We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location between Robertson Wine Route and N2”

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are now permanently closed.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location between Robertson Wine Route and N2”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a gem in the heart of the Boland! Excellent food from an international British Chef in the back and his South African born wife playing host in the front.

We popped in here for a quick lunch and was so blown away by die pork burger and the cheesecake...oh the cheesecake! Went back for a second time and had the pulled pork sandwich, special order salad and some more cheesecake!

Love the concept of sourcing only local, in season ingredients for the seasonal menu. Spent hours in the farm stall browsing and stocking up the fridge.

Location is perfect between Robertson and just off the N2!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great roadtrip break off the N2”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped at Stormsvlei Restaurant and farmstall on a weekend trip to the Southern Cape AND returned on our drive back. We first stopped for tea and cake to see what the place was about, bought some cheeses and biltong and returned for lunch on our way back after looking at the tempting menu...

On our return trip we had the home made burgers which were excellent and more than decent portion size. The home made fries were also tasty. We sat in the outside area overlooking the garden.

Good venue, good food and good service!
Worth a stop, I would return to try the other "comfort food"options on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank K-Travel-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear K-Travel-SA

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review here on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here and even returned for more! Our winter menu is now in full swing and we have a few more delicious winter warmer options available.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Jeanne Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Service in spite of power failure”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arriving here is a bit like stepping back in time. Definitely assisted by the power failure the poor management were experiencing - they were doing their best to provide services without benefit of electricity, and managed to be welcoming in spite of their outage. Coffees were forthcoming, the pastry selection were so gorgeous looking they very nearly had me off my 'no carbs before lunch' regime and the loos were spotless. Wee shoppe well worth a visit for local produce, and a much-enjoyed break on a long journey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have eaten here quite a few times and were never disappointed. We love to sit outside on the stoep and take a walk in the lovely garden. Do order the Belgian chocolate cheesecake, if available, it is unbelievably good. A lovely, tranquil place to have lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Called at Stormsvlei unannounced for a lunch break while travelling in S A and was most impressed with the welcome and excellent food. Well done Steven & Jeanne.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golferra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and visit. We look forward to maybe seeing you again.

All the best.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing