We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Colonial Style Buildings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diemersfontein Country House
Ranked #5 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stunning rooms, especially in the main Manor House. Basic facilities, no TV, limited air con, wi fi, etc but the beauty of the building and furnishings made up for it.

Staff were friendly and very helpful, food and of course, the wine were wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Diemersfontein is the best guest house experience we had in our ten days touring the Garden Route and Cape Winelands.
David Sonnenberg, the owner and inspiration is very 'hands on' but not in an interfering way. We saw him three time during our one day stay and he either just exchanged pleasantries or sought our views on his business.
Included as a resident is free wine tasting which is done in beautiful surroundings with the minimum of fuss and no sales pitch.
Diemersfontein is set in beautiful surroundings and the gardens are good to wander through. Look closely and you find some clever wood carvings. We were in a room in the Manor House that was huge and with a huge bathroom. We had breakfast on the terrace in the morning over looking the mountains. There is a small outdoor pool that is 'refreshing' and affords views over the countryside. Seasons restaurant was very good with a very satisfying linefish of the day and attentive service.
I could go on but you should get the idea by now. We loved the place.

Ethically, David was the first vineyard in SA to give the vineyard workers vines of their own where they tend the fruits and produce the wine. They then share in the profits of sales.

I know the Rand was at a very, very generous exchange rate when we were there, but D,B&B for two with wine and a couple of extra bottles shared with new friends at under £100 for the lot! Could not be beaten on value.

Room Tip: Manor House room 1 is huge and has access to a comfortable lounge for late evening 'discussion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PezzersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the manier house at Diemersfontein for three nights in January 2014. It is a spacious, beautiful and peaceful environment. At is a good basis for trips. We visited Bains Kloof, Spice Route and the Afrikaner language monument. The staff at Diemersfontein is very friendly. Their wines are excellent, and there is also a good restaurant at the estate. Only minus for us was that the restaurant is closed on Sunday evening and Monday and we became adware of this only after arrival on Sunday afternoon. The staff did their best to find suitable alternatives for us, however, so it was okay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jos v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived and were very promptly shown to our " room".... A very underwhelming small cold and musty room in the garden. It had a stained headboard, badly marked carpet and animal droppings of some type on the soft furnishings. We went back to the very accomodating Priscilla at reception who found an alternative room for us. Better, but also with old stained carpets.
The dining room and bar area were cosy with a fire burning on a cold winters evening. Staff aplenty but they all seemed distracted by their cell phones for a greater part of the evening.
The highlight, by a long way, was the superb meal. Absolutely fantastic meal and we will definitely go back to Seasons restaurant in the future. Sadly not so for the accomodation.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank africanbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked to stay in the Manor House for one evening and it was lovely and comfortable. All of the artwork throughout is worth a look. We started with a late Sunday lunch (fantastic kingklip which I recommend) which we had with a bottle of the estate's chocolate/coffee Pinotage, which is simply outstanding. We were the only guests and were surprised to have them set up a big round table in the drawing room for us for breakfast; we could get used to living like that. Wine tasting was educational, allowing us to compare and contrast other wines with the Pinotage which remains my firm favourite. A highlight of the afternoon was when the entire stable of about 12 horses was allowed to run freely down to the pond; guests were gasping and grabbing cameras at the beautiful sight. We would happily return to Diemersfontein.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FellowTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent three days in this glorious location for our 20th Anniversary, we booked Room 1 in the Manor House which is a perfect Honeymoon Suite. No other guests staying in the main house so we were lucky enough to have this fabulous property to ourselves. The room is absolute luxury, huge and well appointed with a vast marble bathroom, we certainly felt very spoiled. Mrs Sonnenberg is to be praised for allowing her beautiful home to be shared by guests.
Andrew is a very talented chef and it was particularly enjoyable to have a nice post dinner chat about his exciting plans for forthcoming events, we will be sorry to miss the Charity Cricket day in March. As well as excellent food and wine the staff serving in Seasons restaurant worked tirelessly to ensure high standards of customer satisfaction both at dinner and breakfast, the food is heavenly and nothing was too much trouble for Algy and Banitta who were perfect hosts in the restaurant - we were annoyed to note that their efforts appeared to be lost on the "manager" of the restaurant who was ill informed about the local area, assumed that we were English tourists, we are "Swallows" who are lucky enough to divide our year between the UK and Cape Town! He was so laid back in his approach that we fear his laziness and lack of interest may be the downfall of the enterprise. Having seen Seasons go through a number of changes over the last 10 years we hope that the owners of the Estate will not allow this to happen.
We were lucky enough to meet David Sonnenberg, his lovely wife and their charming dogs, thank you for making our special trip so unforgettable, will be making this an annual Anniversary Trip from now on.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Diemersfontein for 3 nights in March 2013 at the tail end of 2 week trip to South Africa. We were in Wellington for a wedding and the bride had recommended that we stay in the charming manor house. The decor was beautiful and very comfortable, but unfortunately our visit was ruined by mice scampering on the floor, getting into some small bags of snacks, and leaving droppings all around the room. When we finally alerted the management they were extremely apologetic and naturally comped us for 2 out of the 3 nights.

Overall we also felt that Diemersfontein was not very accommodating to guests. It's odd that there are no landline phones in any of the rooms, no maps of the estate, and we found the service in the restaurant aloof and distracted.

There are scores of similar wine estates in the region, so I would advise giving Diemersfontein a miss.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid the manor house because of the mice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Throdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
20.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
4.9 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
3.4 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Au d'Hex Estate
Au d'Hex Estate
#9 of 24 in Wellington
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 24 in Wellington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diemersfontein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diemersfontein Country House

Address: Thokozani at Diemersfontein | Jan van Riebeck Drive, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £57 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diemersfontein Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star guest house in the heart of the Boland Wine area. Diemersfontein Country House is the perfect location for visiting local wineries and enjoying the beauty and tranquility that the Cape Winelands has to offer. Guests can enjoy at great meal at the restaurant, or a long walk in the vineyards followed by a wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Diemersfontein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing