We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel away from hustle and bustle”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #62 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed in The Haven for 3 nights last week in the 1 bedroom suite. Room was clean and very comfortable. The swimming pool for the suites were also quiet and away from the hotel pool which was more crowded. The place just gave you a zen feeling. Only complaints were that the suites were quite a long walk from the hotel entrance and that the climbing out of the bathtub was quite difficult. Something about the design of the bathtub just seems different from other hotel bathtubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here along with friends and families for our wedding. It was our third time at The Haven - everytime we had issues - but each stay they got worse and worse.
Our group had suites, villa's and hotel rooms booked for 5 nights. I have too many horror stories to mention here - the reception staff are money hungry smiling assasins. The management are incompetent and the general manager oversees all of this and does nothing.
This is only now written after complete ignorance from management.
A couple of the outstanding issues:-
1. My elderly mother slipped on very slippery wet tiles in a public walkway walking to her room. Matter reported to reception - not even a phone call or follow up from management regarding her welfare. The only thing she got were constant requests and bullying for more money from the reception as they kept getting the room bills mixed up...absolute disgrace.
2. Brother in law broke a glass in his suite. Immediately reported matter to reception for a broom and clean-up. 5 minutes later, a bill slipped under the door for the cost of the glass!!! This family were staying in a suite worth $300 US a night!
3. Asked reception for laundry location - said it was 10 minutes walk away - we decided to put it into hotel laundry. They charged us $90 US for a bag. The next day, we saw a laundry next door...
4. If you are going for a special occasion, in the hope that a chocolate or flowers may be left for you, dont bother staying here. Our group spent tens of thousands of dollars and we didnt get so much as a card congratulating us on our wedding.
If you like the feeling of 'just give us your money, who cares about the people' - stay here.
The shame is - a great location, nice rooms and grounds etc...but never again!!!
We then checked out and went to another hotel for a few days and it was like the total opposite...this is a management problem.

Room Tip: If you break a glass and do the right thing and report it - keep a lookout under the door for the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom suites. This is our second stay in the haven. The suites was very nice, clean and spacious. The only problem is that there was no microwave. They have electric stove, but because we have a baby, it was very time consuming to heat up the milk from the stove. Otherwise, everything else is clean and spacious. Although if u have light sleeper baby like ours, try not to get the room closer to the pool, it can be very noisy. The staffs are always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion_Lily179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Dion_Lily179,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our Suite and also our service. Please note that microwave is available upon request. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, just recently in May 2013.

We stayed in a hotel room which is towards the front of the property and is near the Sabeen restaurant. A band usually plays in the front restaurant most nights, but they don't play too late, so we didn't have any noisy disruptions during the evenings. Towards the back end of The Haven in the more quieter end of the property are the villas, suites and spa.

The hotel room is perfect for travelling couples who still want the Haven experience but are on a budget. The Haven room was clean and provided enough space for 2 people. There was also a small balcony which looks out on the hotel pool and cascading water features.

The staff were very friendly, and provided us with excellent service throughout our stay.

The Haven is perfectly situated for the needs of any visitor, with restaurants, convenience stores, ATMS and shops right outside the hotel.

The Haven is great value and is ideal for couples, or for anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the busy Kuta/Seminyak area.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are closer to the restaurant and street. The suites and villas are situated towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeganT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Bali has myriad of hotels, from backpacker ghettos to luxurious properties. With abundant choices in each category, choosing a hotel isn't an easy task. The Haven with its hotel rooms, suites and villas with its contemporary tropical setting is a comfy property in between frenetic Kuta and trendy Seminyak. It has series of buildings, started from hotel wing in front, villas, and suites wings. Hotel and suites wings, each has its own pool and restaurant.
The Haven isn't a beachfront property though, but it has a small beach club on the beach, just opposite Cocoon. They have free shuttles, but its just 15 minutes walk from main entrance to the club. The Haven is not located in the middle of dining and entertainment areas also, but just convenience with plenty of taxis.
The hotel room is simple, with a combination use of wood, marble, glass and reflects modern tropical architecture. The bathroom and bed room are only separated by a glass wall, which is blurred in its middle part. Rooms has a decent size plus a balcony facing the pool, but this isn't a type of property fit for anyone who intends to spend most of his/ her time inside the room doing nothing. This fits more to active one who goes back to his/her room after a day out finding it clean and comfortable with a possibility to dip in nice pools. Bathroom kits, towels, bed, bed linens, pillows are in good quality. Water pressure, TV channels, air conditioner work properly also.
It has a beautiful landscape, where Its main pool area is more showy. While its suites pool is more relaxed and secluded with modern tropical feel. It also has a spa in villas area, but its prices are quite steep.
I stayed there as a group of conventioneers. Check in and check out were handled efficiently. I see that staff is hospitable, but not obstructive. The breakfast variety is OK, but its quality is excellence, ways better than other four star properties.
Definitely want to go back there someday, but next time would be in a suite with my family.

Room Tip: Further from main restaurant is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palisade78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great location on main (shopping) street in Seminyak. Stayed in Hotel suites, that was very nice. Staff a bit impersonal. Found take out food in the fridge from former occupants. Told this in the reception, but the old food didn't go :o(
Only paid a very low discounted rate, therefore the price/quality ratio was great, but would not recommend if you have to pay normal price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is the second time my girlfriend and I have stayed at The Haven in a two bedroom suite. Large, comfortable, great service by all the staff throughout the hotel. We love the pool areas because they are quiet but this may not suit everyone - not a 'young' scene. We had an issue with our TV and received very prompt service and problem fixed. My girlfriend had a birthday during our stay and they surprised us with a birthday cake - they had noticed her DOB on her passport. Bar area is a great place for a drink after all the shopping and site seeing. Breakfast caters for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGoodFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 148 in Seminyak
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#63 of 148 in Seminyak
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#29 of 148 in Seminyak
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
1.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#50 of 148 in Seminyak
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#53 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £36 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing