We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something special”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Recently spent a week at the Empire with my wife. Just a sensational place to stay. No real need to leave there. Accommodation is 6 star, great restaurants, a superb golf course and Country Club and a 3 Cinema Complex showing new releases well ahead of Australia. All this while enjoying the magnificent Brunei weather looking out over the South China Sea.
Service is excellent and I would strongly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View Rooms are AA++
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your positive TripAdvisor report and thank you for finding the time to write.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    309
    87
    26
    24
See reviews for
257
275
69
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is a destination itself. We had booked one night and arrived already in the morning and enjoyed a full day on the hotel grounds and pool/beach area. The architecture and details are amazing (see my photos).

Room was nice and clean. Bathroom was large and very nice. The air-conditioning was mal-functioning and even the staff had hard time fixing it.

Good breakfast and dinner. Although service was not as expected at breakfast. I ordered a very hard boiled egg (really emhasizing hard boiled) and they brought soft boiled eggs. Pool bar food portions very small.

They offer a minibar (non-alcohol as everything in the country) package and this was good value (soft drinks and light snacks).

The one very negative thing is that there are not enough sun beds at the pool. The pool area is very large and the lazy staff just keeps sending you to other corners of the area where there are no free beds either. After a full hour had passed I still had no sun bed but was furious at the careless service sending me on fool's errands. At this price you should be able to expect to get a sun bed and at least not be sent around the hotel to look for one that does not exist.

All in all, the buildings are amazing but service is lacking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear kauris,

Thank you for your feedback and we take note of the comments made on the sun beds and the unacceptable services you had encountered. I will ensure these matters are shared with the relevant departments.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you will still consider staying with us again in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
457 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The large island of Borneo is shared between three countries. Indonesia, Malaysia and the entire country of Brunei. It's known for opulent riches of its ruling family.its not so well connected in terms of periodicity of flights. There are not too many hotels either. As Brunei chairs the ASEAN regional grouping in 2013 I saw that its facilities are very crowded by visiting dignitaries and delegates who mainly occupy the Empire. It may be wise to check if your visit coincides with such an event in which case you May want to avoid such a time given is tough security and crowded facilities.
The hotel is large, very large. You need a good nose for direction to avoid getting lost. Its lobby is immense and a typical English tea is served there. The reception is quite prompt. There s golden color everywhere.
The rooms are well appointed but the service and maintainence shows that this hotel s not part if an international chain,
It's very relaxing and staff are very polite. Wifi works well
The best part is the vast seaside walk and the created beach.do look out for the sunset over the South China Sea. It's amazing.

Room Tip: Where the sea is visible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Geeess,

Thanks for your comments and we are glad that you are pleased with your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you staying with us again soon.

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

my friends and i wanted to stay in this hotel for our trip in Brunei!
we emailed the hotel to ask whether the walk-in price is the same as the online price, they answered it is the same. however, when we were there, it was much more expensive.

we have chosen to stay in the sea view room.. the view was not really as great as i think..

the bed was so comfy and i can sleep very well.. the bathroom was huge and with a bath tub.. love it very much..

the hotel has a great landscaping! and the restaurant, Li Gong served great food too!!

It was indeed once in a lifetime experience for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khangchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Khangcherm,

Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear that you had a great time staying at our hotel.

We hope to see you staying with us again.

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Empire Hotel and Country Club defintely has 5 star facilities and many of its staff are outstanding (as experienced during a one night stay). The entire complex is set in beautiful landscaping and design. We used the pool, laguna and bunker restaurant and what we noticed despite the obvious luxury was the lack of people that, in a different part of Borneo, would have created a lively atmosphere. Now it seemed almost dead. People come here for business, but do they really come here for pleasure? It is probably the storey for the country and not anything that the Empire management can really influence. Bottom line: superb facilities, amenities, landscaping yet lack of liveliness. The sandflies on/ near the beach did not help despite the raking

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thung673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Thung673,

Greetings from our little palace, The Empire Hotel & Country Club! Thank you for your comments and glad you were pleased with the facilities and treatment received from our staff. We take note on the comments made on the sand-flies and will share this directly with the relevant department.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabasalu, Estonia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is an hotel you need to experience. Splendor everywhere. Building itself was magnificent. It had it's own beach and several swimming pools. Staff was very, very friendly and helpful. If possible, get a local make a reservation for you, they might get a better rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaulKytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Raulkytt,

Thank you for your feedback and we will indeed share this comment with the service team.

We hope to see you staying with us again.

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. Quiet location, great rooms and service. Included breakfast buffet had a lot to offer.
The gym was pretty standard; mix of weight and cardio machines and some free weights.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHMBCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear NHMBCM,

Thank you for your feedback and good to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

We hope to see you staying with us again soon

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rizqun International Hotel
Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing