We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I was traveling with my mother and father at the time, and all i can say is WOW! This place is truely, truely amazing! Its such a HUGE resort with escalators, HUGE private (and extremly expensive) villas, which i might add, we did not stay in, and a pool big enough to CANOE around in!
It's a great place for everyone in the family, with a beautiful kids club for the little ones, cinemas and bowling alleys for the older kids, or kids at heart, with a HUGE variety of movies at the cinema. Massages and Bad-mitten for older, as well as a HUGE gold course and club! There is so much more, including many water activites, high tea ect..

The food is exceptional and staff are extremely kind and helpful! Rooms have some 'OK' views of the HUGE pool and ocean, that is if your not behind 20 palm trees. But i would without hesitation recommend this resort, if you have enough dough! :)

Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
Thank Travel_Bug12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for 3 days en route home from Brisbane. First class service all the way. Arriving at the Empire our jaws dropped when we saw the atrium. It is huge anmd elaborately decorated. There are lots of attentive staff around, most of whom are happy to tell you about the hotels history and talk you through everything from the furniture to the $1.5 USD million dollar glass and gold camel on display.
Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was luxurious with 2 telephones in it!
Breakfast was very good - all the usual stuff you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
We stayed here for 3 days:
Day 1 it rained - no problem at the Empire as there is lots to do. We went bowling then spent the afternoon at the indoor pool which is located at the country club. Lots of sport facilities here including golf, tennis, badminton, pool, darts and squash. That night we ate at the hotel's Chinese restaurant. A couple of the dishes were not very good. The others were okay but nothing special.
Day 2 was hot and sunny so we spent it by the pool. The double sunbeds are super comfy. That evening we picked a local restaurant from the brochure in the room and booked a hotel taxi to take us there (Sawadee House). Not very good at all.
Day 3 - we took the service bus which calls at the hotel at 10.00 am and went to the capital Bandar. It cost $1 each (50p). We then got a taxi back. It was much cheaper doing it this way than using a hotel car. The most interesting thing in Bandar is the Royal Regalia collection which holds chariots and costumes of the Sultan and also many ceremonial costumes. You could easily spend a couple of hours here. We didn't bother with a water taxi round the water village as we could see it from the harbour.
We would be happy to stay at this hotel again if we had a flight which went via Brunei.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshirePussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The previous reviews pretty much sum up this place. It used to be a palace and boy does it live up to expectations.

The lobby and atrium area are awesome with the most expensive crystal camel you will ever see. You had your breakfast on the lower level with Aspreys of London dinner service and silver cutlery laid out as if it was from Ikea on your breakfast table.
Breakfast itself was fabulous lots of choice.

We had a room within the Seaview tower, the room was huge, the bed so comfortable you didnt want to leave it. There was a remote control for everything including the curtains. Fridge (stocking soft drinks, they were complimentary, you just had to pay for any additional you wanted), ice bucket, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, laundry service which was very efficient. A dressing area separated from the bed area which had the room safe. the bathroom was unbelievable...with a bath separate area with the huge shower and another separate area for the loo. The balcony had a table and two chairs.
Bed sheets and towels changed daily unless you specified not to.

The staff were very helpful, you got around the resort on a golf buggy if you wanted to...complimentary internet on the lobby floor.

The outside....the pools were great and there were plenty of beds. Pool towels were provided.

The only thing that I would say that lets this place down is the food in the restaurants especially the chinese. We had a horrendous meal there. Athough the Italian one was very good.

As for no alcohol, well you know this before you book.

On the whole an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jambo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

There's just one word for the Empire ... awesome! Top venue and service. Couldn't fault anything ... except the lack of alcoholic drinks.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DennisA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel was just awesome it was like a palace and we were treated like royalty

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank DarrellH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The hotel is really nice with great service. However you need to ask lots of questions to find out things. The staff are not forward at providing advice to newbies in a new place. Make sure you visit the Temburong National Park! Very kid friendly with lots of pools and open spaces.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank RebeccaM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I travelled with my two children 10 & 7 - did not get off to a good start when they did not have a booking for us and put us in different rooms to what we had booked. Apart from that hiccup we loved staying at this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. The kids club was great, I had to drag the 7 year old away. Definitely worth going to experience the hotel, the facilities and the activities. We stayed for 7 nights and had plenty to do with the kids, ten pin bowling, kids club, pool, cinema, activities provided through the hotel (kids fed the fish and turtles).

The only thing that I would complain about would be the food. It was too expensive for us to eat all our meals at the hotel and the hotel is too far away from anything to nip out and get something, so we ended up going to the local "supermarket" on day one and getting food to eat in our room for lunch. The buffett breakfast was good, it filled us up until dinner most days. Room service was very prompt and efficient. Most of the staff were polite and friendly (except for the manager on the transport desk who must have been having a bad day).

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank SJ6698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,183 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
292 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
172 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
144 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: £148 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing