We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Stay”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Haven and was given a room at the rear side of the hotel but alas, the noise at the bar is still audible. To make things worse, there's this constant crowing of the rooster nearby.. even at 2am! Its very difficult to have a good sleep. After staying for 3 nights, we decided to pay more to upgrade to a suite, which is a quieter area.

The experience did not get better as there was miscommunication or maybe a breakdown in the hotel process that made our shift to the suite an unpleasant one. Firstly, we receive a call at 10am informing us that our suite is now vacant and they are preparing the room for us. In the meantime, we should pack our bags and get ready to check in at 3pm. At 2pm, someone from the hotel knocked at our door and said that maybe we should pack our bags and placed them with the reception, i.e. to check out our current room first while waiting for the suite to be ready at 3pm. We did and arrived at the reception with our bags. The receptions were surprised by our action and said that our suite can only be ready at 4pm!! Hey come on, if the suite is not ready, why ask us to check out in the first place and left us wandering at the hotel without a proper room? Are we not paying for the Haven room or Suite. And shouldn't the room be ready by 3pm, which is the proper check-in time indicated in the website?

After checking in to the suite at 4pm, to our horror, our aircon is not working. It was terribly hot. The technician came promptly but till 8pm, was still not able to fix it. We were offered a change a room by the staff but was told to wait for a call from them as they are not sure if the room is ready. At that time, we were wondering why the alternative room was not prepared as a standby when the complain was filed at 4pm. At 915pm, we were ushered to a new room and everything works fine. From 3pm - 9 plus pm, we are losing the opportunity to enjoy the suite which we had paid extra for and these have caused much anxiety for us, who do not know what can happen next. It totally spoil our holiday.

The only positive for the hotel is its breakfast which have a good selection and is delicious. Its staffs, except for the breakdown in communication among departments, are also courteous and never fail to greet you when you walk pass. They are also honest. I had left my phone in the Haven Room and they had helped to retrieve it. Thank you for this. The hotel is also located in a good area with lots of shops around.

Overall, I would not recommend staying in this hotel if the sound proofing of the room and its hotel processes/communications among departments does not improve. Its rooms are also pretty dated.

Room Tip: Stay only its Suite and Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    711
    275
    99
    74
See reviews for
325
678
136
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Staying 5 nights at Haven .. what a disaster.
Booked a room with a king size bed but at check-in was told that I have to stay in a room with twin singles as they don't actually guarantee such things. Awoken in the morning by a loud banging on the door from housekeeping to see if I have laundry to be done? This happens every day around 9am if you don't put the do not disturb sign out. Noise is a problem day and night. It's very hard to get a good nights sleep and through the day music is pumping from around the pool. The Internet is free but ridiculously slow. Breakfast selection is OK, but frankly I was a little put off by the head chief who sits in the restaurant and chain smokes (in the no smoking section). Perhaps the only positive thing I can say is the staff are pleasant and ready to help when they can, but that is a small thing when so many other aspects are a disaster.
Look around there are better alternatives for the same money. I won't be staying here ever again.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a quiet place in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bruceshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, General Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Bruceshand,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

We have received your concern regarding some issues during your stays with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, whilst we always try to accommodate room and bedding requiremens this is not always possible and along with most other hotels on Bali we can not guarantee the request, whether your booking was made with an agent or on line this information is clearly stated at the time of booking. Our housekeeping starts at 7am, if the “Do Not Disturb sign” isn’t out then yes our staff will knock and enquire if you need anything, which includes making up your room and Laundry. The music at the pool starts at 9 am and is turned off at 6PM, although we do have live entertainment in our restaurant which always finishes at 10pm, this is not beside the pool. We have a non smoking section in the restaurant and I can assure you that NO one, including staff are permitted to smoke within the non smoking area. We are very glad to hear that you found our team to be pleasant, we have a very good hard working team at the Haven and it is pleasing to hear such a positive comment.

Warmest Regards from Bali
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We visited the Haven in May, the staff were very friendly and helpful, they showed us to our room, speaking in excellent English explaining the facilities. The rooms were clean and the sheets smelt like the sun and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast spread was varied with a huge selection of hot food which tasted great. I also noted that they changed the fruit regularly, bringing out fresh plates before the old ones were gone. However the yoghurt they served had separated into a partly watery and solid mixture and had flies in them.

The only thing I was dissatisfied about the hotel was the noise level, although we stayed in a room at the back, on the top floor, we could still hear the singing from the bar, with all the windows and doors shut. It was pretty bad, but they stop at around ten pm. But the main problem was that the family next door was extremely noisy, their children from ran up and down the corridors screaming and slammed doors at around midnight, woke us up with a jolt. The walls of the hotel is pretty thin and we could hear everything. Then they threw opened the balcony door with a slam and turned on the television. They kept us up until late night a little while before dawn. As we had to wake up very early everyday to go touring around Bali, we did nothing to complain about the noise. We were completely exhausted and just wanted to sleep.

I would like the hotel staff to check the door dampers/closers regularly, as in some rooms it might be broken, and also install rubber tubing in the balcony/toilet doors so they wouldn't slam if the guests closed them hard. Also please advise the guests to not turn on the television with the balcony doors open.

Still for the price this hotel is an excellent choice, it is very near to various restaurants and shops and just 10minutes away from the beach. There is no reason not to choose this hotel, well not if you're not the early sleeper/riser type.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floors at the back for better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyricalfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at The Haven recently as attending course in the hotel. After reading all the room tips we asked for and were given a room at the rear of the hotel on the uppermost floor. Next time we will book a suite so as to be even quieter. We had no problems at all with our stay except that 2 nights we experienced noise from other rooms when guests sat and ? partied on their balconies which was not appreciated I am sure by many other guests!
Room service was quick and food tasty. Breakfasts great - loads of choice. Did not have dinner in hotel at all. Laundry was good - not that expensive compared to most hotel laundry services.
Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable, bathroom good - nice shower - good water pressure.
Overall a good stay - location excellent - 5 min walk to beach if walk thru the hotel to the rear entrance.

Room Tip: Best to book a suite - if not able then ask for room at rear of hotel on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Booked in with a Virgin airlines package, and as first timers we checked the Tripadvisor reviews. Five days at The Haven passed in a relaxing manner and with one exception, The Haven is perfect.

The food, the service, the wi- fi, the air conditioning, the room facilities, the hundred channel international TV, the pools and the staff are brilliant.
Then the shrewd reception staff try it on to put is in the hell hole which passes for the rooms between reception and the extremely busy main road. Between the traffic noise, honking horns, whistle blowing security staff, dreadful westerners performing karaoke in the restaurant downstairs and THAT #%¥€ rooster next door only those with serious hearing impairments or those partying elsewhere til dawn could be spared the torture of these rooms.

Like everyone else spending a night in a front room we insisted on a move to the rear of the hotel the following day
All noise except that. £#%¥€ rooster disappeared. Reception staff were mildly helpful to be generous.

In summary a brilliant hotel, next time a Villa at the rear of the hotel.

To my fellow travellers reading Tripadvisor do not EVER accept a room roadside of reception unless for your mother in law

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I just got back from Bali, hotel "The Haven" with my boyfriend .The hotel was amazing and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was cleaned to perfection every morning, new toothbrush and toothpaste every day, cold bottles of water and fresh sheets every day. Not once we saw a bug or a mosquito in the room. The staff were doing their best to accommodate us. Everything we asked for, got it in no time. Breakfast was served every day between 7 and 10. The food was great, freshly made eggs in front of you, pancakes and waffles, fresh fruit and drinks.
The location of the hotel is great. On the main street with lots of shops and 24h snack markets. Less than 10min walk to the beach. We rented a scooter for $6 a day, from across the street, and went all over the island. It is not located in the "party zone" with all the clubs and bars, but it is very close to it, about $2 with a taxi. we never head the noise from the scooters and cars on the main street, just in front of it, since the rooms are in the back.

I would definitely go back there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed as a group of 5 in a 2 bed suite and a 1 bed suite. Wonderful facilities great to have the space of the lounge/dining and also the full size fridge. Also the added bonuse of club room facilities with free canapés and drinks between 4-6 was a big bonus. Great hotel would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaperth524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#60 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sense Hotel Seminyak
Sense Hotel Seminyak
#67 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bali Seminyak
Ramada Encore Bali Seminyak
#69 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
1.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Property: The Haven Bali
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#53 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#57 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing