordt is a fantastic place - Fideney is the heart and soul! (he seems to be everywhere!). Room was very comfortable and extremely clean, Bathroom - very clean and I loved the "victoriana" touches! We had dinner there (although the staff are very happy to give you a map and reserve in other restaurants) and it was very good indeed...only lacking atmosphere, as was served in the large conservatory and with few guests...but food was very good and wine even better.

Little touches like your car being cleaned every morning, Fideney (and the other staff) helping with ideas for your stay... perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
390 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The setting is superb, in a nicely restored (oh, the loads of work ...) colonial home, just at the fringe of the village centre. A very warm welcome, with tea and biscuits offered. Very nice room (we had booked a 'luxury' room, near the back of the garden) and a bathroom that totally reflects the passion for detail when restoring the mansion grandeur of the past century.
Not wanting to go out for dinner, we had reserved a table in situ. No regrets, the food was wonderful, with an accompanying outstanding service. And breakfast was equally spectacular
The whole management and staff team are exceptionally friendly and accommodating .... a true 'guesthouse'.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house, location, rooms and fantastic staff!
The welcome was great and our group had 3 rooms off the same courtyard. Big beds, large bathrooms and well stocked minibar/coffee area. My husband was so excited to have fresh coffee in the morning whilst waiting for me.
The only thing I'd say that needs looking at in the room is there was no where to sit and dry my hair with a mirror.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and while the menu is small, it was cooked to perfection.
I would definitely recommend a stay here and wish we could have been the longer than 1 night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank H_crawf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Apart from painting the walls and cutting the grass this man does everything. I really liked this hotel and the staff. Its very quirky. Visualise a polite Basil Fawlty. The buidings are old and the decor in need of freshening up but I do urge you to try this hotel. Food great and location perfect to break your journey along the Garden Route. It's a shame but someone will turn this into a soulless standard hotel and it should be preserved as it is. This hotel has something others don't, bucket loads of character. Fidiney keep going mate, South Africa'a first Astronaut in the making.

Room Tip: Think they are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Only regret is that we only had one night to spend in this beautiful setting! We were heartily welcomed by the owner , Alison Walker, who went out of her way to ensure we had welcoming cooldrinks and snacks. She truly is a lovely , warm person and made all of us feel at home right from the start. Schoone Oordt Country House exceded our expectations by far. We stayed in the family cottage - the entire place is spotless , 10/10 for cleanliness , the grounds are very well cared for and well-maintained. All the staffmembers are friendly and always ready to assist. The food was really exceptional . We met Sonette as we checked out and she is such a warm person too. The owners should be proud of themselves because this is an establishment that really deserves a rating higher than 5 STARS!!!!!!! We loved Shadow!!!!

Room Tip: The Family cottage has lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank persiantravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are so fortunate to have such wonderful guests to stay. Thank you so much for this review, we LOVED visiting with you.

Also,a huge thank you to the rest of the lovely people for this latest 'run' of excellent reviews.
There is such a passionate, warm, committed team at Schoone Oordt that we could not offer the service we do without them and it encourages us all to hear such fantastic feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write such spectacularly kind words!

With love from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing