We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Seminyak
Nearby Hotels
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Akasha Villas(Seminyak)
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IZE Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samaya Bali Seminyak(Seminyak)
US$675
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$635
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
132
28
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
28
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla shantieat streetpool attendantevery morningbedroom villawere greeted with cold towelsfantastic butlerholiday accommodationshort walkvilla staffamazing villacooking breakfastgirls triphour securityhouse keeperbreakfast preparedmain bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were in Bali for Christmas 2012. We had already had a bad experience with by booking a private villa just going through the looks of it online. In reality it turned to dirty and unkept. We decided to shift to The Residence Seminyak since we had already stayed at their property in Phuket. We had a great time at their property in Phuket, hence decided to move here although this was more expensive than the villa we booked earlier.

Nonetheless we checked-in and the villa looked gorgeous! We were there for 15 minutes or so and realised that the air-conditioning was not so effective. The engineering checked and said that give it a few minutes minutes more and it will work fine. We gave it another 30 minutes and it was still the same. The lady checking us in, did not charge our cards saying she'll check if some other room is available. Since there was no other room available, she suggested that we head out for Dinner (since we checked in around 7.30-8pm) and come back and see if the AC is cold enough. If not then we can choose to move out to another villa resort.

We agreed and head out for dinner at around 9pm and got back by 12am (we also checked a few villas, incase we had to move). When we got back, the cooling was still the same with no improvement. We decided to leave and move to another place. By this time the lady who checked us in was replaced by a guy the reception desk. We informed him that we are going since the cooling is still the same. To our shock, he said you have to pay half day charge since you're checking out after 12am. We told him politely that this was never told to us, and his colleague and herself suggested that if the room isn't cool until after we are back, we can leave. That is the reason she had not even charged our credit cards. This man here refused to listen to anything and when we said that we are not liable to pay since we didn't even use the room or stay in it, only our luggage was there, he refused to budge. Rather threatened us to call the police and get us arrested! We asked him he can feel free to call the police since we didn't do anything wrong, along with which we asked that lady to be called who checked us in. She came, and admitted not informing us about half day or about telling us if we were suppose to be back within a certain time period. However, when she called her manager he told her blatantly that since it was her fault so either she pays or we pay. We agreed to pay and told the RUDE man at the desk that we didn't pay because we were scared of the police, but because the poor girl would have had to pay and she probably didn't even make that much of salary. This was one of the worst experiences we came across, and we shall never recommend this chain of resorts to anyone ever because it's not just the rooms that make a resort good, it's the service and the attitude of the people. They might have extorted a half day rate from us, but they can be rest assured that they've lost a patronage and good recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank Ratika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Ratika

Thank you for your review. So much has changed since your stay, we would be deeply disappointed if this happened to us too. One of the many great things about Bali is the amazing happy and friendly staff, who now make up the team at The Residence, Seminyak. Hopefully none of our guests will ever have that experience. Just a small note though, The Residence does not have any affiliation in Phuket.

If you were to visit again, your experience would be sublime

Best regards from all of us at The Residence, Seminyak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I run a publicly traded company and travel extensively for business. This was the worst stay experience I have had in last 11 years, only a stay in India in 2001 was worst. We stayed for three nights from 28 December to 31st December 2012 in Villa #10. I haven't been so happy to leave a place since i flew out of Iraq in 2009. The villa was not suited to receive guests (cigarette butts left behind, sewage smell in upstairs rooms, no covers for lounge chair (what should we all sit on the tiles!!). Entire family bitten by mozzies (place hasn't been fumigated in weeks we suspect). This is not a "staffed villa" - any staff are 200 meters away. Breakfast arrives cold (last day we ate elsewhere for breakfast) as it is carried in open air down the road. Drunk people packed in the villa next door partying till 2am with motorcycles going in / out. We called the security and they did nothing; the "concierge" didn't answer the mobile - we had to scream at the neighbors for them to stop on the last night. Trash behind the villa (see photos); trash in the access road to villas (see photos). Five star price (US$850 a night !!!) for 2 star experience. Don't make the same mistake we did go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalTraveller1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear GlobalTraveller1903

Thank you for your review. We would also be deeply disappointed if we were met with such a horrible state of a villa. The villas are now under new management, and key to everything is squeaky clean rooms, gardens and facilities, with guests serviced by smiley happy Balinese who bend over backwards to assist guests have an amazing time.

If you were to visit again, we would be sure that you would have an amazing experience.
Best regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent days looking for a family villa in Bali. Endless options, opted for The Residence as it met our brief, despite some funny reviews. Expensive rates but saved money on early booking. Professional greeting on arrival and Nyoman an awesome driver. Stayed at Villa Senang. Huge villa, beautifully presented with the most sunning pool and garden. Im not the sit by the pool person but here that was easy. Breakfast in mornings with 4 options was very generous. Exceptionally quiet but hardly any walk to restaurants and not that far to beach. Staff very friendly and helpful but did have a little mess with bill. For the first trip with young kids (6 and 9) a villa is only way to go. Safe, quiet, luxurious and you don't have to fight for a space near the pool or in the pool. They need to add an IPOD or stereo and maybe a coffee machine, urn to make tea. Overall an amazing stay, my kids were blown away.

Room Tip: Cant beat villa senang. Huge pool, huge rooms and lots of space and privacy. Pool had sun on it from sun up till about 3 pm. Perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Jmac008

Great review, thank you. Much has changed in the villas, as we have taken all the comments here to heart and fixed all the things that our guests have recommended such as iPod docs, stereos, flat screen TVs with DVD players, etc, with the villas constantly being upgraded to ensure guest satisfaction.

Best regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Only positive things to say about The Residence. We were there in April and had a great time.

Staff we friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom delux which was perfect for what we needed.

Great location to all the action.

Will be returning when we get back to Bali and will recomend to all our friends.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom delux was perfect for us
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your review, which is very much appreciated.

Regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

First time at this property in Seminyak and had a very pleasant stay - having stayed at a number of villa style properties in the area so here are some comments.

Villa quality good, spacious. Staff friendly and helpful.
Pool & terrace location meant no sun for sunbeds at any time of the day - disappointing of course.
Amenties - good but lacking final touches - iPod dock, coffee maker, TV in bedroom for example.
Towel rail loose keeps falling off, annoying as must happen every time staff replace towels so fix it!! #9
Both Air con and fan in bedroom work well but make a racket so need maintenance..
Breakfast - service prompt and on time, average quality for this style of accomodation
Location - better than ancticipated - couple of minutes walk to Seminyak Square & "eat street"; 10 minutes or so to beach; also well located the other side for Jl. Petitenget restaurants.

Overall a good standard and a very pleasant stay. Would return so pros outway the cons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Martin

Thank you for your review. Much has changed since you wrote this and we have taken to heart what our guests have said, and fixed everything so there are iPod docks, stereo systems, flat screen TV's, air-con regularly serviced and our maintenance team is on call 24/7 should anything go wrong. Breakfasts have also been upgraded, as we believe our guests should always have a great start to the day.

Best regards from all of us at The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews