We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee piece of heaven in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've just returned from an excellent weekend at Val Du Charron, and I'd heartily recommend it to other travelers visiting the Western Cape.
Firstly the location is breath-staggeringly beautiful, nestled in a valley with the most magnificent mountains rising behind vines. It's less than an hour from Capetown by car, and a few minutes from the town of Wellington, which is quite a quirky, historical 'dorp'.
The Estate is gorgeous, with the original farmhouse (1699!), guesthouse and tasting rooms wrapped round a beautiful terrace and lawns - all framing that excellent view. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and we had a few glasses round the big roaring fire when the sun went down.
We ate at VdC both nights, and the food was fantastic. But the real reason for staying at a wine estate is to sample the wines, and the selection of home-grown reds (and whites) was truly fantastic. We were really looked after by the staff, and the owners are very knowledgable about their wines - and excellent hosts.
I had my parents out from Scotland for three weeks in South Africa and they reckon our weekend at VdC was the highlight of their trip - I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the mountains, so no worries there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozicelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay was wonderful! Excellent service, excellent knowledge of the wines offered, excellent scenery. It was absolutely beautiful! My partner and I took a walk and the resident dogs joined us, which was great! He took his guitar and we sat on a bench along the way, singing and enjoying the spectacular view!

Thank you Val Du Charron! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed our weekend away at Val Du Charron Wine and Olive Estate Guesthouse. The very is very peaceful and relaxing. The food is great and the service that we received from the waitressing ladies and Tony (tour guide) was excellent. We would definatly recommend this venue to any of our friends and will pop in around for lunch sometime. Thank you very much to the Val Du Charron team for making our stay a pleasurable one and a special birthday present for my partner. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Unathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Although the building was beautiful, I found the service very disappointing. We were not introduced to the manager for our entire stay. We were escorted to our room by one of the day staff who wasn't able to explain what was for dinner that evening. Then when I declined the dinner, as nobody could describe it to me, the staff were rude and irritable with us. We then went out for the dinner and had to return to the back entrance, which had no light and we struggled through the dark to our room. By this stage the day staff had left and no one from the night staff came to introduce themselves to us. When we asked for a glass of wine from the bar section, the lady (who had no idea if we were guests or not) said that she didn't know what wines they have and we must look ourselves in their cabinet and bring her the one we want. In the morning, I'm guessing it was the manager finally spoke to us by asking if we wanted to check out and if there was any outstanding amounts we need to pay. As I said, we found the building beautiful but the service was very disappointing and we will not be recommending this accommodation to anyone nor will we be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a wonderfully relaxed weekend. The accommodation is great and the setting tranquil. The guest house works equally well for a romantic getaway as well as for a relaxing family weekend. It's also well located in Wellington and close to some lovely wine estates and restaurants. Service is friendly and welcoming and all staff were always helpful with anything we needed, even changes to the menu. The views are exceptional!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

our stay at Val Du Charron was great, the service was excellent and we are most certainly looking forward to our next visit...WE even got to see the snow on the mountain, the view was all kinds of great. I highly recommend it to people who just want to relax and appriciate nature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Good morning Rudy,

Thank you for the lovely review. It was so special for us to share our gorgeous fairyland with you. What a treat before breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A classy yet warm & welcoming place that is very well run by friendly staff who are eager to please their guests.

Set in the magnificent Wellington Valley and surrounded by mountains and vineyards, this place makes for a wonderful environment to really relax and enjoy excellent hospitality, good food and wine, all at a reasonable price, given that this is a proper 4* establishment.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and ample guest supplies are provided, including a hairdryer, wall safe, coffee maker with excellent coffee etc. Rooms have a small verandah with magnificent views of the mountains and the valley.

Dining rooms/lounges/tasting room have fireplaces that add to the ambiance.

For short breaks, this has to be one of the best in the area to relax & recharge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Fabulous to hear your soul was recharged, yes its magic isn't it?

Thank you for a magnificent run down of your experience with us.
makes it all worth it waiting on our guest, with a great come back!

Come back & visit our new Spa!

Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
7.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
10.1 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 24 in Wellington
228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diemersfontein Country House
Diemersfontein Country House
#5 of 24 in Wellington
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sauvignon Country Lodge
Sauvignon Country Lodge
#6 of 24 in Wellington
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse

Address: No 256 Groenberg Farm | Bovlei, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £80 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Val du Charron guesthouse is located on a working farm in the heart of the Bovlei valley, ten minutes from the town of Wellington and less than an hour's drive from Cape Town. The guest house comprises nine luxurious suites, each individually furnished. The Coach House is a boutique Winelands getaway for the discerning guest who values their privacy. Consisting of only three spacious suites, each with its own plunge pool and private patio with built in wood burning fireplace, guests can unwind in their own space overlooking the majestic Winelands and mountains. With two on site restaurants - the Grillroom and Piza e Vino- guests are spoilt for choice. With horse riding,mountain bike trails, alpacas all in the vicinity there is plenty to do and explore or simply unwind at the spa or enjoy a wine tasting at Val du Charron Cellar door -we ship wines internationally as well as locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing