We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place - gone downhill fast”
Review of The Seiryu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Seiryu Villas
Ranked #35 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible place - gone downhill fast”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Don't believe the other reviews - this place has gone downhill badly. Terrible service. Rats and huge bugs everywhere. Terrible billing policy. Horrible food. Noisy, smell neighborhood. I have nothing good to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank oliverthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    68
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
208
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Even before we left Bali, we already knew we want to stay at The Seiryu again during our next trip!

From the hotel's stunning design to the 1st rate service, The Seiryu is what you call a real all-rounder. We love soooo many things about the hotel but we were particularly taken by the long, dark corridor that takes you from the reception area to the villas. What a great design concept!

The cleverly thought-out design of the hotel was of course extended to the villas itself. The villa was luxurious, spacious... yet functional. Bed was comfortable and kitchen facilities were astounding - complete with coffee maker, toaster, blender, utensils, etc! The bathroom comes with a nice sized jacuzzi bath and even has a door that leads directly to the pool!

So yes, the pool was sensational too. Had so much fun soaking up the sun and just sipping cocktails by the pool. Was hard to leave the pool alone ;p

Breakfast was good with a choice of american/jap/indonesian (which i believe rotates so you dont end up with the same thing everyday). Personally thought the indonesian one was best tasting. Coffee was decent too.

To top it all off, The Seiryu has the most wonderful staff (congrats to Sukanada and team) who gave us the warmest service without being intruding at all.

Way to go!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

It was a gorgeous place. We liked everything about the design from the moment we stepped in at the entrance. There were a lot of japanese themed designs which were really refreshing and beautiful. We stayed at Villa A, and the interior was just like the picture. It was spacious, clean and had modern designs. There were two tvs! One at the living room and one in front of the bed which is just a few steps away.

We love the breakfast. And it was served to us in the kitchen. We also ordered room service and the food was delicious and value for money. Service was good. Staffs were friendly and helpful, and they made sure they gave us the privacy that we wanted.

It's located on a small road. Initially it was a bit worrying, but after familiaring ourselves with the area, we realized that the location is quite strategic. There were lots restaurants and shops within walking distance. Jln Laksamana, which is famous for its eateries were only 1-2 minutes drive away. It's really quiet at the villa, away from the hustle and bustle, and gave us the peace and quiet which we wanted.

Our only complain was the mosquitoes. There weren't many but it still disturbed our sleep at night. Although, I've heard that this is quite common for villas in bali. We had to sleep with some lights on at night. Fortunately, that seem to solve the problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We always travel to Bali at least once a year. Never found a villa as unique as the Seiryu. Stayed at the Seiryu for 2 nights and it was a great. We had a villa with Japanese “autumn theme” (the Seiryu has 4 types of villas i.e. spring, summer, autumn, and winter). The staffs were very friendly and helpful. We arrived at the Seiryu at 1 am in the morning (we had the last flight from Jakarta). However, the staffs still helped us to check in and delivered our luggage to the villa with a smile on their faces (looking quite sleepy though). We have a photo shoot at 5 am in the morning (4 hours after we checked in) and ask whether it will be possible to serve breakfast at 4 am. Amazingly they managed to serve coffee, breads, and fresh fruits at 4 am (no additional charge since breakfast was included). The bed was huge and really comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Love everything about this villa.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

With the many good reviews about this hotel, i have decided to make a reservation with them for my honeymoon on Oct 2009. Well, that comes the problem, i have sent 2 emails to them. First, asking bout more informations, deals and payments. No reply after a week. Even though i did not get any answers, i still trust that my upcoming holiday will not be a bad one due to many pleasant reviews here. So i sent out my second email, stating reservations and more enquiries on payment wise. After 3 weeks, still no reply.

I was deeply disappointed. I used both the reservation system in their website and reservation email. As much as i would love to try their hotel and packages, they have not showed me any sincerity, seriousness and kinship in making any business deals.

I will not consider or even think bout this place again. As for now, i have booked another hotel who replied my emails within 6hrs, answering all my questions and even special deals.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moobox82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Seiryu_Villas, manager at The Seiryu Villas, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
Our corporate company has replied your request less than half hour, but no feedback up to now.
Here is the proof from our file:


From: Ketut Kanten [mailto:kanten@balivillareservasi.com]
Sent: Friday, May 29, 2009 9:48 AM
To: 'moobox82'
Subject: RE: New Inquiry Packages - www.seiryuvillas.com

________________________________________
From: 'moobox82'
Sent: Friday, May 29, 2009 9:39 AM
To: kanten@balivillareservasi.com
Cc: reservation@balivillareservasi.com
Subject: New Inquiry Packages - www.seiryuvillas.com
seiryuvillas.com Package Booking
_____
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

After having researched a fair bit on the net, I decided to stay at the Seiryu for my honeymoon for 4 nights. As soon as we stepped out of the airport and were met with our driver, I knew it there and then that the Seiryu was a great choice. We were greeted with chilled towels and water and driven straight to the villa, which was tucked away in a quiet corner in Seminyak. The location is very appropriate; 5 minutes walk from the busy Seminyak stretch and 3 minutes to the beach. The villa (B2) was spotlessly clean and the Japanese ambience was pleasing. The little touches are what make a stay memorable. Like the perfumed oils burning everywhere, the gentle music in the corridors, the honeymoon decoration in the villa, fresh juice on arrival, everyone calling you by your name etc. The check in was fast and easy.

My wife was amazed at the genuine smile that the staff of the hotel always had and like in true Balinese style hospitality, people went out of the way to make our stay a memorable one. The pool in the villa was clean the the housekeeping did their job very well.

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in various parts of the world but the level of service that the Seiryu has to offer does exceed most; it is great value for money. It is advisable to approach the management directly to get good offers. The food is nice, though not the best but then the location of the Seiryu is so appropriate that it is easy to walk to any of the nice restaurants or bars.

Thank you Seiryu and Sukanada for making my honeymoon a memorable one. I would definitely recommend Seiryu to everyone and would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautam269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart,tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed at the villas for 8 fab nights at the end of April-May. We were looking for a private villa to relax in but also wanted to be able to walk around the Bali area- Seiryu definitely met all of this.
From the minute we were picked up from the airport to the time we left all our needs were met. The staff were great and our experience was memorable.
Seiryu is a relaxing place to stay- everything available at villa and shopping & restaurants are all within walking distances.
The villa & pool were impeccably maintained & 10 out of 10 for cleanliness.
Thanks Seiryu - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gattonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#21 of 417 in Seminyak
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wolas Villas & Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa
#9 of 417 in Seminyak
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#6 of 417 in Seminyak
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aria Exclusive Villas and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Kasih Villas and Spa
The Kasih Villas and Spa
#13 of 417 in Seminyak
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#14 of 417 in Seminyak
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seiryu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seiryu Villas

Property: The Seiryu Villas
Address: Jl. Drupadi no. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seiryu Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by ancient philosophy, Seiryu Villas offer a silent luxury living at superb fast growing location of Seminyak. Seiryu (literally means silent dragon) set in modern architectural and interior style as a fusion of Japanese and Balinese elements delivers a contemporary elegance and convenient stay, exclusively for couples. Simple phrases sufficiently representing the quality of Seiryu Villas are unparalleled luxury, incomparable prestige and absolute privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Seiryu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seiryu Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Seiryu Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing