We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

When we arrived at the venue which is in a beautiful setting in Wellington, the staff were very helpful and friendly. What let this place down was the quality of some basics and extras. Pillows were quite flat and old, and towels in the rooms were small and hard, and seemingly cheap. The safe in the cupboard was tiny and didn't actually lock. It was nice to have a complete tea and coffee facility in the room.

When it comes to breakfast however, this is where we really had a bad experience. Hot food was very basic with grilled tomatoes, hash browns and bacon and pork sausage - there was no option for non-pork eaters. Eggs are to order and various options were had. The poached eggs were the worst, though. They were hard and triangular in shape and appeared to be cooked in some sort of margarine or oil which was nauseating to eat. Toast was government issue brown or white bread.

In addition, all rooms border the dining area, and it gets noisy early in the morning. Thus, late lie-ins are near impossible.

All in all, though a beautiful location, the price was definitely not worth it and there are far better options from a value perspective in Wellington.

Room Tip: Choose a room furthest from dining area, maybe room 8 or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your review ~
We have since worked on some major changes.
With Regards to our Linen ~ we have purchased the best Cotton Percale, Bamboo Towels that are super soft & extra Puffy Pillows & never be afraid to ask for a third! They are wonderful!

Breakfast & all other meals for that matter have been proudly taken on by our new Culinary Team ~ especially Weekend Buffet Breakfasts, there is now a vast choice!
We always have a vegetarian option for our sausages.

I am very strict with my staff now about silent working in the dining room pre - the cock crowing.

May you return to see our new improvements, including our Spa.By December we will have 3 new spacious rooms. With private pools & amazing views!

Till we meet again,

Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay - in the area for a wedding. Beautiful view but there it all ended. Rooms were not made up - we had to remind the staff at 2 pm! `Unappetising breakfast - no fruit, yoghurts, etc., ice cold plates. Service poor. I will certainly not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 103Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

I would be very disappointed too, but I am very happy to report we have worked very hard at changing these problems.

- New Management
- New Breakfast Buffet Layout - Fresh Fruit & A Variety of Goodies!
- Snack & Set Menu Availability
- New Linen & Fluffy Pillows
- Our Brand New Spa
- New Wines to try with our Sommelier to entice you according to your palette.

Please give us another try!
Our Hidden Valley beckons you once again.

Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were at a vineyard wedding nearby and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed professionalism of Val du Charron. It's a great setting with commanding views. Nice lunch and hearty breakfast. Magnificent lawns.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carl0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Great Carl
Thank you for your review ~

Come back again when you return from London once more.

Come visit us & experience our new Spa.

Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon around south Africa, Amazing Views from our room and the pool area and we had a lovely private balcony to look out onto the beautiful green valley and stunning mountains. Our room was really nice and clean. The staff were excellent and great service. Wished the breakfast area had a better view like the reception area and bar area. I went for a walk around the winery with the owners Great Dane dogs which was nice, we enjoyed their wines and we also got a tour of the production area where they were labelling a batch of bottles. We would highly recommend this guesthouse as it is the only place to stay in Wellington. Would love to go back..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

We are so chuffed you chose us for your special moment in your lives.

We love sharing our beautiful valley with our guests, therefore you must return for your next anniversary!

We make it special for our Honeymoon& Anniversary Couples , making their rooms extra special.
Breakfast can be eaten in the Tasting Room too, where we show off our fantastic view!

See you soon
Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were accommodated at short notice for a mini conference. Despite the new conference room not being completed, they made a plan for us which worked perfectly. Everything ran like clockwork with no fuss, meals were great, service friendly and efficient and the venue in general is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your review ~

Please come & try our new conference center now that it is up and running!

We enjoyed spoiling you. Now join us too for some pampering at our new Spa @ Val du Charron.

Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I, together with our 12 year old daughter have just spent two nights at this gorgeous guest house. The views are amazing and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and the linen is luxurious. We enjoyed the food and their variety of great wines. We highly recommend this venue for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank You for Your Review ~
We hope to see you again soon!

Come & discover new additions to our Guest Farm!


Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Val Du Charron and had the best experience from arrival in the rain and departure after a great swim with excellent weather. I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ShirlynWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValduCharron, General Manager at Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Always great to hear we can offer one some serenity, glad you enjoyed your stay so.

Thank you for your review.

Come visit us again ~
Culinary Regards
Karin Schmidt
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
6.1 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
20.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
7.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 24 in Wellington
238 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
#4 of 24 in Wellington
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse

Address: No 256 Groenberg Farm | Bovlei, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £74 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Val du Charron guesthouse is located on a working farm in the heart of the Bovlei valley, ten minutes from the town of Wellington and less than an hour's drive from Cape Town. The guest house comprises nine luxurious suites, each individually furnished. The Coach House is a boutique Winelands getaway for the discerning guest who values their privacy. Consisting of only three spacious suites, each with its own plunge pool and private patio with built in wood burning fireplace, guests can unwind in their own space overlooking the majestic Winelands and mountains. With two on site restaurants - the Grillroom and Piza e Vino- guests are spoilt for choice. With horse riding,mountain bike trails, alpacas all in the vicinity there is plenty to do and explore or simply unwind at the spa or enjoy a wine tasting at Val du Charron Cellar door -we ship wines internationally as well as locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing