We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Dedale Country House
Ranked #1 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I really recommend this beautiful hotel! Everything is so perfect! For sure We will be back and We will take my parents! The rooms are very confortable, very charmy and cute! The people are very friendly, what makes the diference for sure!



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fernanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Carissima Fernanda,

muito obrigado! Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you with your parents on your next trip to South Africa.

Kindest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Heaven, Peaceful, Romantic, Welcoming, Gastronomy, Wine, Countryside, Spa, Cosy, VIP treatment, unforgettable...

Put the word back in the right order, and you will have the perfect description of Grand Dedale!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Manager at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear John,

what can I say!!!! Thank you for your review and the most original way in which it has been written.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a gem of a boutique hotel: stylish winelands chic in an incredible, remote setting. Perfect as a romantic getaway. The only thing that let it down slightly was the good - not as mindblowing as everything else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JamesTza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear James,
apologies for the late reply.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your positive comments.
We have taken your comments with regards to the food very seriously as it needs to be as mind blowing as the rest of the experience and we hope to prove it on your next visit.

Kindest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a relaxing couple of nights at The Grand Dedale. It is off the beaten track but worth it for the peace and tranquility. Angelo and Tina are both very welcoming and the service from the other staff is fantastic. The rooms are beautiful and feel very luxurious. For us the only thing that could be improved is the quality of the food (compared to other places we stayed and eat in the Western Cape) as this would really make it a destination experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank loobi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Loobi3,
apologies for the delay in acknowledging your review.
Thank you for your kind words and your constructive criticism with regards to the quality of the food. I am happy to share that we have reviewed our menus with our Head Chef and found some new suppliers in our area. Chef and us are very committed to ensure that the food experience matches the overall good impression that guests have of Grand Dédale and we hope that on your next visit you will find the dining experience much improved.

Kindest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My second stay at the magnificent Grand Dedale, which definitively is one of my favorite addresses in the Cape Winelands. The food has been of of the best culinary experience in 4 weeks of traveling to the best properties in the country. The beauty of the valley, the quality of the hotel, the authenticity of this place are hard to match. Angelo and Tina make sure that your stay is memorable, and if you're the active type, get on one of the mountain bikes at disposal and check out some of the best mountain bike trails one can dream of. Staying here at the Grand Dedale is really Grand !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicolas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Nicolas, thank you for your review and kind words.

On your next visit we will check out some other challenging mountain bikes trail which are located in our valley.

Kindest regards from the Grand Dédale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The house, surroundings and welcoming from the proprietor is amazing. The attention to detail and effort that has been put into making your stay special is of a very high standard and justifies the extra expenditure. We both really relaxed and our short stay felt much longer than it actually was, we stayed in the cottage which is perfect for couples who just want to relax and take everything in. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.

The downside! The Food; On my first day I got food poisoning from the vineyard next-door, which had nothing to do with The Grand De Dale.

However when feeling better and very hungry the evening dinners are not up-to the standard of the rest of the house. This is a real problem because of the remoteness and you’re a captive audience. Example being; Homemade bread was poorly cooked/raw, the lamb shanks were also raw (even for me and I like my steaks blue) the chocolate fondants, were actually muffins. Two other guests also had dining problems.

The guy serving breakfast has a "very" short attention span and isn’t as accurate as he could be!

I honestly feel they are trying too hard with the food and failing at the basics. They should be serving great quality rustic style food not attempting haute cuisine, I honestly wasn’t expecting/wanting it and would have been happy with a home-style approach.

Also the wines are limited to the paired vineyard next door and after touring/tasting the other wine regions aren’t great! I personally feel they should offer the some of the great wines from all the regions and make an experiance of it, as most people will be there for this very reason. There was an offering of auctioned wines but limited.

I really wanted to give the hotel the highest rating, however couldn’t because the food is a real disappointment. I hope when we revisit this has been fixed and I can give the Hotel the rating it should be getting.

Room Tip: The cottage is lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Jamie, thank for your review and we appreciate your constructive criticism.
We are obviously disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations and we can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously have will be deal with them in order to ensure that all the boxes are ticked to equally match the beautiful location and attentions to detail.
I want to though comment on the wine list; by contract I have to serve Doolhof wines as it also add to the true working farm/ Winelands experience. In the past we offered other wines from the Wellington region but were criticised because our selection of 22 wines does offer more than enough choices and Doolhof wines are consistent in been awarded both national and international recognition and award. However on your next visit we will ensure to source a selection of wines from different regions so you can enjoy the best of what South Africa has to offer without driving a mile.

Kindest regards from the Grand Dédale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Grand Dedale is an undiscovered gem in the beautiful valley of Bovlei! It comes highly recommended as a romantic getaway. The setting is superb, the accommodation very elegant and the general air is that of luxury and sophistication.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre & Cerkia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Andre and Cerkia,

thank you for taking the time to review Grand Dédale.

We are happy that you have discovered our gem and that you have enjoyed your stay with us and explore what our valley has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards from the Grand Dédale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
19.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
8.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
19.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
496 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 24 in Wellington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dedale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dedale Country House

Address: The Bovlei | Doolhof Wine Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £164 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Dedale Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Manor House on Doolhof Wine Estate has recently been restored to its former Cape Dutch elegance and houses six luxurious en-suite bedrooms and one free standing cottage. Spacious entertainment areas and landscaped gardens with a 15 meter pool guarantee relaxation. The 380 hectares of land are ideal for outdoor activities. Wine tasting, restaurant, function and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Dedale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dedale Country House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing