We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“High tea”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Didn't stay here either and had the high tea. The website said the price was $22 per adult but we were charged $26+10% service charge. The scones and sandwiches were ok, the buffet was awful, serving deep fried Indian food and noodles.. That's not how High Tea is done in England I'm afraid. Conclusion; overpriced and poor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Daniel,

I am sorry you were disappointed with our High Tea and I was most concerned to know that you were overcharged, for which I also apologise.

I would be grateful to have the opportunity to understand your experience in more detail and would request that you please contact me directly, at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    315
    88
    27
    24
See reviews for
262
278
71
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

At the recommendation of our guide book we took a public bus here from central BSB just to see this incredible place. It certainly lived up to expectations with an enormous marble lobby and giant chandelier. We ordered some tea and scones which were surprisingly inexpensive and very tasty (the scones had a bit of a cake texture but still tasty) and while waiting for the return bus wandered the grounds.
I would recommend booking a taxi if you're just coming here to visit though as we ended up waiting over 2 hours for the public bus as the schedules are irregular and sometimes the drivers don't stop here. To their credit, the hotel concierge staff went above and beyond to help us get a bus back to central BSB despite us not being guests at the hotel. They even called up the bus company repeatedly for us to check where the buses were.
So if you have time, then definitely come here for a visit, and if you have money then definitely come here to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Empire and I will convey your kind compliment to our Concierge team.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother for 3 days the rooms/food/service are perfection.outside the pool is the best I have seen the children love it great for parents.Look for the specials they are cheap for this level of luxury a MUST do

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattarasuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at The Empire with your mother.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Tagged on to a trip to kuta kinabalu and were not disappointed. Architecture, furniture and facilities are magnificent. My wife photographed some furniture pieces such were their magnificence. Whilst I played golf on the jack nicolas designed course she went on a city sight seeing tour. As there is no alcohol other distractions take your money food, well being, golf and cinema. All were of the highest quality. Our biggest accolade is tagging empire on to another trip im sept to singapore as it is pure indulgence.

Room Tip: All will be great. Spend according to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Hugh,

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in September.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I came as first timer at this hotel. They upgraded my room from superior to deluxe room.. Subject to availability i guest..but the best part was that I only paid for superior room's rates...it was nice to stay here and the service was quick n on time..keep it up..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtiano94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your first visit to The Empire on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our two night stay at the hotel was just OK. The place was so grand but no character and empty!

- The main lobby & other atrium lobbies were very large but did not have enough greeneries so they looked rather bare

- Service was mixed -
+ The staff in the Atrium Cafe were very good, tentative & prompt; the concierge was extremely good - as soon as we checked in offered a tour of the resort, cinema schedule & organised for a taxi to the airport in advance
+ However the staff at the golf club were not efficient despite the club was not busy. Our golf booking was made in advance but was lost. The staff at the pro shop was more interested in looking at the computer screen than paying attention to guest's question
+ Check in experience - we arrived at 10:30am instead of usual check in time of 2pm and were asked to pay an early check-in fee, we opted to use the hotel facility instead so the hotel staff offered us early check in for free. The hotel should not have tried to charge more when the whole place was virtually empty
+ At the pool, a staff saw me standing at the counter to return beach towels and yet just ignoring me until I pressed the bell for service

- Food was average quality & so as the rest of restaurants we had eaten in Brunei

- The beach was not inviting

Overprice hotel compared to others of the same standard in neighbouring countries e.g. Malaysia & Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor and I apologise for the regrettable shortcomings in our service, which are being acted upon.

I do hope this does not deter you from returning in the future, when we will make amends for your disappointing experience on this occasion.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our stay at the Empire hotel was fanastic. The rooms were beautiful, king bed, luxurious bathroom, very roomy and a large balcony looking over the lagoon pool and ocean. We ate at all the restaurants over the 8 nights and found the deli was the nicest. Lovely selection of food for lunch and dinner, yummy cakes, fantastic smoothies and coffee. The staff were were fantastic, nothing was a problem. They organised shuttles buses within the grounds and out to town, day trips to great places. The pool were enormous, I even had the whole pool to myself one day and the fellow at the pool bar kept bringing me iced water and checking to see I wasnt too hot. The whole grounds were beautifully presented and maintained by a very happy team of people. If you want a nice relaxing holiday, this is the place to stay. Beautiful place, beautiful people.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were beautiful (deluxe ocean view) and very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41KAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Your kind compliments are much appreciated and have been shared with our 'happy team'.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,128 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
273 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
164 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
176 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing