We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kuta”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #63 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We checked into The Haven after spending a week and half elsewhere in Northern Bali and Nusa Lembongan. Upon checking in, the staff member apologized for the construction that I had not noticed (and never did), and advised us he had upgraded our room as a result.

We had booked a Standard room, and were upgraded to a suite. Lovely. Fantastic living room complete with TV/Stereo (DVD upon request), full kitchen and fullsized fridge/freezer. The bathroom featured a tub/shower combo with good water pressure (hot water takes a while to get going, but once going is endless), huge mirror/counter, and lots of storage. The bedroom was lovely. Huge king sized bed, tv, sliding doors to the deck, and clean, comfortable linens. The deck ran the considerable length of the suite, complete with sitting area on one end and a day bed on the other. Our room (403) looked over the pool and retaurant. They also provided turndown service, which was unique in the 8 hotels we stayed at in Bali.

The hotel was almost empty, which probably contributed to the upgrade, but once word gets out it will not be. Great location right on the shopping street, and a 15-20k ride to Kuta (1.50-2 dollars). Fantastic restraurant (try the lasagna at Lemon Cello... one of the best I've ever had). The breakfast (included) was a buffet and the food quality was better than any other a la carte breaky I had elsewhere. The grounds are beautiful and tranquil. Two pools, lots of loungers, and plenty of pool staff (including a bar).

The staff were exceptionaly friendly and helpful. Nothing I asked for was refused or created a hassle.

It is difficult to achieve Western standards in Bali, but The Haven managed to do this. All hotels there should model their service and accomodations after The Haven.

Exceptional in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear Steve K,

"Marvelous spirit from THE HAVEN...Naturally Elegant"

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with The Haven Seminyak during your recent visit to Bali and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to The Haven Seminyak Bali.

Thank you very much

Warm regard from Bali
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
There are newer reviews for The Haven Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Booked the Haven as a treat after some very basic travelling in Flores and it was bliss. The beds are probably the best thing about the Haven. Rooms are v comfortable in general. We had a room which looked out on to a garden which was very private, then moved the following day to a room overlooking the pool which was not private at all - didn't mind but would prob be worth a note here that the rooms on the ground floor facing the pool are very noisy and not at all private if that kind of thing bothers you - the main walkway through the hotel passes in front of those rooms. Staff are very friendly but service can feel slow and clunky in what is selling itself as a more upmarket hotel. Location is fab, with cheap and yummy Warung Murah on the way to the beach and the loads of boutiques if you turn left out of the hotel towards Seminyak proper.

We got a cheap deal on Agoda for around $50 but the desk rate is $200 - no bargaining even in low season! - so this is definitely worth booking online.

The travel kiosk on the corner if you turn right out of the hotel (literally on the corner of the next road) is a real gem - they are super helpful and they do promo rates with Wahana speedboats to the Gilis where you can "buy one and get one free" - either a one way for two people or a open return for one. Yes we thought it was a scam too (having been ripped off loads on the trip in Indo so far) but it was genuine and the boat was much more comfortable and professional than the Sea Marlin we booked for the trip back to Bali from the Gilis.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iharttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear iharttravel,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a relaxing experience and enjoy our facilities and also our service. Thank you for your feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Haven has lovely pool areas and a really good location in Seminyak. We utilised the complimentary internet kiosk and the sun lounges at The Haven's special area on the beach (a ten minute walk away). We were told that we'd been upgraded to a suite though it didn't appear special in any way, just a nice clean room, nothing fancy. Disappointed that the free wi-fi never seemed to work on our iphones because we were too far from the network at the front hotel area and the network for the suites didn't work in our room. In a complex this big, you don't feel like you're in a luxury boutique suite by any means but it's a great location and has a nice bar on the street front that is attractive and makes a good place to meet people. Drinks here are expensive though by Bali standards. We stayed for 5 nights and by that time we were ready to move onto a smaller villa for a bit more chill out time. I would return to The Haven though to be close to the action of Seminyak but I'd just make it a shorter stay next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property past the villas are a long walk from the street. Not sure if the r...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellise_CharlesWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel should tick all the boxes. Its clean and modern. It felt a little too sterile for me but if you are looking for something 'in the thick of it' then its a good choice. The pool was closed for cleaning when we were there which was annoying.. and there was road works on the street which meant that breakfast was not very calm - however I guess that's not the hotels fault. Had a walk down to the villa area and that looked great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGlamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear HappyGlamper,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our facilities. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience about the swimming pool. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

During our stay on Bali in the beginning of September 2011 my wife and I stayed at the Haven. We started to plan out our Holiday several months ago and did a thorough analysis of possible hotels in Seminyak. We read several trip advisor postings and also took a look at the internet web page. The Haven´s web page looks amazing and promising and is the complete opposite of what it turned out to be. Also several postings were not really promising but somehow we thought that the internet appearance could not be that fake.

So on September 3, we arrived at approximately 1.30 pm and at the reception we have been told that we had to wait until 3 pm until official check in time, as our room was not ready yet. But the receptionist promised that he would do his utmost to fasten the process to get our room cleaned. Already at check in, we have been welcomed by a letter stating that in order to „keep the safety and convenience of the other in-house guests“ the Haven „forbids any of the in-house guests to carry any Toys Gun or Weapons into the guest rooms or upon entering the other guest facility“. They offer „ safety storage at the Security department which you may collect any time you want to use this outside of the Hotel“. Moreover it is not allowed to „entertain any private alcoholic and drugs tic party inside the guestroom“. They „provide BAR and lounge facilities ant SABEEN and LEMONCELLO, should you wish to enjoy drink arrangement with your partners during the stay“. This information gave already a very weird feeling which has been underlined by a male person that was smoking a joint and was walking past the lobby towards the guestrooms.

By looking around the facility we saw that the promising website was far from what was and is reality. There was dirt everywhere and the furniture at the restaurant was partially worn and the carpet was torn and had holes and stains. A larger part of the clientele was middle-aged Surfers, who did not want to stay at one of the youth hostels, but were willing to pay more. And this is what the hotel is in reality – a better youth hostel, without bunk beds and a kitchen where you prepare your own food.

We had lunch at the restaurant, in which we had to move seats, as at the first table we have been ignored successfully for at least 10 Minutes. Around 3.25 pm my wife walked up to the reception as we saw all the guest receiving room keys. We finally received our room key and have been told that our room would be on ground level. We immediately wanted to change the room as we have read on trip advisor that guests have been robbed. But unfortunately there would only one room be left, but that would have twin beds and they assumed that we would not like to have that.

So finally arriving at our room, we were shocked. There was a strange and an undefined smell in the room. At a glance the room was ok, but taking a closer look it was dirty. Hairs everywhere, in every corner, even at the walls in the bath room. Mold was in the shower and on the floor in the toilet. Even excreta from animals or something similar we found on the floor. But then my wife walked to the door facing the pool. It was not even closed and everybody would be able to enter the room without even needing to break in. So the question came up…if housekeeping cleans the room, while we are out and forgets again to close the door…what would be left in the room when we would come back? Even when closing the door, you could easily pull back the door, so that it would be easy to open the lock and enter the room.

We could not possibly stay at this room. We did not feel safe at all…so we went up the reception again and told them that we would check out, as they were fully booked and would not be able to give us an alternative. The manager on duty wanted to talk to us and try to find a solution. They suggested an upgrade to a suite that would be in another building of the hotel – at a supplement of only $65 per night. Do they really think that we would pay 100% more than initially booked, only to feel safe? Shouldn´t safety be a given fact as it’s one of our basic needs? So we declined the offer and wanted to check out.
However checking out was another hassle. They wanted us to sign an agreement, stating that we were “unhappy” with the room and “that we would not make any refund and complaint against the Haven Seminyak “, our travel agent or other media. Do they really think that anybody would sign this? So after a long discussion which took more than 30 minutes we were allowed to cross out what we wanted and left the hotel.
The promises on the Haven´s Website probably are the biggest lies that we have ever encountered. It was loud, noisy, unsafe and it smelled. Maybe staying in a suite or any other higher category can be an option, but not for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hilti18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear hilti18,

Marvelous Spirit from THE HAVEN... Naturally Elegant.

We have received your concern regarding some issues at the The Haven Seminyak Bali. Let me assure you that this matter has been taken very seriously. We acknowledged all the concerns and certainly will use this to guide us in reaching the target in delivering better services to our valued customers. I had shared all of your concern to all related Department Head and a constructive action is currently implemented to ensure occurrence of the same problem will not be happening to our future guests.

I thank you for your patronage.

Warmest Regards from Bali
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Decent rooms & central location in Seminyak. About 10 min walk from the beach.
We found the staff very polite and helpful at all times. Good breakfast, complimentary wi-fi.
I have only two negative comments; first one is although check out time is 12:00, our room was not ready until 15:00 - after a long flight, the last thing you want is to hang around in the lobby waiting for your room to be ready. Secondly, for some reason, we noticed that it took them quite a long while to clear away dirty plates left by the doors after some other quests room service - we thought it would attract all sorts of bugs in such hot weather.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank atreides75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear atreides75,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our facilities and also our service. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience, our check-in time is at 3 pm, however we do our best for early check-in if there is room available. In addition, we have delivered your concern regarding the room service to the related Department
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for my first trip back to Bali in years. I was lucky to be upgraded to a Suite and it was lovely, the facilities, balcony overlooking the pool, the room amenities and fixtures and fittings were first class. The location is nice with many great restaurants and spas within walking distance so you can always pop out to get a coffee some supplies etc. Breakfast was good overall as was the staff service. The only gripe with the room was the water pressure for the shower which was pretty dismal, it is meant to be a rain type head but its only a very light drizzle that you get. Seriously this needs to be addressed since after a hot day at the beach you need to be able to get clean with a nice refreshing shower. The swimming pools were a bit cold for my liking and the loud music by the main pool could have been turned down. These are just minor observations although the shower was an annoyance. Overall this is an excellent hotel well located with friendly staff and a modern ambiance excellent for couples of families, and at the rate I found it was very good value. Would highly recommend, also has good quality and fast free internet access throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Get lucky?!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alster2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Alster2409,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience and enjoy our facilities.
Thank you for your feedback. We have delivered your inconvenience to the related department regarding your concern for the shower pressure to ensure occurrence of the same problem will not be happening to our future guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 147 in Seminyak
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#32 of 147 in Seminyak
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#65 of 147 in Seminyak
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
1.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#51 of 147 in Seminyak
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#51 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#53 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing