We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Treat - Lionelh”

Oude Wellington Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: LUNCH AND DINNER and light meals inbetween. John & Susanna Tecklenburg chefs & owners, a well known husband & wife team in South Africa, welcome you with a warm heart to their restaurant set in a authentic Brandy distillery dating back to 1795. Serving country-style contemporary continental cuisine with a South-African twist from a bistro style, ever changing black board. Local, fresh farm produce. Some of the best wines in Wellington features on the wine list. Open Mondays to Sundays LUNCH and DINNER
Ceres, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Father's Day Treat - Lionelh”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited the restaurant on Father's Day and what a treat it was. The cosy, warm and homely atmosphere was wonderful. The food was prepared to perfection and the portions were large. Great hospitality contributed to this culinary experience.
The drive to this hidden gem was well worth our while - it won't be our last.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    37
    14
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cape Winelands Hospitality”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

De Oude Wellington outside Wellington is an established restaurant, run independently of the estate its on and the nearby guest house of the same name. It has an unassuming and rustic approach, yet continues to offer old fashioned warmth and hospitality from the family who oversee the kitchen and front of house. A diverse and inviting blackboard menu includes some fine Dutch specialities, in a cosy setting with fireplaces in Winter, a bar and unique private dining room. Great cuisine which never dissapoints, a fair selection of local wines, but no problem with BYO. Well worth seeking out for a peaceful, relaxed experience with excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always Fantastic and Never a disappointment”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had the pleasure of returning again to this jewel of place. Now in winter, the cellar is warmed by few fires and it really adds to the atmosphere. We had the Punjabi Lamb Curry - cooked to perfection and the Chicken Curry which has the perfect balance of flavours. The portions are bang for buck and the service personal and great. Susanna and John, be sure to see us again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
“exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a surprise De Oude Wellington was! The food was absolutely amazing...think 'hearty' 'gourmet' food combined with warm boland hospitality. This is definitely a 'must' for anyone living or visiting Wellington.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frankie286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Divine Dinner”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stumbled upon this place when we were visiting Diemersfontein. We were hungry and their restaurant was closed, but we got a suggestion to visit the Oude Wellington Restaurant and it was amazing. I had the lamb, and my boyfriend had the steak. The ambience in the place is awesome and it is definitely worth trying. Delicious!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RionaArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oude Wellington Restaurant also viewed

 
Wellington, Western Cape
 
Wellington, Western Cape
 

Been to Oude Wellington Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing