We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff and Fantastic Villa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Seminyak
Ranked #46 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

When booking this accommodation online we had the option to "fast track" through immigration upon arrival in Bali. We took this option at a cost of $35 US each. Straight off the plane and a lady was standing with our names on paper and whisked us (what seemed like instantly) straight through airport. Other passengers were looking on in shock as they waited in line. This was a great choice and start of our trip!
As we neared the exit she accompanied us to our driver sent from the Villa, who also had our names clearly stated. He had a trolley waiting, loaded our bags with a smile then led us to the Villa's transport van that was refreshingly air conditioned.
Once we arrived we were dropped off straight at the door of #7 Villa and the driver efficiently loaded our bags into the living area (I carried as much as I could be he was quite intent!). Every room was chilled to perfection and looked immaculate.
Within minutes we had an army of employees at our Villa welcoming us and informing us of the breakfast details etc etc.
The breakfast options are great, is prepared for you at your choice of time in your Villa and the juices are freshly squeezed / blended. I admit that the breakfast was luke warm by the time we ate it but it was still very enjoyable. I recommend the "Healthy Start", flavoursome fruit with great yoghurt that is a perfect start to the hot, humid Balinese summer.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are very nice, and I found it hard to get out of the very comfortable bed! Nice sitting area beside the private pool, 2 lounge chairs on the pool and an outdoor shower that was greatly refreshing. Lots of natural light flooded the bathroom witch consisted of a spacious shower (huge shower head) and nice bath tub with jets.
The entrance to the Villa's driveway is manned 24 / 7 by very friendly security and the scooters they had for rent were new, great condition Honda's. Just gave them my name and Villa # and I was cruising the streets of Bali in no time.
Every night around 6 pm, 2 employees would come to spray the Villa to keep the bug problem down. Not once did we feel forgotten about, quite the opposite actually.
One night during heavy rain the power went out. I called the front desk and within 1 1/2 minutes there was someone flipping the switch on the fuze box with a smile.
To be honest, I felt a bit like a celebrity from being looked after so well by so many different people.
I found myself having good discussions and laughs with the guys at the reception / security and they would answer any question I had and book anything, anywhere no problem.
No major problems during our 10 day stay. O.k, so the TV wasn't an amazing flat screen but who goes on holiday to sit in front of the box? Also, it would of been nice to have a sound system in the living area or outside. Not a big issue as again, you will be out checking out the beautiful scenery! More than likely have your laptop with tunes anyway.
At the end of our 10 days our flight was at 10:20 pm but check out was 12:00 pm. We arranged a late check out at 2 pm, with us to leave our luggage somewhere behind reception until the driver took us to the airport. Once hearing that our flight was not until 10:20 pm, we received a call from the manager telling us to keep all of our things in our Villa until the arranged pick up time at 6:30 pm (with no extra charge). This little gesture impressed us both veery much and helped us out greatly.
It was a little sad to say goodbye to the crew that looked after us so well for the time we spent, but we both were ready to get back home. Not because of the Villa, just that 10 days in Bali is plenty, believe me!
I'm very shocked to see the two negative reviews before this. Are they sure it was this place?!?!
As far as "GlobalTraveller1903's - A Con Job" review, if he was so concerned about the room wouldn't you have a quick bite to eat then get back to the Villa to sort it out ASAP? Not stay out until midnight partying?
I recommend The Residence Seminyak to anything contemplating on a place to stay. It's just off the main strip of Seinyak so therefore nice and quite but only 2 minute walk to the strip.
Try it out!

Room Tip: We were in Villa #7 and think it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinzSince86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear LinzSince86

What an amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to write all of it. Much has changed at the villas with breakfasts, wifi speed, flat screen TV's with DVD in the living room and most of the bedrooms, air-cons super cold, and staff are super smiley happy people - love Bali!!

Best regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were in Bali for Christmas 2012. We had already had a bad experience with by booking a private villa just going through the looks of it online. In reality it turned to dirty and unkept. We decided to shift to The Residence Seminyak since we had already stayed at their property in Phuket. We had a great time at their property in Phuket, hence decided to move here although this was more expensive than the villa we booked earlier.

Nonetheless we checked-in and the villa looked gorgeous! We were there for 15 minutes or so and realised that the air-conditioning was not so effective. The engineering checked and said that give it a few minutes minutes more and it will work fine. We gave it another 30 minutes and it was still the same. The lady checking us in, did not charge our cards saying she'll check if some other room is available. Since there was no other room available, she suggested that we head out for Dinner (since we checked in around 7.30-8pm) and come back and see if the AC is cold enough. If not then we can choose to move out to another villa resort.

We agreed and head out for dinner at around 9pm and got back by 12am (we also checked a few villas, incase we had to move). When we got back, the cooling was still the same with no improvement. We decided to leave and move to another place. By this time the lady who checked us in was replaced by a guy the reception desk. We informed him that we are going since the cooling is still the same. To our shock, he said you have to pay half day charge since you're checking out after 12am. We told him politely that this was never told to us, and his colleague and herself suggested that if the room isn't cool until after we are back, we can leave. That is the reason she had not even charged our credit cards. This man here refused to listen to anything and when we said that we are not liable to pay since we didn't even use the room or stay in it, only our luggage was there, he refused to budge. Rather threatened us to call the police and get us arrested! We asked him he can feel free to call the police since we didn't do anything wrong, along with which we asked that lady to be called who checked us in. She came, and admitted not informing us about half day or about telling us if we were suppose to be back within a certain time period. However, when she called her manager he told her blatantly that since it was her fault so either she pays or we pay. We agreed to pay and told the RUDE man at the desk that we didn't pay because we were scared of the police, but because the poor girl would have had to pay and she probably didn't even make that much of salary. This was one of the worst experiences we came across, and we shall never recommend this chain of resorts to anyone ever because it's not just the rooms that make a resort good, it's the service and the attitude of the people. They might have extorted a half day rate from us, but they can be rest assured that they've lost a patronage and good recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank Ratika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Ratika

Thank you for your review. So much has changed since your stay, we would be deeply disappointed if this happened to us too. One of the many great things about Bali is the amazing happy and friendly staff, who now make up the team at The Residence, Seminyak. Hopefully none of our guests will ever have that experience. Just a small note though, The Residence does not have any affiliation in Phuket.

If you were to visit again, your experience would be sublime

Best regards from all of us at The Residence, Seminyak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I run a publicly traded company and travel extensively for business. This was the worst stay experience I have had in last 11 years, only a stay in India in 2001 was worst. We stayed for three nights from 28 December to 31st December 2012 in Villa #10. I haven't been so happy to leave a place since i flew out of Iraq in 2009. The villa was not suited to receive guests (cigarette butts left behind, sewage smell in upstairs rooms, no covers for lounge chair (what should we all sit on the tiles!!). Entire family bitten by mozzies (place hasn't been fumigated in weeks we suspect). This is not a "staffed villa" - any staff are 200 meters away. Breakfast arrives cold (last day we ate elsewhere for breakfast) as it is carried in open air down the road. Drunk people packed in the villa next door partying till 2am with motorcycles going in / out. We called the security and they did nothing; the "concierge" didn't answer the mobile - we had to scream at the neighbors for them to stop on the last night. Trash behind the villa (see photos); trash in the access road to villas (see photos). Five star price (US$850 a night !!!) for 2 star experience. Don't make the same mistake we did go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalTraveller1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear GlobalTraveller1903

Thank you for your review. We would also be deeply disappointed if we were met with such a horrible state of a villa. The villas are now under new management, and key to everything is squeaky clean rooms, gardens and facilities, with guests serviced by smiley happy Balinese who bend over backwards to assist guests have an amazing time.

If you were to visit again, we would be sure that you would have an amazing experience.
Best regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent days looking for a family villa in Bali. Endless options, opted for The Residence as it met our brief, despite some funny reviews. Expensive rates but saved money on early booking. Professional greeting on arrival and Nyoman an awesome driver. Stayed at Villa Senang. Huge villa, beautifully presented with the most sunning pool and garden. Im not the sit by the pool person but here that was easy. Breakfast in mornings with 4 options was very generous. Exceptionally quiet but hardly any walk to restaurants and not that far to beach. Staff very friendly and helpful but did have a little mess with bill. For the first trip with young kids (6 and 9) a villa is only way to go. Safe, quiet, luxurious and you don't have to fight for a space near the pool or in the pool. They need to add an IPOD or stereo and maybe a coffee machine, urn to make tea. Overall an amazing stay, my kids were blown away.

Room Tip: Cant beat villa senang. Huge pool, huge rooms and lots of space and privacy. Pool had sun on it from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Jmac008

Great review, thank you. Much has changed in the villas, as we have taken all the comments here to heart and fixed all the things that our guests have recommended such as iPod docs, stereos, flat screen TVs with DVD players, etc, with the villas constantly being upgraded to ensure guest satisfaction.

Best regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Only positive things to say about The Residence. We were there in April and had a great time.

Staff we friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom delux which was perfect for what we needed.

Great location to all the action.

Will be returning when we get back to Bali and will recomend to all our friends.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom delux was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your review, which is very much appreciated.

Regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

First time at this property in Seminyak and had a very pleasant stay - having stayed at a number of villa style properties in the area so here are some comments.

Villa quality good, spacious. Staff friendly and helpful.
Pool & terrace location meant no sun for sunbeds at any time of the day - disappointing of course.
Amenties - good but lacking final touches - iPod dock, coffee maker, TV in bedroom for example.
Towel rail loose keeps falling off, annoying as must happen every time staff replace towels so fix it!! #9
Both Air con and fan in bedroom work well but make a racket so need maintenance..
Breakfast - service prompt and on time, average quality for this style of accomodation
Location - better than ancticipated - couple of minutes walk to Seminyak Square & "eat street"; 10 minutes or so to beach; also well located the other side for Jl. Petitenget restaurants.

Overall a good standard and a very pleasant stay. Would return so pros outway the cons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Martin

Thank you for your review. Much has changed since you wrote this and we have taken to heart what our guests have said, and fixed everything so there are iPod docks, stereo systems, flat screen TV's, air-con regularly serviced and our maintenance team is on call 24/7 should anything go wrong. Breakfasts have also been upgraded, as we believe our guests should always have a great start to the day.

Best regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at this property from 31st March 2012 to 04th April 2012 with my family and found the property to be excellent. I would strongly recommend anyone travelling with family to consider this as one of the options for stay during their visit to Bali. Staff is very friendly and prompt to attend to all the guests needs. The property has everything as they promise in their website. The location despite being nice and quiet is very close to most of the facilities (restaurants, convenience stores, pharmacy, etc.). The property is also extremely well maintained and every requirement of ours was well taken care of.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Vijay

Thank you for your great review. If you were to visit us again, we have taken into account our guests reviews and upgraded the villas as requested.

Many thanks and best regards from all the team at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Hu'u Villas Bali
Hu'u Villas Bali
#85 of 149 in Seminyak
167 reviews
0 mi away
One Eleven
One Eleven
#55 of 149 in Seminyak
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#42 of 149 in Seminyak
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Jineng Villas
The Jineng Villas
#48 of 149 in Seminyak
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#54 of 149 in Seminyak
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Seminyak

Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £172 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa estate is only 20 minutes drive from the International Airport and is nestled in the most fashionable district of Bali, called Seminyak. We are located within a minutes’ walk to Bali’s famous Eat Street with lots of popular restaurants, fashionable boutiques, prestigious art shops and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Seminyak Hotel Bali
The Residence Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing