We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunstone Country House
Ranked #3 of 23 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We had a GREAT couple of nights as a family, party of seven.
Luxurious accommodation serviced by Wonderful staff and a truly excellent breakfast.
Peaceful, with magnificent views of the mountains and vineyards.
A hidden gem.
A short ride from Cape Town and therefore essential to have a car to explore the surrounding area.
This stopover is Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    31
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
137
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Dunstone Country House for two days during harvest season, and it was absolutely perfect! The newly built guest house is beautiful - it has lovely snacks and there's a gorgeous view across the valley, which you can also see from the pool. We stayed in the Honeysuckle room, which was very charming and comfortable. Dunstone Country House would be the perfect getaway at any time of the year, but it was particularly special during the harvest. They harvest all of their grapes by hand, and we were able to participate in the harvest and winemaking! It's very neat to see how the delicious wine is actually made. We were also given a tour of the winemaking process by Neil, the winemaker. Overall, it was an amazing experience in a beautiful location with great wine, great food, and great hosts. We will need to stay for longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegetablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in the Guava cottage (yes in the middle of a guava orchard), great cottage with all mod cons and well equipped for self catering, 2 bedroom, 2 bathrooms and an open plan lounge with comfy sofas. A solar heated pool with mountain views and a just a short stroll through a mini vineyard their restaurant The Stone Kitchen on Dunstone. We love it, will return, a place to stay at least a week, we could have stayed a month!

Room Tip: Tip: If the cottage is booked stay at the guest house: the pool and views are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equestriandoc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Trip Advisor should change the name as it is clearly called and signposted as Bovlei Valley Retreat (also Web site). Located outside Wellington on and part of the Dunstone Wine Estate and surrounded by other wineries.
The accommodation is in the converted stables and has been done to a high standard. Just across from the rooms is a large guest sitting room with great views. Here the included afternoon tea and cake is provided followed by free wine tasting of a selection of the estate wines. Meals, including breakfast are taken in the Stone Kitchen restaurant co-located with the winery tasting room down a path from the rooms.
Unfortunately we had only booked one night here in our tour of East Cape and would have loved to stay longer. High on our list of places to stay next time

Room Tip: All looked equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BovleiValleyRetreat, Manager at Dunstone Country House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Many thanks for the great feedback, it was a pleasure hosting you!

We are currently rebranding under the Dunstone umbrella and Bovlei Valley Retreat will now be known as Dunstone Country House, hence the difference in name on Trip Advisor. Be assured we are doing our utmost to change all necessary signage, branding, website and the like as quickly as is possible.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards from the team at Dunstone Country House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

When you first arrive, you can't help but feel surrounded by beauty - the real delight, however, is discovering all of the many details that make your stay even more perfect! Sprigs of fresh lavender on the linens, a rose from the garden at turndown service, wine tasting in the evenings, the list goes on.

Take a stroll through the vines down to the restaurant for dinner where I had the best lamb shank I've ever tasted! Hosts Abbi and Lee were available throughout our stay to check in on us and to see that all of our needs were being met. They couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating.

Will definitely be going back for another stay and will recommend to my friends and family as well!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just returned to Bovlei valley Retreat for the 4th time and had yet another amazing stay. Yes they have made some changes by adding a brand new guest lounge and rim flow pool, with the most amazing views - the mountain, vineyard, horse paddock all stretched out in front. The manor house is now for the family private use.
We didn’t want to move from the pool area with extra comfy sunbeds, a warm and very welcoming large pool and that view.
The new lounge gives a modern touch and best of all different treats throughout the day like gooey chocolate cake at 3pm and help yourself wine and nibbly bits at 6pm.
The dining is a short walk around the paddock and vineyard to the winery restaurant, we sat amongst the wine tanks and enjoyed a buffet breakfast at the table and a huge full English, sadly we were too full to enjoy lunch but we did have dinner, a 3 course affair, which we pre ordered in the morning, there was a choice of 2 starters, mains and dessert.
We will be coming back next year but I hear it will soon be called Dunstone Country house as they are incorporating the Dunstone brand throughout.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view pool choose Iris or Lavender, if you want more privacy and bigger bed go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heikeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Been coming to Bovlei for years and every year it gets better, loved the changes to the lounge and pool – stunning view and very well designed, it’s just fits in perfectly like it should have always been there.
Eating at the restaurant was a different experience from the old manor house stoep but equally as good, same smiling waitresses and good food. However we preferred our alternative dinner – a picnic hamper delivered to our patio which we enjoyed as the sun set, lots of yummy treats and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
10.0 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
487 reviews
7.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.9 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 23 in Wellington
280 reviews
3.5 mi away
Diemersfontein Country House
Diemersfontein Country House
#6 of 23 in Wellington
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstone Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstone Country House

Property: Dunstone Country House
Address: Bovlei Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunstone Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquillity await at this luxurious and romantic wine and fruit estate, set in the heart of the Cape Winelands, South Africa. Dunstone Country House lies at the foot of the historic Bainskloof pass, Wellington, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Escape the big city and accommodation of Cape Town, and enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful town of Wellington. Dunstone Country House is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Situated at the foothills of the mountains, down a dirt gravel road, amazing views and the sound of nature welcome you. Want to escape to a place with no traffic or town noise then this is the place for you. Dunstone Country House: Five beautifully-appointed guest suites are the original Dunstone guest rooms; they are housed in the converted stables and a stable farm cottage. The rooms delight guests with stunning views of the mountains, vines and the farm. From your private entrance and veranda, enter a little home-away-from-home, with all modern comforts and all the extra touches for which Dunstone has become renowned. These enjoy the comfort of a beautiful guest lounge overlooking the mountains and vineyards with wrap around views and an infinity pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains beyond. Dunstone Manor: A new addition to the Estate is the recently acquired, original manor house. A stately three bedroom house on the southern rise of the farm, set amongst lush gardens, towering shady oak trees, and vineyards. This beautiful property has an air of tranquillity, making it the perfect retreat. The property can either be rented as a private house sleeping 6 – 8 persons on a B&B or self-catering basis, or as individual guest suites on a B&B basis. The three individually decorated bedroom are housed on the first floor and offer beautiful views over the gardens, vineyard and mountains. Downstairs is a gracious guest lounge which opens out on to a pretty stoep with its own sun drenched pool. The Cottages: Guava cottage is a self-catering cottage amongst the guava orchard, it boasts its own Viognier vineyard outside the front door. Guava has 2 king-sized bedrooms, a private garden and private heated swimming pool. Guava can also be taken on a B&B basis. Vine Cottage is a new addition on the southern slope of the Estate. Originally stables, it is tastefully converted into a pretty one-bedroom cottage, a very private escape for 2. Guests at Vine cottage have access to all facilities at the Country House, on a B&B option. Facilities: In addition to the facilities listed below, we also offer off street vine shaded parking; free wifi; DSTV hotel package; a fully licensed family Bistro restaurant; winery, cellar tours and wine tasting. We have 10 hectares of beautiful far to explore, including vineyards and fruit orchards. In-Room: All rooms have air-Conditioning with cooling and heating mode; fine cotton linen; goose down duvets and pillows; en-suite bathroom; high quality towels & bath robes; luxury amenities; hairdryer; large bar fridge with honesty bar, and snacks and tea tray with homemade lavender cookies. Rooms also boast safe, iPod player, flat screen television with DSTV hotel package, DVD Player with USB port, and an in-house DVD library is also available. Dunstone Country House facilities include: beautiful guest lounge overlooking vineyards and mountains, with honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities; 10m infinity swimming pool with luxury loungers; landscaped gardens including a herb garden, roses and lavender. Dunstone Manor facilities include: A beautiful guest lounge leading out onto a sun drenched swimming pool; vine covered stoep and seating area; fully equipped kitchen and honesty bar; braai facilities. Cottage facilities include: Guava - fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, private garden, private heated 6*4m pool. Vine - private veranda and garden, Area Information: Dunstone Estate is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Dinners from R250 pp | B&B Rates include breakfast, wine tasting and afternoon tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunstone Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing