We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent villas - some problems with access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umah Watu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umah Watu Villas
Ranked #27 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent villas - some problems with access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The villas themselves are five star. We stayed in private Taman Toya villa, which is a spacious two-storey building with private pool. Everything is nicely decorated, good bed, relaxing pool surrounded by greenery. You feel completely isolated. Around the pool there is a small pond with fish, turtles, small crabs - beautiful. Everything is maintained to a good condition. Internet works ok by Indonesia standards.

From the downsides, the biggest issue we encountered is actually not fault of the villas - it is the access road. The villas are hidden behind a narrow, single-lane, but bidirectional access road with poorly maintained, smelly pedestrian sidewalk. As a result you have to walk on the tarmac and pray that you won't get hit by a scooter going out from a blind turn. It takes about 10 minutes to reach main Jl Kayu Aya Seminyak street. You can order a taxi, but staff works half a day - so if it is afternoon and Peter is away, you'll need to explain yourself how to find the villas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmahWatuBali, Owner at Umah Watu Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We really appreciate you choosing to stay at “Taman Toya” Villas. We are pleased that you have taken the time to share the experience of your stay on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear your comments on the villas themselves, as we take great pride in presenting them in pristine condition. We also work hard to ensure that guest’s individual needs are met.

• Taman Toya has two pedestrian access paths to the beach. One of these paths (next to C151) has barely any vehicles on it at all. A third access path, which leads you to the shopping and restaurant precinct, is also extremely quiet, with public vehicle access restricted. These are indicated on the reverse side of the business card we present to each guest on arrival.

• We strive to balance the ‘service vs privacy’ equation, as each villa guest has differing needs. The villa guests are provided also with the use of a mobile phone (no bill). This enables our guests to contact us and vice-versa without compromising privacy. Senior Staff contacts and Mobile numbers are all listed on the phone, as well as additional services such as Taxis, Driver/Tours, Medical and Emergency contacts, Restaurants etc.

• We ensure that our team completes all that is required each day and operate flexible working hours to suit the needs of our guests. We have learned from your comments and thank you for pointing out a communication shortfall on our part. This has now been rectified.

We thank you for staying with us, and very much hope to see you again for another stay in the future.

Umah Watu Villas is committed to providing excellent quality, value & service for all our Villas and Room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    18
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
80
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned from Bali after our second stay with Umah Wau villas in Taman Toya 2. As usual it was the perfect experience. Peter, Annie and all the staff are gracious, friendly and helpful to the extreme (not to mention the wonderful breakfasts). The villa is beautifully appointed, comfortable and set in a delightful secluded location away from the bustle of the main streets but well within easy walking distance to central Seminyak, the restaurants and the beach. It is quiet, peaceful, and as soon as you arrive it just feels like your own space. The open plan living area downstairs is wonderful as it feels like the genuine Asian experience and affords a very serene view over the gardens and pool. The restaurants in eat street are only 10 minutes walk away through a quiet backstreet shortcut, and if you cannot find a restaurant there that you're interested in then you're really not trying. Twice now it has been our great sadness to leave, the only remedy being of course that we will return. I can think of only positives about our experience and thank Peter, Annie, Anna, Ketut, Made, Putu, Andreas and any staff we've forgotten to mention for once again making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Whether you are a couple or are travelling with children or another couple the villa is well suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the New Year week and thoroughly enjoyed our time. At first we thought it was a bit of a walk to the main streets but after you do it a couple of times it seems to get quicker - then we timed it - 7 mins to "Eat Street"!! We did this 2 - 3 times a day and it was a good way to walk down lunch and dinner. The Taman Toya Villa was just what we needed, private, secure, and all the facilities of home. Not that we needed the kitchen as breakfast is prepared, served, hot food cooked, and cleaned away for you. We had our laundry done and a trip to Ubud arranged, ask and you never know what the staff and Peter can do for you. Peter is a great host and obviously enjoys having guests, I would recommend spending some time with him as he has a lot of info about Bali having been there for so many years. We will definitely stay here next time we go to Seminyak area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had a fantastic four nights at Umah Watu Villas. Was booked for three and didn't want to leave. I spent three nights in Taman Toya 2 with friends, and an additional night in Peter and Tonno's guesthouse.

The villas are beautifully decorated with gorgeous artwork adding to the feeling of home away from home. Tucked away behind the Jl Oberoi meant I could relax in peace and quiet during the day with a novel and endless dips in the pool and enjoy a five minute stroll to the bustle of Seminyak and eat street. Walking distance to Ku De Ta and glorious sunsets but Annie can organise a scooter for you very quickly.

Perfect service and you can ask for as much or little as you want. The fridge is stocked with drinks and snacks, the profits going to the staff.

I will definitely be back to spend time with the charming Peter and Tonno!. I am living in Ubud for a year and this will become a perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in the Guest Room for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon in October 2013. As we have been together for quite a while and are both in our 30’s, we wanted sensibly priced accommodation in a good yet private location where we could enjoy Seminyak and each other’s company.

At Umah Watu, Pete and Tonno generously invite you into their beautiful home and in effect the goings on of their everyday lives. The staff were lovely and helpful and the dynamic between them and their Boss is one built on trust and mutual respect.

Engaging conversations over breakfast are a great start to your day in a dynamic place such as Bali, and it’s up to you to decide how ‘private’ a stay you would like to have as Pete and his crew are always eager to include the guests in their daily plans.

The Guest Room is lovely and has everything you need and nothing you don’t, and having a shower outdoors looking over the neighbouring rice paddies is yet another pleasure. Once you get your bearings you realize the Villa despite access via a network of laneways behind the Oberoi Hotel is in a great spot for wherever you want to go. Most places are walking distance with plenty of taxis passing by at the end of the laneway.

Our stay at Umah Watu was unforgettable and for all the right reasons. If you want a genuine insight into the way people live and interact in a foreign place while still being immersed in the beauty of Bali, Umah Watu Villa’s are the perfect place and your gracious hosts only add to the experience making your time both in and outside the Villa as enlightening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossy0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

What separates one accommodation place from the next, is service. Peter and his team are very thoughtful and thorough when it comes to your stay. Ill come back to that.
The guesthouse upstairs and guest room downstairs, where i stayed,are very comfortable and unusually for Seminyak these days, offer views of a rice paddy field, so whilst it is very private, you do not feel boxed in.
The place is in traditional Balinese style so you know you're in Bali. It is also a separate dwelling from the owners quarters.
It is close to to the beach, as well as the main retail strips, so for me it ticked many boxes.
But back to the service. "where do I go to top up my local sim card" we will fix that was the reply, and Annie does that Free of Charge. "I'm Looking for transport to Jimbaran and then in a couple of days, transport to Ubud and then onto Lovina" All sorted by Peter the owner, with totally reliable operators at very competitive prices.
As for the breakfast and the staff in general, all great and very hospitable. Annie knocks up a wicked omelette, (if thats your choice) preceded by fruits, bread and tea or coffee.
Taman Toya is pretty hard to go past if you are looking for that friendly guest house atmosphere, where service comes second nature

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Riffraff007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from an incredible week in Corra Villa 2, we stayed there with another couple and had an amazing time. The Villa is faultless, I really believe in giving constructive feedback but I honestly can't think of one thing they need to change. As soon as you walk in its 'WOW' the pool is just beautiful, big, clean and gorgeous at night with the lights. The garden is amazing, the rooms are beautiful with great air-conditioning and the rest of the furniture through-out is very modern and comfy.

The location is perfect, it's off one of the main streets down a safe lane-way and is a 150m walk to the beach which has the amazing Ku De Ta at the entrance.

The owner Mick and staff Made, Anis and Putu are so friendly, helpful and attentive. We had breakfast cooked in our Villa everyday which was delicious and the Villa was cleaned daily but it was never intrusive or in our way. If you want to go on a half day or full day trip I strongly advise you book with Made, he knows the good spots and offers a great deal. The last 2 days of our trip I got Bali Belly (not from the Villa) it was horrible, but Mick and Anis kept checking on me and providing me with the right fluids and tablets to get better NOW THAT'S SERVICE.

I don't know if there are any negative reviews on this Villa but if there are IGNORE THEM, they just couldn't be true. We spent days and weeks researching where to stay and please trust these reviews and know that you are picking the right place, it's incredible and you won't be sorry.

Mick, thank you for making our stay the best it could have been. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you like boutique shopping then you should also do a half day trip to Ubud, the Main Street is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Villas
Serene Villas
#9 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desamuda Village
Desamuda Village
#16 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bali Yarravillas
Bali Yarravillas
#30 of 410 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#12 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#24 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandi Agung Villa
Sandi Agung Villa
#10 of 410 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umah Watu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umah Watu Villas

Property: Umah Watu Villas
Address: 27C Jalan Sari Dewi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Umah Watu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Umah Watu Villas.The team from Umah Watu are excited to present a new range of private villas for your enjoyment.For our returning guests, we are certain that you will enjoy this new range of villas and the familiar faces of the 'Umah Watu' team.These new fully serviced villas will ensure your next stay will be a memorable one. All are meticulously serviced and maintained by our friendly, experienced staff.We have a range of options available from a one bedroom guesthouse through to a gorgeous, fully self-contained home. Located in the same prestigious Oberoi-Seminyak location, the beach & everything you need is close by. Attention to detail, service and immaculate presentation, this is excellent quality in an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umah Watu Villas Hotel Seminyak
Umah Watu Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing