We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for a beer”
Review of Warung Murah

Warung Murah
Ranked #99 of 687 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed 6 August 2019 via mobile

Perfect, large bingtang 41.800IDR , polite staff with cooling fans. Popular place for food, but we only drank

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank BritinChina1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

This place is a little gem. Super cheap and offers fast tasty food for a quick lunch or a cheap dinner. It also has great options in the buffet for vegans including rice, curried potatoes, greens, spicy cabbage salad, spring rolls etc. all that for 22000 rupiah! Make sure to arrive early or you may have to wait for a table.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 560Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

WARUNG MURAH KEEPS OFFERING TOP VALUE…

….so we retrurned again this year.
LADY ELDO and I first encountered WM in 2015 when staying in the DOUBLE SIX area. This was my sort of place – a genuine SUB-BUDGET** eatery of the type which used to be common in SOUTH BALI last century, but are pretty scarce these days. WM compounded the price satisfaction with genuinely yummy food, generous portion size, no lack of menu choice and the usual Balinese good service. If you could score one of the outside verandah tables, another bonus of scoping out the entertaining passing parade of locals, tourists and vehicles was possible – but if number of customers necessitates an inside table, the open front design gives a more spacious feeling to this compact and popular place. Fit out of sub-budget joints often goes to hard plastic chairs and tables, but WM has wooden jobs (chairs cushioned) – no cheap-charlie feeling here.

So a genuinely fine first visit has turned into a call-in whenever we are in the area. Which is every June since.

** prices even lower than South Bali’s host of BUDGET RESTAURANTS which are a bargain in themselves.

ANY COMPLAINTS? The only I can think of: on several occasions we have found the place packed with no vacant tables – a reflection of its popularity (and compact size). No problem – plenty of budget (more expensive but not bad) restaurants in the area.

TIPS – WM has table service, but an even cheaper and quicker option is to check out the goodies on offer at a kind of BUFFER COUNTER where it’s point and pay. Always some tempting stuff there.
- there is more than one WM. When doing a map search you want the one near DOUBLE SIX.
- WM’s location (JALAN ARJUNA ) runs 800m from the beach up to JL LEGIAN and contains a host of shopping mostly budget and mid-range. JL LEGIAN has more of the same, but also some of the deneral KUTA area’s more upmarket boutiques and furniture outlets.
- the beach 250m E of WM is one of LEGIAN/SEMINYAK’s more popular strips of sand, with many of those guys with seats and umbrellas selling beer. Great place to check sunset.
Gets better - turn right on the beach and walk 300m to several beach bars which set up soft seating/small tables with candles on the sand for sunset – we often walk down from CENTRAL KUTA (a pleasant 3km beach walk), do sunset on the cushions and have an early dinner at WM.
- if you want to stay in the DOUBLE SIX area, there is a host of accommodation from bottom budget to top end.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

Simple restaurant with delicious food. A variety of food - vegetarian also. Beef yummy. Corn fritters. Choose and pay similar to buffet style. 3 types of rice, white, yellow and brown. Then you choose your additional meals. They give you a ticket. I bought 4 drinks and one large plate. Cost only $9. Will definitely suggest to try this place. Veggies were so nice.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank LMS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

Amazing, local style cuisine at Avery cheap price. Select your rice and other options from the food trays for an amazing and delicious meal for an extremely cheap price! We ate here a few times during our week stay, it is a nice change from the western style restaurants you see a lot of in Seminyak. Can’t recommend this place enough - fantastic!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Ess-p123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Warung Murah also viewed

Seminyak, Kuta District
 
Legian, Kuta District
 

Been to Warung Murah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.