We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy hotel. Look elsewhere unless you are deaf.”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #64 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely noisy hotel. Look elsewhere unless you are deaf.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed 2 weeks at Haven Hotel in a Haven Room, in a wing straight over swimming pool. Here are the most important drawbacks that I have noticed:

- rooms in the wing I stayed face the hotel main entrance from the street linked with the reception that is linked with the restaurant and you are totally exposed to others sight all day long and until 11pm when they switch balcony lights off. Actually most of rooms of this hotel face the same direction.

- ALL balcony lights go off at 11pm everyday (like in prison or so). You are not able to switch your private balcony light off from your room, unless you smash the light globe with a hammer (I did not try though). It makes you even more exposed to others sight. I felt like a hamster in a cage when hundreds of people were looking at me everyday once sitting on my balcony.

- their beds are rock rock! rock!! hard, you better sleep on the floor, as it does not creak and crunch as opposed to the bed. Every your move in the bed is confirmed by a strong crrrrrkk!!!.....crrrrkk!!!...... Such terrible beds, like hundred years old, made by a poor carpenter's hand now from their age falling apart on joints (it's noticeable when you look under) It's a huge shame for a 4star hotel like they pretend to be. After two weeks on that bed I have got strong pain in my back!

- room walls are paper thin, you clearly hear what is happening in the rooms next to yours. Talking, snoring, watching tv, shifting furniture, toilet activity.. - you will hear all those things everyday.

- The hotel is so acoustic by itself, and people slamming their door, everyday housekeeping activity and all those things drive you crazy, and there is no escape from it because after my quick "inspection" I can say that this hotel does not have any quiet and peaceful rooms to escape to.

- Terrible sewer smell comes from the toilet area. More, my toilet bowl wasn't properly fixed to the floor, it moved when I was sitting on it, pretty scary.

- The hotel is extremely noisy during day and night. Strong noise, loud music, yelling and that strange echo comes from the pool area everyday. Following that, an unbearable loud live music (louder than in a concert!!) starts in the restaurant about 7pm and ends usually at 10pm. Everything shakes around when they play. Forget about watching tv, not to mention about sleeping. Ear plugs are strongly recommended. I feel for people staying in a front wing, straight over that restaurant. That must have been a real earthquake for them.

other minor things:

Swimming pool is simply small, has a few sun beds and no atmosphere. And all this for hundreds of people staying in the hotel. However this is not a problem comparing to listed above.

Breakfast was OK but for a week stay maximum as it almost does not change at all. After two weeks I had more than enough of their omelettes, sausages, bacon and poor coffee. However that's not a problem comparing to above listed points. You can live with that.

Housekeeping simply does not clean rooms, they only replace soap, gel, toilet paper and towels, however in my case they kept forgetting to leave clean bath towels, it happened a few times. Asking them for a towel that they forgot to leave causes they think you would like to take an extra one.. So hard and confusing to get them understand that they keep forgetting things.
However, this is nothing comparing to the extremely loud music listed above...as you can live without towels or dry yourself with a t-shirt if necessary.

Staff at the reception try to be helpful but they perform their job in poor manners, that you are even more confused than you were before. Try to ask a few people from the staff for the same thing. You will get a few different answers....

Wi-Fi internet is limited and works after you put a login & password obtained at the reception on a small piece of paper. It works for 3 days and after that you have to come back and ask them for another one.... I do not know if they have noticed we lived in 21-st century..

Hotel is located in a very very busy area of Seminyak, just by the loud and totally filled with motorbikes main street. A very convenient area if it comes to use of restaurants and small shops that sell all those basic things you need.

Meals at the restaurant are expensive, drinks even more.

Personally I completely did not like the Seminyak beach as it is black like dirt and has a very bad smelling sewer creek cutting the beach in half. In addition the sewer drops into the Ocean.....

Strange policy during breakfast. You can not come there wearing normally looking complimentary hotel slippers, but you can come there on bare foot and you can smoke cigarettes like a furnace while others try to eat their first meal of the day next to your table. Sitting in a non-smoking area does not work as thick smoke comes everywhere. Breakfast time SHOULD BE a non-smoking time. Why the management can't understand that?

Overall, more negatives than positives after my stay. Reading reviews about this hotel before I was hoping that it is going to be a nice one, however it is not nice. Not nice at all. Lack of green (trees, lawns etc) makes it look like a concrete monster. And oh, I forgot to say - there is constantly performed maintenance work around the hotel. Painting, deck sanding, high-pressure cleaning, banging, hammering etc..Really painful for your eyes and ears.

I will repeat - STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU ARE DEAF OR HAVE REALLY THICK EAR PLUGS.
Otherwise it is a waste of money only. Hope my opinion helps you.

Room Tip: There is NO good room to choose from. All rooms seem to be exposed on terrible noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    744
    282
    105
    77
See reviews for
355
710
141
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Spent 3 weeks in September in the Suites section this time , firstly in a 2 bedroom Suite then a double room.
The suites are beautifully appointed , very spacious and spotlessy clean , large living , kitchen , dining .Balcony off Master bedroom had a double daybed , perfect for lounging.Breakfast was a little more gourmet than the Hotel breakfast , salmon , chicken , minute steaks cooked to your requirements, a great variation each day. We found the staff very helpful and friendly , always with a smile , no request was a hassle.Spent time at the Haven beach club on Seminyak Beach , big loungers with comfortable cushions and towels provided.Its only a 5 minute walk to the Beach , or 2 minutes in the beach buggy provided by The Haven.
Love this Hotel , husband is back there again at present !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunszler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in the Haven for 5 days in August. My first time to book a hotel in the Seminyak area. I was surprised to see how close it is to the main road with all the traffic noise hitting you when wanting to relax at the bar area. It is good for people watching, though.
The room was spacious and big enough for two persons and its minimalist design suites my taste. I just wished I could have given a room towards the back side of the hotel since every afternoon and evening the hotel has a live band at the bar and if one does not feel like listening to their music it is quite impossible to ignore the sounds entering the room. Too bad.
The service was immaculate with all the staff being helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was rich and plenty although I am always kind of surprised that in a coffee producing area like Indonesia most hotels are not able to serve great coffee. If you want to order eggs bring some time with you and do not forget to follow up your order. They kept forgetting it a few times and at times the lines are long.
In all it is a good and stylish hotel to spend a few days in but I would not choose this one for my vacation. It is not close to the beach and too near to the main road for my taste. But if you want to be close to restos and shops that are lined up nearby then this may be the place you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the reception and bar area. They should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-Cuppster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Friend and i checked into 2 rooms at The Haven Friday night, check in was a breeze as we had purchased on line. we were quckly shown to our rooms. What we originaly thought was a small hotel was quickly amended. the hotel consists of 1 block of rooms at the front, the villas in the middle and another 2 blocks of rooms at the end all running in a line. BUT it does not have a BIG hotel feel, there are 2 restauraunts, 1 at each end to enjoy breakfast there are 3 pools running the length of the hotel and more than enough sun loungers to keep people happy. Staff are wonderful and always smilling.
there is a rear access/lobby that alows quick access to Jalan Double Six . Breakfast is enjoyable tho the egg station can get busy. The rooms are very spacious with big bathrooms, excelent water preasure in the shower . Each room had it's own balcony and huge sliding doors that open the room up to include the balcony should you wish to entertain. The bed was huge and very very comfy - never got time to turn on the TV as we only stayed for a couple of days here. Front bar was a great place to sit and watch the goings on in the street whilst enjoying a drink or 2, bar staff keep the drinks flowing and the tables clean always with a smile. I would not hessitate to stay here again tho i'd book on line as it's cheaper than walk in rates which i thought was very unusual ??? Great location on the edge of Legian Seminyak near Jalan Double Six

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor rooms , too close to the pool without privacy and would be noisy. room 911 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernandez1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel although located far from the beach has every thing else you want in bali. Access to transportation is a key. I stayed in a suite which was amazing and properly priced. Nice terrace lounge with life music

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Had the middle eastern pizza and the tandoori shrimp with mango salad. The middle eastern pizza was essentially flat bread with a poor quality bolognese sauce, shrimp tasted good but expensive for 5 peices. They provided bread with balsamic and olive oil to start but only brought one hamburger bun when there were two people. The buns were not fresh. I would not recommend this place to eat at but cannot speak for the hotel. Ate at a restaurant just down the street for literally a quarter of the price and food was substantially better.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MKAdventures22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An average experience for a well located hotel. Poor overall service, door lock key cards constantly timed out or failed, room hygiene so so, mould in bathroom, one room had a wlk in shower, the other a huge bath tub to climb in, overnight food left in kitchen, reception operator often could not understand basic English, we booked a two bedroom suite, one had a DVD player the other did not! No replacement available. Air conditioning could be better, either old unit or requires servicing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKMondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear FKMondon,
Greetings from The Haven Bali Seminyak!
We acknowledged all the concerns and certainly will use this to guide us in reaching the target in delivering better services to our valued customers. I had shared all of your concern to all related Department Head and a constructive action is currently implemented to ensure occurrence of the same problem will not be happening to our future guests.
Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 146 in Seminyak
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#62 of 146 in Seminyak
1,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#51 of 146 in Seminyak
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Property: The Haven Bali
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#51 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing