We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What can I say?”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything I want to say about Schoone Oordt, has been said before on this forum. There is nothing I could add to do justice to this beautiful property, the elegant Alison or staff. It is superb. Tranquil, relaxing and all other superlatives you can think of! WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Such a wonderfully gracious review. Thank you so much.
Thank you, too, for the 'elegant Alison' - I blushed with happiness.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Schoone Oordt and Swellendam in the not too distant future.
With love from the entire Schoone Oordt Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
185
666
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everyone stays here for its location but this hotel has a charm of its own. Faded Empire is the style but worth staying. Really nice staff, so helpful. Nice breakfast. garden rooms don't have aircon which it would need in high summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us again JohnEric! We're so happy that you love our quirkiness and character, as we put our heart and soul into our property and service. What do you think we could do to earn that elusive extra star from you?

Also, just a little note to say that we do, in fact, have aircons in our rooms, perfect for heating in winter and cooling in summer!

Hope you'll come and see us again soon.

With love
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited this beautiful hotel twice in a two week period in late April/early May 2014. We had two of the luxury rooms which were very cosy during some fairly rubbish weather. The service was great, from our cars getting washed, to help with the luggage, to baby sitting and great service and food in the bar and restaurant. We travelled with two babies and were very well looked after. We didnt explore Swellendam much, it was a stop over between Cape Town and Knysna, but it was great for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Truly stunning hotel in every aspect. Service, food, rooms and atmosphere. Simply stunning.

I would recommend Schoone Oordt to anyone wanting a stay in Swellendam!

I can't remember the last time we had such good service anywhere in South Africa.

Room Tip: Even the standard room is opulent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our stay is best described by superlatives: Hospitality, elegance, attentiveness. From the moment of arrival to the last lingering moment before reluctantly departing, the experience surpassed expectations. We can only recommend this as a jewel!

Swellendam is the perfect stopover midway between Cape Town and the Garden Route, and there is plenty to do and see in this historic town so we can recommend staying two nights, allowing a full day to explore the local area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in a smaller building close to the lovely garden, and it was very quiet and peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SthlmTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your happy experience at Schoone Oordt. We are so grateful for your beautifully kind words. We loved taking care of you and so look forward to your next visit.
With love
Alison & the Schoone Oordt Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights and the experience was amazing. It all starts when you arrive. Instead of checking in at a desk, you get a nice drink, during which you do the paper work. The rooms are very nice and so is the food. It is not often you get a three-course breakfast, but it is absolutely worth it. During the whole stay the friendliness of the staff keep amazing. We stayed in some pretty nice places in South Africa, but this was the most special of all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

All the excellent reviews are true! Amazing service, excellent tasty food and relaxing rooms.
We awoke to see someone washing our car! Two course hot breakfast as well as cold offerings. Large bathrooms with heated floors. We tried the Rain bath products here and then went to the store in town and purchased our own to take home. We enjoyed our stay so much we went out of our way to stay here again on our trip. Both times where excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvtogosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing