We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning..as simple as that.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning..as simple as that.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

It was 44 degrees when we arrived in Swellendam,so stepping inside an efficently air conditioned room was bliss.This beautiful victorian house has been superbly restored with love and attention to detail.We were attended to swiftly and with warmth and friendliness and offered refreshments immediately.Our room was exceptionally clean and in addition to tea/coffee making facilities and a mnibar (bottled water complimentary),there were home made biscuits which were fresh and delicious.The standard of the breakfast was excellent.Freshly squeezed juices,good choice of cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was hot and tasty.I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely house or revsisting it ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
184
661
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Beautiful place, ideal location, excellent service.Ideally situated for those on tour or for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

The hotel is a haven of luxury and tranquility. Although the weather prevented us from making full use of the pool and grounds, the accomodation and service were outstanding. We would happily have prolonged our stay had that been possible.
Certainly one of the top hotel/guest house experiences during our SA visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesTroisTrefles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Thanks for a lovely evening . Wish we knew earlier about your gem then we would have been earlier there. I don't have any tips as to us everything was so lovely

PS still looking for property the one in Stilbaai has got a 30 km gravel road and its very dry

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfanGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed here in January, I can only apologise that it’s taken us so long to write this review but life is too quickly taken over by work post-holidays. We stayed at Schoone for three nights – one in a standard room (though suite is a far more appropriate description) and two nights in the “honeymoon suite”. The standard of accommodation was far beyond our expectations, Angela is a wonderful host and has very generously opened her beautiful home for all to relax in. I particularly liked that the guest rooms were essentially individual large cabins with fabulous bathrooms, bedroom and terrace. Breakfast was delicious and we fully enjoyed all restaurant recommendations. We ate at Kornlands (very sweet, simple restaurant – the only one open on Mondays), the Old Gaol (over-rated café but pretty setting), an Italian that Alison recommended (great food!), La Belle Alliance (fab bobotie) and a pizzeria that was average. On one of the days we visited the De Hoop nature reserve which was a good day out strolling around, topped off by a packed lunch prepared by the team at Schoone! As has been said before, it’s the finishing touches that make Schoone such a treat to stay at – luxury towels, great sunbeds by the pool, welcome drinks, yummy homemade biscuits in your room and the turndown service at night. I can’t recommend a couple of nights here highly enough, a perfect place to completely relax – long may it focus on quality and luxury!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

A historic building in the center of Swollendom which has been transfered to a hotel with much love and focus on details. The breakfast is great and the people are very friendly and motivated. If you are in the area of Swollendam, a must for at least 2 night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommerfrankfurt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

My husband and I were travelling with 2 sulky teenage kids, a nanny and our boisterous 1-year old so we were not always sure of the reception we'd receive when we checked into some of the fancier places on the Garden Route in South Africa... from the moment that we arrived to the second we left (and after!) we were so well looked after at Shoone Oordt and nothing was too much trouble.

The beautiful plantation style house was like something from the movie 'Out of Africa' and the brand new purpose built suites in the grounds very well appointed with everything that one could need, with lovely bathrooms, beautiful grade linen, toiletries and piles of the fluffiest of white towels - and (fatally!) the world's best home-baked cookies with fresh milk in the fridge and flowers in our room. The attention to the smallest detail is what makes Schoone Oordt so special and such a pleasure to stay at - every way we turned, things had been cared for beautifully and every detail thought through.

The owners were a pleasure to deal with and made sure we had everything we needed and more including a nanny/baby invitation for high tea at the big house... the breakfasts are LEGENDARY - the baked cinnamon apple and freshly squeezed red-berry juice totally ROCKS.

Don't miss this gorgeous little retreat in this very lovely village town (where people actually say HELLO to you in the street which I found very peculiar as we come from London) - this is what the Garden Route is all about.....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing