We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Bali experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Artista Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Artista Bali
Ranked #28 of 103 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Bali experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lovely hotel, great service, tasty rich breakfast, big help in organizing your moving around Bali, quiet location close to everything ideal for those who don't mind walking to reach the beach or the restaurants, cafes and shops as value a refined quiet environment away from the many sounds of Seminyak night life but still close to it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    41
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
60
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
492 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

First of all, I must say that the place is beautifully laid out and tastefully decorated. It has a feel of a colonial comfortable private residence. But the only reason my partner booked this was because I love tango. I would have liked to have given this only two stars but in the end am being generous because of the decor of the place.

It is however not 5 star, certainly not to European standard. The bed was comfortable, the decor was interesting, the swimming pool was long and right outside the room. But there was just one bath towel for two to share, no shower gel etc, and the breakfast was very basic.

The only reason my partner chose this hotel was because of the Tango and when he went to make sure there was a class and a milonga th enext night (the only night it would be on withinn our stay), we were told by the guy at the reception that because of a festival where the teachers danced the weekend before, they were a little tired and won't be organising a milonga this week. We were devastated as we would not have chosen this place if we had known this fact. We said this and asked if there was any possibility that they may have the milonga. He said there wasn't a possibillity. On the day the Milonga should have been, we left for the day out to another part of Bali leaving specific instructions to call if there was any chance we could have a tango lesson at least.

We didn't get a call and were heavily disappointed. When we came back late at night after dinner, it was clear thata milonga had taken place. We were even more disgruntled and asked about it. The guy who was at the reception previously wasn't there but teh milonga organiser said they decided to have it anyway and had decided the day before.

The lady who owns and runs the hotel was among the milongueros and the tango organiser pointed to her a few times. She saw but never came over. It was clear that she was told about us feeling upset abou thow we were handled but we received no apology, she didn't even come over for a chat.

We had booked ataxi for the next day morning for our flight to SIngapore, we checked twice to make sure it was booked at the right time but next day after waiting for a while realised they had booked it for half an hour later. Again no apology. Good thing we are normally good timekeepers and had built in enough time to get to the airport.

IT's a nice place, quiet, nicely furnished. However it's on a narrow road with no pavement where scooters especially ride around at break-neck speed. It's very very quiet and a little dark in the strete at night and although we never felt unsafe, we wouldn't recommend walking up to or back from the restaurants or the beach late at night

Room Tip: Take a room up the stairs because all ground floor rooms have only one opening and that's onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

If you are looking for something reasonably priced close to the beach this villa is it.The woman running the desk will tell you it is a 20 minute walk to the beach but it is little more than 5 minutes to Ku de Ta. Pretty lobby and pool area but very quirky and indifferent service.this has been in marked contrast to the overwhelmingly friendly and attentive service we have received everywhere in Bali.I asked for vodka poured over ice and had to go into the bar to show her what vodka was.Bathroom had no air conditioning so you had to be sure to close the door to the room tight or the room gets hot.One bath towel and one wash cloth, that's it. no bar of soap or conditioner or roll of toilet paper. Just tissues..Water is not replenished unless you ask for it. same goes for pool towels. things that you expect to be provided when staying at a 5 star property just aren't there. this is the 3rd 5 star property we have stayed in Bali while on this trip so we have an accurate gauge.Final night had salsa dancing in the lobby with music blasting until midnight.If I didn't have to wake up at 5:00am to catch a flight it looked like fun but I think they should have alerted the guests what was to be expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

One of those places you don't find easily but worth every drop of sweat finding it. Perfect place, quiet, friendly staff, very clean, luxury, comfartable and stylish rooms and a great (small) dog,
Absolutely a winner!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

During my frequent travels to Indonesia I stayed several times in Casa Artista.

Casa Artista is hidden behind other villas , a little bit difficult to find in the beginning , but once you found it , you found a real pearl. The location at the end of a private road is actually very useful as it keeps the noise from the streets away.

The rooms are very nicley decorated and quite big. The overall ambience is terrific. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they are already like family to me as I know almost everybody since years. They are sweet and helpful and shall I need a quick lift to the town someone is always helpful to give me a ride with their motorbike. The kitchen offers great home- cooking , and the portions are well sized. My favorite is the Milanese with french fries from fresh potatoes with green garden salad. I always enjoy my stay and i really can recommend to others who prefer private guesthouses before big
hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangoanibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The room is nicely furnished, very big and clean. Nice big balcony as well but there is no privacy as everyone's balconies are linked, which is a real shame. The biggest problem with this place is that no one knows where it is. There is a sign for the Tango Club on this street and Casa Artista in small letters, next to Villa Kresna, so best to tell drivers it's near Ku De Ta or Oberoi and then have them ask for directions once they're close by. Also the reception is VERY poorly attended. We wanted to book an activity for the next day and there was no one there to help us at 4pm. The other staff were not willing to make a phone call for us. Plus there was a problem with their phone line anyway and they just suggested we go outside and ask someone else to call for us. Overall completely overrated and overpriced. No spa on site.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumbs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

After booking via Agoda and seeing some good reviews, checking the location on maps, and looking at lovely photos, I couldn't quite believe it when we walked through the door to our 'resort'. No bar or restaurant - just room service and we could eat on our terrance, a very small place - we knew it had 11 rooms or so but we thought they were a collection of villas, not just one building around a small courtyard. For 11 rooms there were just 4 sun loungers around a tiny pool that looks likes it been cut in half! Out went my day dreams of sitting by the pool, swimming, and ordering food and drink from the bar - thank god for Potato Head Beach Club!

The staff were friendly but not knowledgeable, I had to correct several ordering and pricing mistakes from them - based on their own menu! i.e. ordered Shiraz and a capoiroska and got two glasses of Rose. I went to question this and they showed me the lovely bag of rose they had poured our wine from from the fridge! We managed to track down the Shiraz (awful by the way) eventually.

Breakfast was included - all of two choices! got very boring after day two so we ate elsewhere. The cafetieres used for the morning coffee don't work - all our coffee was gritty - and its the usual crappy white sweet bread you find in every bog-standard Asian middle range hotel.

Seminyak is bigger then you think, the road is awful, so getting around is difficult. From this place everything is at least a 10 minute walk. I recommend sucking up the cash and paying for a resort on the beach front and looking for deals instead, this way you can avoid the awful roads.

Our rooms were nice enough and the TV was good - no tea or coffee in the rooms. The bathroom was large and bed comfortable (but shower often cold in the evening).Good storage for our luggage. The resort was very clean and the gardens lush.

We thought that there was beginner tango on the Monday night as per their website but when we arrived we found that it is actually Wednesdays and Fridays (we stayed Sat-Wed so no Tango for us).

Privacy is an issue - its a small place with one whole wall being your doors & windows. With the curtains open everyone can see in, but when you close the curtains the room is dark! The day curtains were attached to the night curtains which was rather silly.

Finally, from the website its as if the spa is their spa - its not and its a good 15-20 mins walk away. You just get a 10% discount. The Private Wellness Spa was lovely and they will travel to any resort within 10 minutes (scooter) of their spa to offer in-room services.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone I know because I don't think that they would be happy with it and I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: If you stay here don't bother paying more for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cds100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Room & Vespa 1
Room & Vespa 1
#11 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room & Vespa 4
Room & Vespa 4
#9 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Penjor Seminyak
D'Penjor Seminyak
#5 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sarinande Hotel
Sarinande Hotel
#20 of 103 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kamar Kamar Rumah Tamu
Kamar Kamar Rumah Tamu
#4 of 103 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#8 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Artista Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Artista Bali

Property: Casa Artista Bali
Address: Jl Saridewi 17 | Sunset Village, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Artista Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Artista, your home away from home. Enjoy exclusive Bali vacation in an outstanding ambiance, specially designed for singles and couples. Come and enjoy refreshing Bali holidays, combined with sophisticated entertainment. Experience a new exciting world when you come to Bali as our boutique style Bali residence opens its doors to people who are in passion. In passion with the arts, with Tango, this is what Casa Artista will cater to visitors with a discerning taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Artista Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Artista Bali Hotel Seminyak
Casa Artista Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing