We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
2 reviews
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We spent one night in Schoone Oordt during our honeymoon. It was the perfect stopover on our way from the Eastern Cape to Cape Town. On arrival a big surprise awaited us, we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite without asking for it. In the room there were some bubbles waiting for us to be popped and a very personal note with congratulations from the owner´s family.
The place is beatifully renovated/restored - great job.
The recommendation for dinner was great, a nice place just around the corner. But what was the best was the breakfast - that was really outstanding - the best we ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tine_holger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
185
666
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Schoone Oordt is a rare find, where luxury is abundant, wonderful grounds, beautiful historic buildings and outstanding luxury suites in the mix. But it does not stop there. The warmth of the hosts Alison and Richard leave you wanting for nothing. The breakfasts are also especially wonderful experiences with Alison's flair for cooking taking your taste buds on an exceptional journey. My wife Shelley and I had a wonderful stay, truly one of our best.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laksidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Route
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2009

These words said it all. We had a great time. Will definitely be back... Thank you Alison for making us feel "at home". Regards, Marius & Marinus.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbbbbbbb_m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Our four night stay at Schoone Oordt (17-20 Oct 2009) was mid-way through our holiday in the Western Cape and prooved to be a highlight of the trip. The beautifully restored main building and our great suite were well complemented by the lovely friendly and personal service from Alison. Our complimentary wine, cheese and olives on arrival set the scene for a good stay and we were never disappointed. The fabulous breakfasts have set a new high standard against which all others will now be measured.
Alison recommended and made our bookings for good local restaurants. And following her suggestion, we had a very enjoyable day out at the regional wine festival.
The location is great for visiting Bontebok National Park and good too for the Robertson Valley vineyards and the amazing De Hoop Nature Reserve.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wubble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We decided to stop off at Swellendam en route to the Garden Route. What we found was a delightful small town with alot of historic and beautiful buildings one of the best being the Schoone Oordt Country Guest House. The facilities were excellent, service exemplary and the breakfast probably the best and most original I have ever experienced. Allison, Richard and their team were all incredibly helpful. Next time we will certainly use it as a base to see many more of the sights in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONKEY054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerelbekeBelgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

The house has a big historical value, and the owners have it restored in an extremely beautifull way. The rooms are decorated in the same style: old badtube but perfectly renovated, toiletwaterreservoir is old, but brought in perfectly condition, the chain to let water flow...everything is consequently in the same style. The shower is a little bit different: open round shower. Not far from Drostdy Museum, not so far from the natural reserve De Hoop....close to good restaurants, and big personal service and...last but not least: a very original breakfast...This place I can recommend to everyone and the owners are very friendly people. A warm wellcome is waiting you here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrusdal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at Schoone Oordt at the start of our Honeymoon. The friendly and excellent service made this the highlight of our vacation. A lot of guest houses can learn from Alison how to treat guests. We had the best meal at a restaurant that was recommended to us by Alison. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuaddibHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing