We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Seminyak
Ranked #38 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Services”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

They gave me a great service with familiar staff. They help anything what they can do. Thanks a lot. Great hotel for your business

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
Dear Biantara

Thank you very much for your review

Best regards from us all
The Residence, Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    26
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
68
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We spent 3 nights in the two bedroom deluxe villa 105. The size of the villa is definitely amazing. Big swimming pool and hugh bale upstairs. The manager is very nice, she upgrade us to deluxe villa for free with one guest bedroom locked, and romantic set up was in place when we checked into the villa. The rate she offered is also good.

However, the facility is more of a serviced apartment type villa, you don't expect hotel level service. Room service doesn't replace the toothbrush and toothpaste. The towels are clean I guess, but the color is not very pleasant. My wife and I got about 20 mosquito bites from the first night. There is no mosquito net and the bathroom is outdoor and there is big gap between the sliding doors. We ordered breakfast one night in advance for the next morning, but the staff still forgot to show up. We had to call a couple of times to push them. The free WiFi is available, but it doesn' t work when you turn on your laptop. You need to manually reboot the wireless modem located by the swimming pool every single time. The manager explained to us that such defect is caused by unsteady Indonesian infrastructure. But the free WiFi in Royal Pita Maha where we're staying at now seems to work all the time. The service here also overide The Residence Seminyak by far.

All in all, if you're traveling with friends or family, and don't expect high end service, I do recommend this villa since the value and size are very good. But if you travel with your girlfriend or wife and expect perfect experience, I do not recommend this villa.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
Dear Chinadude

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Much has changed since your visit and now we aspire to offer our guests a 5 star service with all the villas in tip top condition - Wi-Fi in Bali is much better and our free service in the villa is very good. We have taken note of all our guests comments and fixed all the villas where people have highlighted recommended changes.

If you were to visit us again, you would see an amazing difference
Best regards from all of us at The Residence Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stayed at Residence Seminyak 5 nights last september.

The hotel and its facilities:
Actually it's not a real hotel but rather a residence with a dozen villas.
That's not a concern as you get housekeeping, in house breakfast and phone numbers for home delivery if you want to dine in your villa.
However we were very disapointed by the in house breakfast.
At first it seems top chic: you have your own cook preparing breakfast in your kitchen at the hour you reserved.
But they were never on time (early or late), the food would arrive pre-cooked and was only warmed up in the kitchen.
In fact the eggs, toasts and pancakes were always cold when served.
The juice was not real fresh juice and they even charged me when I asked for an extra (cold) pancake.
Also if you reserve thru a travel agency you get a cheaper rate but then there are a few amenities that are not included, like airport transfert.
That was no big deal.
The manager is a young women from Singapor and is really friendly. We talked a lot and she gave us good tips on restaurants and place to go out nearby.

The villas:
The smallest was a 2 bedroom villa witch was HUGE! Actually clearly oversized for the 2 of us. The private pool was also huge.
The villas were nicely furnished though there were a few spots on the chairs and a weird smell of mould in the bathroom.
You have high-speed wireless internet access. There's also a flat TV with DVD player and you can borrow DVDs at the reception.
We were in villa n°9 witch is the closest to the road so you hear noise from traffic (especially motorbikes).
Go check their website: you can see a map of the resort and a few pictures.

The surroundings:
That's the major problem. Seminyak is a strange place full of wealthy expats and luxury resorts but with no proper roads!
Walking out there is uncomfortable and unsafe. There are no pavements and when they are, watch your step they have big holes.
At nights these roads get completly dark -especially the ones leading to the Residence- and you'd better take a flashlight with you.
You can always take a taxi: they're cheap, but they sometime forget to turn their taximeter on, or try to drive you to another place...
The regular fare for a short distance drive is RP 15,000.
You have to walk a good 15 minutes to get to the beach from the Residence, under the sun and in the middle of traffic (remember: no pavement).
Then you access the beach and can bargain for a beachchair. We payed RP 50,000 for 2 beachchairs for the day, but I'm sure you can get them for less.

Overall:
I score it 4/5. Though location and breakfast were unsatisfactory it's a very good ratio quality/price and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AxelFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo T, General Manager at The Residence Seminyak, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear AxelFrance

Thank you for your detailed review. So much has changed since your visit. The Residence is under new management where very high service standards within all villas are a priority as are cleanliness, facilities and of course breakfast prepared by our staff in the villa rather than delivered. Our management team are checking the villas every day and are on hand to assist guests with anything they might need from in-villa spa treatments, tours, restaurant bookings etc - the area has been developed, no longer hinterland, and the villas are now just steps away from great shopping, cafes, restaurants and shops.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Bali at some point in the future.
Best regards from all of us at The Residence, Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#64 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
Disini Luxury Spa Villas
#37 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#31 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Haere
The Haere
#93 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Seminyak

Property: The Residence Seminyak
Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa estate is only 20 minutes drive from the International Airport and is nestled in the most fashionable district of Bali, called Seminyak. We are located within a minutes’ walk to Bali’s famous Eat Street with lots of popular restaurants, fashionable boutiques, prestigious art shops and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Seminyak Hotel Bali
The Residence Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing