We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Schooner Oordt is a lovely restored hotel whose owners spent a great deal of time and money to make this place a very charming and welcome place to stay. We stayed here for one night on our way back to Cape Town from Ado Elephant Park. We were lucky enough to be greeted by the owner, Alison. We had a great conversation with her during our dinner where we talked about restoring this house as well as the culture of South Africa. She also spent time with us at breakfast and wished us a fond farewell. The rooms were very nice, large, comfortable and equipped with organic bath amenities. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and I was surprised and amazed at the quality of the food which was very upscale for a farming town - nice job to the chef, Obi. Also the staff (meaning Findley), was especially helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to stay in the Swellendam area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Lynda

Thank you so much for this stunning review! We read it out to our team (especially Obi and Fidiney) to beaming smiles and happy happy hearts. Your kindness encourages us all and we thank you for that.

We look forward to visiting with you again.

With love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
184
661
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I discovered this gem on a Harley stop-over recently. Loved it so much that I came back with my partner within weeks. We spent 2 glorious days in this most delightful boutique hotel . Beautifully restored by the owners, it is an oasis of luxury and tranquility near the foot of the beautiful Swellendam mountains. The rooms are world class with gorgeous big bathrooms and sumptuous beds. Little details like underfloor heating, double basins, soft furnishings gives it a personal touch. The intimate restaurant serves 5 star meals and nothing is too much trouble for the ever friendly staff who are alwyas on standby with a big smile. Alison, the owner, makes you feel right at home and gives true meaning to the concept of warm hospitality. A clean washed car upon departure is definitely a nice touch. We'll most definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed, but if you can, go for the Honeymoon Suite. Pure bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike5025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family spent one night at Schoone Oordt in the small and wonderful city of Swellendam on our way from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth - I wish it had been longer! What a wonderful place. Absolutely fabulous. It is a very beautiful hotel where everything seems to be designed and prepared to perfection. We had two large and beautiful decorated and equipped rooms. The bathrooms are great! The breakfast is a story of its own - three courses - absolutely great! Its obvious that that the owner Alison, her family and the able staff strive to make the visit perfect for their guests. And you even get a complimentary car wash before leaving!

We will be back!

Family Joern Rasmussen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-Rasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

On the way back from Wilderness to Cape Town this year, we had the pleasure of staying at Schoone Oordt. and has a delightful two day stay in a wonderfully restored building
Welcoming and attentive staff
Stylish and extensive rooms with excellent bathroom facilities and Fresh Tea and Coffee making facilities
Superb Three Course Breakfast
Complimentary afternoon tea.
Excellent Evening Meal, although no change in menu for the second night, our fault for not asking.
The experience was excellent and great value for money, well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

After a long drive along the garden route, this is a great place to stop, relax and be reenergised. Lovely setting, very friendly welcome, stylish rooms, great breakfast, we could have stayed a few days and enjoyed the House and grounds - not really much else to do in Swellendam but certainly worth stopping over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonzpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourways, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Had a very poor experience at a family wedding in the Swellendam area, so when we arrived back exhausted and grumpy at our gorgeous standard room at Schoone Oordt, we were so relieved to be in comfy, warm and peaceful settings.

They went out of their way to provide a separate bed for our 3-year old, a camp cot (with teddy!) for our 6-month old and we felt very well looked after.

Breakfast was 3-courses and delicious, and the staff and service was outstanding. I wish we'd stayed longer. What a gem!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacie271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jacie

Thank you very very much for writing such a lovely review. I know from my own experience that it's not always easy travelling with little ones :) and so we really aspire to making families feel at home. Our Schoone Oordt team are super pleased that we got it right with your little family. It was such a pleasure looking after you and we all look forward to your next visit.

With love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived at the impressive looking Schoone Oordt late afternoon and was met by the delightful Fideney who took us through the conservatory into a comfy sitting room and gave us complimentary afternoon tea with home made pastries and cakes. Elouise then came out to look after us and although we could have eaten there for dinner they brought us many local menus and booked a reservation for us. We have 2 boys aged 6 and 8 and we had a perfect room consisting of a bedroom with a loft above for the boys with 2 single beds upstairs. They thought this was great fun. The rooms are very tasteful and gorgeous bathroom with lovely toiletries and a big jar of bath salts. There was a small kitchen in the room too with a fridge. The bed linen was excellent and everywhere was spotless. We woke the nest morning to see our car had been cleaned!!! Never had that before! Breakfast was one of the best. Consisting of 3 courses of buffet fruit and cereals, cheeses etc then pancakes served with berries and followed by eggs on muffins with hollandaise and all sorts of lovely things!!! This is a perfect place to stay when travelling along the garden route. We visited the nature reserve the next morning and hiked up to see the waterfalls and if we had time there is a great dam nearby with zip wires and canoes for the kids. Fideney and Elouise looked after us so well and would highly recommend. Great with kids too. You can hire mountain bikes and there is a pool (not heated) so you need to be brave.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual little cottages and are all great from what we saw. All very stylish and ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing