We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Kapolei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. Quiet location, great rooms and service. Included breakfast buffet had a lot to offer.
The gym was pretty standard; mix of weight and cardio machines and some free weights.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHMBCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear NHMBCM,

Thank you for your feedback and good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

We hope to see you staying with us again soon

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    299
    85
    26
    23
See reviews for
249
271
65
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the most relaxing place to be with superb service from hotel staff and very good food at the respective restaurant. We enjoy our stay thereA perfect setting for a romantic evening for couples. A nice swimming pool by the sea and also a sea water pool in place. Enjoy a romantic evening by watching the sun set right from your room or by the swimming pools.
With a cinema, it will keep any children occupied with numerous block buster mivies shown daily.
Pop over to the Chinese restaurant and enjoy some excellent Chinese cuisine.
Enjoyed the buffet lunch the most with an international varieties of foos. Enjoy the authentic local ambuyat for the 1 st time. Something different for a change.

Room Tip: Sea View room is good to watch sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Raymond Ting,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are truly happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. The Empire Cinema is currently closed as we are in the midst of contracting new cinema operator and hopefully it will re-open before end of the year.

We will indeed share this wonderful comments with our service team and we sure hope to see you stay with us again.

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived early but our bags were taken to a cart at once by the bellhops and it was such a relief because we have to wait for my husband who was attending the ASEAN Connectivity Symposium. Before we checked-in at 2 pm, we had our first meal in Brunei and it was a delicious, sumptous buffet lunch at B$24.
Check-in was smooth. We stayed at the Seaview Bldg, about 10 min walk from the lobby. But I enjoyed the scenic view and walking through the long ornate corridors. There were 2 large beds enough for 4 people. Clean room, clean bathroom with new white towels & robes inside with complete toiletries. Airconditioning is just right. Beds are comfortable. We slept soundly because it's so quiet and so peaceful. Our accomodation came with a high speed wifi and I really appreciate that.
We walked around on the 2nd day taking pictures and the property is so vast, The lobby, so grand and saw for the first time a very large chandelier upon entrance, the gold-gilt columns, big pillars of marble that line the eight story atrium. It's like no other. We were awed by the lavish display of gold and the ornate design in general.
Unfortunately, we were not able to take a peek at the Royal Suites or the Emperor Suites where indoor swimming pools lie.
The ground pools are not so impressive though, as compared to Plantation Bay & Shangrila Hotel & Resorts in Cebu, Philippines. There are only few shops with not much to offer. But after scouring what to buy, I finally got a new coach bag with 20% discount, and I love the bag. Well, there's only one inconvenience... it's too far from the city center_ taxi fare is 45 - 50 B$. But it's nothing compared to the opulence and grandeur of the hotel + the smiling and accommodating Filipino staff & bellhop head (I presume).

Room Tip: Rooms at the seaview are quiet. Monkeys near the East Wing (the building next to the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Cloie S,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club! Appreciate your kind feedback and for sharing with us on how much you adore the sceneries and facilities at the hotel.

Our hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes’ drive out to town. On your next visit, take in a little mini adventure and hop on to the public bus that takes you around town and a few shopping areas, for just B$1 for one person!

Thank you again and glad you had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Empire Hotel was beautiful where everything that glittered was GOLD. I upgraded my Superior room to a Deluxe room for a very reasonable amount and was delighted with the room. It was spacious, very clean, elegant, included all amenities you could ever need. The balcony was big and a great place to congregate with friends staying at the hotel and share a few private drinks. Very well appointed and fantastic value for the price - will definitely return in the near future. Would recommend this as a base for exploring the natural wonders of Borneo.
The only recommendation I could make is the level of service could be stepped up a notch. Whilst everyone is friendly behind the check in counter, some staff aren't as switched on to a guests needs as the management of Empire.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Deluxe - it's worth the extra and includes a mini-bar filled daily for no extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Perth_scuba,

It is wonderful to see this comment and we are pleased that you were happy with your recent stay with us. We appreciate this and will share your suggestion on the service with our team.

Thank you again and look forward to see you staying with us again.

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We visited the Empire several times during our stay in Brunei whilst visiting friends who lived near by and were members there. This was mainly to play Golf (superb and picturesque course), use the Gym (the best equipped I have ever been to) or to swim in the lovely pool. We also stayed a night in one of the rooms which have the nicest bathrooms and most comfortable beds you could ever wish for. The opulence and sheer luxury of the hotel and all the facilities cannot be underestimated, but it lacks one thing - customers! Where are they all? In all the time we were there, we only encountered a handful of other visitors which is great if you like things nice and quiet, but after a while one does yearn for a bit of atmosphere! One can only assume that it is a lack of willingness on the part of the Bruneians to embrace tourism (and perhaps its no alcohol policy) which has led to this situation - but the place does lack soul.
Of the restaurants we used, the Pantei beach restaurant with its Copper roof was the nicest. We thought the Italian was a bit disappointing though.
I would certainly recommend The Empire for a short break as one cannot fail to be impressed by the quality of the facilities, the setting and the good food on offer, but any longer than a week, you might go stir crazy.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up (floor 5 or 6) to get best views of Sunset over ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear SteveB041,

Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed most of the facilities at the hotel. Appreciate your comments and feedback.

We hope to see you again and until then, thank you!

Best Regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room:

I stayed at a Lagoon view room here whilst traveling for work and was adequately satisfied with the room. The room and toilet were both spacious. I had some issues with noisy neighbours running up and down the hallway upstairs, but other than that the room was satisfactory. My only issue was that the Lagoon view rooms are a bit far from the lobby and buggys were not always immediately available.

Service:

I was allowed to check in early and check out late despite the hotel being full, which I was very grateful for. Service was always prompt and courteous.

Food:

I had several room service meals which were nothing to shout about. The coffeehouse had a reasonably extensive morning breakfast, and average meals on its a la carte menu. The food was nothing to shout about.

Others:

The wifi speed was appallingly slow and unstable. I had to call the reception on more than one occasion to check in regarding the patchy internet. This situation was never rectified over my three days there. Perhaps a quick fix to this would be to provide LAN cables or a modem for more stable internet.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are located much closer to the reception. Otherwise, Lagoon view rooms are large enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me_g_toe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear me_g_toe,

Firstly we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us and these comments are exactly what we need in order to improve our service standards and quality within the property.

Despite the plus points, we do take note of your disappointing encounters and we ensure this is shared amongst the departments concerned and to be rectified in due course.

The internet bandwidth for guest rooms is up to 4mb but it is shared amongst in house guests and the speed really depends on the number of user accessing the internet during those periods. There is plan to provide LAN connection in the coming months.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you stay with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent, comfortable and luxury room fittings with electric curtain, big shower area and good water pressure. Very nice afternoon tea and delicious chinese cuisine, but not for the under expectation Italian restaurant. Pricy for foreigners, but very value for local ID. (More than double prices)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boonchai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Boonchai L,

Pleased to hear your feedback and thank you for your taking your time to do so. We take note of the comment made on Spaghettini’s restaurant pricing. The menus available at Spaghettini are mostly an adaptation from past promotions with featuring restaurants and chefs. Hence prices are slightly higher as we depict the original dishes served during those dining promotions.

Nevertheless, we thank you for your comment and we hope to see you stay with us again very soon

Thank you

Best Regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rizqun International Hotel
Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing